RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Spectral types & Luminosity classes
Spectral types & Luminosity classes
n3xtDate: Friday, 20.07.2012, 20:15 | Message # 1
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Hellooow fellow space addicted junkies :3

I just wonder although I'm not an expert in programming. But I thought it would be cool to add more types of luminosity classes in SE. For example maybe it's a good idea to add the marginal classes. And ofcourse the more varied ranges of colors of stars. I would suggest:

0 - Hypergiants (Actually I've never seen a star of this spectral type)

Ia-0 - Hypergiants or extremely luminous supergiants

Ia - Luminous supergiants

Iab - Bright supergiants (to fill the gap between Ia and Ib...)

Ib - Supergiants

II (IIa, IIab, IIb) - Bright giants

II-III or III-II (I know... might be confusing but it's really a step towards reality)

III (IIIa, IIIab, IIIb) - Giants

III-IV or IV-III etc...

IV (IVa, IVab, IVb) - Subgiants

V-IV or IV-V etc...

V (Va, Vab, Vb) - Since these stars are oficially refered to as main sequence stars except indeed for the lower mass stars (i.e. G, K, M, L, T, and a recent one spectral class ''Y'')

Perhaps it is appropriate to change the subdwarfs from VI to sd wich is commonly used

Another suggestion for colors maybe, for example:

Star: Capella A
Type: Yellow-white giant
Spectrum: G0 III

Or...

Star: Sirius A
Type: Blue-white main sequence star
Spectrum: A1 V

Star: Arcturus
Type: Orange-yellow giant
Spectrum: K2 III

Star: RS-4225-245-134-245 (lol random)
Type: Blue-white bright supergiant
Spectrum: B9.5 Iab-Ib

Star: Scooby Doo A
Type: Yellow-orange bright giant
Spectrum: G8 IIab

Star: Alnitak
Type: Blue supergiant
Spectrum: O9.7 Ib

Star: LBV 1806-20
Type: Luminous blue variable
Spectrum:

Star: Wezen
Type: Yellow-white luminous supergiant
Spectrum: F8 Ia

Star: SpaceEngineer For The Win biggrin