Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 3 of 7«1234567»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Nebulae
Nebulae
TetoDate: Thursday, 09.02.2012, 07:52 | Message # 31
Space Tourist
Group: Users
France
Messages: 28
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
For example, this nebula could be rendered as a transparent mesh, but what about the boundaries? How to make them look thick and smooth?

Good point ! But the trick that I showed to you is better than nothing because when you go through the nebulae, the cloud of sprites fakes the thickness. But that's right when you are far away, you can't see this thickness. Again, it's better than nothing, for me. smile

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
And this is a diffuse nebula, not even a supernova/red giant remnant:

Of course, but I think that accumulation of thin layers (replaced by cloud sprites when you go through) could fake this sort of nebulae not too badly.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Such a high quality image like the last photo can be rendered only by ray tracing in 3D texture. This texture should have a resolution of at least 512*512*512, and would consume 512 Mb of video memory.

OK. Now I see why you want to use raytracing to try aiming this effect.

Anyway, it's your engine, do what you want. smile But trying to fake nebulae in a better way (not mine, of course) will be better than keeping the actual system, imho. But you don't want keep it anyway. I hope that your work in raytracing will be successful ! happy

*
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 10.02.2012, 01:30 | Message # 32
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (Teto)
because when you go through the nebulae, the cloud of sprites fakes the thickness.

So, where is reason to use fake mesh? Why not render a whole nebula with sprires?





 
TetoDate: Friday, 10.02.2012, 10:21 | Message # 33
Space Tourist
Group: Users
France
Messages: 28
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
So, where is reason to use fake mesh?

None ! If you have better solution, be my guest ! biggrin

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Why not render a whole nebula with sprires?

You mean spires, right ? I don't know what it means, but if you think / are sure that it's a better solution, well, you are the boss. smile

Edit : I've written these suggestions because what I saw in game for the moment is not very realistic (no offense) and you seemed to ask "what can I do". I thought about faking nebulae when I played with Celestia few years ago. So my suggestions come from the ideas I had for Celestia (before I quit because of few smugs...).


Edited by Teto - Friday, 10.02.2012, 10:32
 
RodrigoDate: Wednesday, 29.02.2012, 18:09 | Message # 34
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Offline
I found a way to have black absorption particles in nebulas, simulating dust. You have to manually edit the shader files.
just delete the "* bright" part of the last code line in nebula_model_light files. I also changed the nebula_model code with galaxy_model code, but i dont know if it is necessary.

Alas, i´m having trouble modifying the nebula models file to make them look good. The best i got was this:


Please, anyone try and find if something better can be done

Attachments: 6904779.jpg(29Kb)
 
RodrigoDate: Thursday, 01.03.2012, 02:58 | Message # 35
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Offline
Is getting a little better smile
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 01.03.2012, 06:01 | Message # 36
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Rodrigo, that's exactly what I have been wanting to do for a long time, I posted about it a while back. I never thought to modify the shaders. Thanks for posting this! smile




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
RodrigoDate: Thursday, 01.03.2012, 12:20 | Message # 37
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Offline
Thanks. I had tried to change just the models file before, but couldn´t get this effect.
Please, try these configurations, see if it looks good for you. I tried to make the colours very close to each other, with some yellowish tint.

For anyone willing to try this, put models.cfg in data/models/nebula folder. Unrar shaders.rar in data/shaders folder.
Always backup your files

Attachments: Models.cfg(14Kb) · shaders.rar(4Kb)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 01.03.2012, 14:37 | Message # 38
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Don't forget to remove nebula models from the cache folder smile And check out any errors with shader compilation or model loading in se.log

*





 
RodrigoDate: Thursday, 01.03.2012, 15:52 | Message # 39
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Offline
Is there any way to change the shape of the nebulas? I would like to make them more elongated

Edited by Rodrigo - Friday, 02.03.2012, 04:13
 
neutronium76Date: Thursday, 01.03.2012, 22:00 | Message # 40
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote (Rodrigo)
Alas, i´m having trouble modifying the nebula models file to make them look good. The best i got was this:


Please, anyone try and find if something better can be done

Attachments: 6904779.jpg(29Kb)


Hi Rodrigo! I liked your 1st try i.e. the darker red tint - the one you didn't like! It looks more scary and more spooky to me! What values did you use in the shader files? Can you recall them? Please please remember rolleyes





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
RodrigoDate: Friday, 02.03.2012, 04:04 | Message # 41
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Offline
Sorry, I don't remember. But it's easy to try for yourself. Download the files above and edit the models file, not the shaders.
Search for the diffuse nebula types (diff0, diff1 & diff2). There's a line that set the color of emmision particles. It's RGB, so i guess 1.0 0.1 0.3 is a good guess for that particular color.
Before starting spaceengine, delete your cache folder.
Play around with the models file and post your results here!
 
RodrigoDate: Saturday, 03.03.2012, 05:13 | Message # 42
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Offline
I´m very happy with this setup smile
 
SolarisDate: Monday, 18.06.2012, 23:27 | Message # 43
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
I am not a programmer at all, but after successfully changed the color to diffuse nebula on Rodrigo's file, as I wanted something more dense, I managed to get what I wanted. (exept the colors that I made ​​too "candy")
I've change this line: absNoiseRandomize (0.3, 0.43, 0.01) into absNoiseRandomize (0.1, 0.9, 0.1),and also few others things.
It's not a subtle change , it's rude but very pleasant to fly in it.
The Models.cfg (6834241.cfg, he has to be renamed, don't know why..) is below if you ever wanna try them :


Attachments: 8947843.jpg(47Kb) · 7058108.jpg(92Kb) · 8302247.jpg(41Kb) · 9519141.jpg(82Kb) · 1773624.jpg(45Kb) · 7987294.jpg(108Kb) · 2526824.jpg(80Kb) · 6834241.cfg(14Kb)


Edited by Solaris - Tuesday, 19.06.2012, 02:44
 
neutronium76Date: Tuesday, 19.06.2012, 07:18 | Message # 44
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Solaris I like them! It seems however that it is not possible to get 2-color nebulas plus light absorption sprights... sad .
I'll give your model.cfg a try tonight after work and see if I can tweak it more.





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
SolarisDate: Wednesday, 20.06.2012, 03:21 | Message # 45
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Some test on different models of nebulae tongue


Attachments: 5882778.jpg(46Kb) · 4885075.jpg(38Kb) · 4497255.jpg(41Kb) · 8801091.jpg(521Kb) · 5649453.jpg(342Kb) · 4399630.jpg(320Kb)


Edited by Solaris - Wednesday, 20.06.2012, 03:36
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Nebulae
Page 3 of 7«1234567»
Search: