Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Superterras
Superterras
anonymousgamerDate: Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 02:26 | Message # 1
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Here's a quote from the wonderful all-knowing Wikipedia:
Quote
Kepler-22b's radius is roughly 2.4 times the radius of Earth. Its mass and surface composition remain unknown, with only some very rough estimates established: It has less than 124 Earth masses at the 3 sigma confidence limit, and less than 36 Earth masses at 1 sigma confidence.


It seems the maximum mass a Terra planet can get to in Spaceengine is 10 Earth masses, but clearly here it says that this specific planet has at least 35 Earth masses. Maybe massive Terras like this can be a rare addition to SE, but I don't know if it would be difficult to implement or not. In the planet editor it's possible, though, although the surface gets glitchy when generating.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 02:45 | Message # 2
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
at least 35 Earth masses


No, the article says

Quote
less than 36 Earth masses


This is 2x times greater than the mass of Neptune. I don't say that it is impossible to have a such massive planet with a solid surface, but this is highly unbelievable that such planet has formed during notmal planetary formation mechanizm, because with such mass it will hold hydrogen and helium and became a gas giant (hydrohen and helium is 99% of mass of protoplanetary nebula). Such planet may from in some catastrophic event - supernova explosion that partially evaporase a gas giant.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 02:50 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
but clearly here it says that this specific planet has at least 35 Earth masses

Actually, it does not specify a lower limit. It just shows the upper limits of mass at different levels of confidence. What is actually suggested here is that the mass is less than 36 Earth masses, not at least 35.

Given its radius, this likely means that the planet does not have an Earth-like composition, and probably has a gaseous/liquid outer layer with a solid interior, making it a small ice giant or gas giant, not a terrestrial planet.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
anonymousgamerDate: Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 03:04 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
I said at least 35 because it would to be awkward to say "this specific planet has at least less than 36 Earth masses."

Anyways, according to the Wiki page, it's "possible" that it's an ocean world. So probably you're right and it isn't a Terra, but I still would like to consider the possibility.

EDIT: On an interesting side note, the largest planets I have found in SE are Oceanias.



Largest planet I have found.

Attachments: 7394663.jpg(187Kb)





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen


Edited by anonymousgamer - Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 03:09
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 03:10 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
I said at least 35 because it would to be awkward to say "this specific planet has at least less than 36 Earth masses."

But saying "at least 35" makes it wrong, because you're saying that the mass is not less than 35, when in fact the mass is quite likely to be less than 35. And saying "at least less than" would be awkward, but why would you say that? Just say "less than", making the sentence "this specific planet has less than 36 Earth masses." Using the number 35 would not make sense in any way here.

Quote (anonymousgamer)
Largest planet I have found.

Do you mean largest non-gas planet?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 03:11
 
anonymousgamerDate: Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 03:20 | Message # 6
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Just say "less than", making the sentence "this specific planet has less than 36 Earth masses." Using the number 35 would not make sense in any way here.


Makes sense... but for me, it just sounds awkward, because I'm trying to deliver a positive connotation (between ~124 and ~36 (more than 36), making "less than 36" incorrect), and "less than" is awkward in that situation.

...Alright, lets drop the grammar lessons... Whether it's 35 or 36, it's bigger than 10, that's for sure.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Do you mean largest non-gas planet?


Yes.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen


Edited by anonymousgamer - Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 03:21
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 03:37 | Message # 7
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
(between ~124 and ~36 (more than 36), making "less than 36" incorrect), and "less than" is awkward in that situation.

But why are you trying to say that it is between 124 and 36? The data does not support that, in fact it opposes that.

Quote (anonymousgamer)
it's bigger than 10, that's for sure

Probably so, but no one knows. All we know is that it is most likely less than 36.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
anonymousgamerDate: Tuesday, 21.08.2012, 04:41 | Message # 8
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Sorry, the wording confused me a bit. I see where I made my mistake.




Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Superterras
Page 1 of 11
Search: