Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Implementing normal maps
Implementing normal maps
PSG_MudDate: Friday, 20.04.2012, 20:20 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Wait, ok you guys don't have normal maps for your planets? I am guessing its a memory hog?
 
DevonXDate: Friday, 20.04.2012, 23:43 | Message # 2
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
As i understand all the planets that's outside the solar system is procedural generated. The height map for the planets in the solar system is normal black white maps.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 20.04.2012, 23:53 | Message # 3
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Look at the ground at sunset - do you see shadows? This is normal mapping.

*





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 02.07.2012, 07:35 | Message # 4
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
I know that SE has normal mapping; what I'm wondering is whether there is any way to specify to the engine in a catalog to read a normal map, say for a custom planet? I have seen no mention of such a parameter for the planet script anywhere. Is there one?

Example:
Code
Surface
{
DiffMap "xxx"
NormalMap "xxx"
}

Or is normal mapping only supported as implemented by procedural generation?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 02.07.2012, 07:52 | Message # 5
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Normal mapping do nothing except of bumpness lighting effect on a flat surface. Instead of it, SpaceEngine uses a bump mapping to create a true 3D landscape with lighting effect. SE don't need a normal maps for a planets, like Celestia.




 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 02.07.2012, 08:26 | Message # 6
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
I know that it isn't necessary, but would it be possible to support it for catalog planets? For example, I have some worlds I made for Celestia that I was able to make good normal maps for, but not bump maps, or other similar fictional textures where height maps don't exist but normals do. I was just wondering whether this would be possible to add as a feature, especially since I know of no way to convert a normal map to a height map (unlike the reverse, which is pretty simple).




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Implementing normal maps
Page 1 of 11
Search: