Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Change the default screenshot names
Change the default screenshot names
siriusdDate: Monday, 09.07.2012, 04:04 | Message # 1
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 21
Status: Offline
Maybe this is just something I personally do, but when I take a screenshot, the first thing I do is go and change the filename to whatever I took a screenshot of. RS 0-0-0-706-10959-7-799579-131 1.png, for example. If I take more than one screenshot of the same object, RS 0-0-0-706-10959-7-799579-131 1(2).png and RS 0-0-0-706-10959-7-799579-131 1(3).png. Doing this seems like common sense to me as it would allow me to easily find the celestial body in a screenshot should I ever wish to.

My suggestion is to implement this method of filenaming screenshots directly into the game. Screenshots should be named based on what was targeted at the time the picture was taken. This seems like a much more logical system to me.

I've included the photos just because I liked them. This is such a great program. wink







Edited by siriusd - Monday, 09.07.2012, 04:07
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 09.07.2012, 05:06 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Not a bad idea. What I do currently is either save the location if it's really special, or I include the HUD in one of my screenshots of the object so that I know what it was if I want to go back. But for the most part I just go explore for new planets if I want to see a certain feature again smile




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Hasforjs97Date: Monday, 09.07.2012, 09:42 | Message # 3
Space Pilot
Group: Translators
Spain
Messages: 107
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Screenshots should be named based on what was targeted at the time the picture was taken.

I didn't think about that, but I'm remembering when I sometimes take screenshots and forget to save the location and then I can't return, so it would be interesting (spaceially for clueless people like me) to have the screenshots saved. On the other hand, I think SpaceEngineer will be too busy, because there are lots of things to do, and maybe he thinks it's not a really important thing to do, because as Harbringer said, there are other ways to remember the location





My desktop:
Pentium G3260 @ 3.30GHz
8.0 GB DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 5570 1GB
 
apenpaapDate: Monday, 09.07.2012, 10:56 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
That's a great idea, I'd love to have it implemented. It might make new screenshots a bit harder to find in the screenshot folder, but it's worth it to make the things in them easier to find.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
TalynDate: Monday, 09.07.2012, 12:09 | Message # 5
Explorer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 207
Status: Offline
Maybe Space Engineer can implement this in a new patch or in the next version with the best of both worlds.

Why not keep the current numbering system so we cank keep track of them and append to the number, the name of the object currently selected?

I'm sure this is just a minor tweek in the code smile





PC: Intel Core2Duo E6850 @ 3.00 GHz & 4GB DDR3 @ 1333 - NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS with 640 MB VRAM
Laptop: Intel Core2Duo T9400 @ 2.53 GHz & 4 GB DDR @ 1066 - NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT
 
apenpaapDate: Monday, 09.07.2012, 13:17 | Message # 6
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
^So a screenshot would be named, for example 002010 - Jupiter.png? That sounds like a great idea biggrin




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 09.07.2012, 14:13 | Message # 7
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (apenpaap)
It might make new screenshots a bit harder to find in the screenshot folder, but it's worth it to make the things in them easier to find.

Just sort by date modified smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
TalynDate: Monday, 09.07.2012, 14:30 | Message # 8
Explorer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 207
Status: Offline
Quote (apenpaap)
example 002010 - Jupiter.png?


I was thinking more like:

scr00001 - RS 0-7-1835016-279-234-8-11601258-1.png

It would be a very minor tweek in the save code and would avoid messing the order and at the same time would allow a quick copy/paste wink





PC: Intel Core2Duo E6850 @ 3.00 GHz & 4GB DDR3 @ 1333 - NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS with 640 MB VRAM
Laptop: Intel Core2Duo T9400 @ 2.53 GHz & 4 GB DDR @ 1066 - NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Change the default screenshot names
Page 1 of 11
Search: