[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » How Planets Look
How Planets Look
SnowfallDate: Sunday, 02.08.2015, 23:03 | Message # 1
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Canada
I'm not bashing space engine at all in anyway, as an artist, i just wanted to bring up some visual ideas that i have noticed in space engine.

So far, I find that after exploring the planets and moons in the Space Engine universe for a while they tend to get very repetitive, finding the same crater styles and cracks and mountains scattered evenly around the planet as if they are never connected or flowing visually into each-other, they feel very randomized and almost flat, just with different colours in random parts. I find there is not much to remember them by individually.

In contrast look at our solar system.

The huge volcanoes on mars and that one huge canyon across its face are very easy for the eye to recognize, they are large and pronounced, and simple. Example
Pluto's big huge Heart shape too, it is now so easy to recognize Pluto for it. Not just in shape, but how it connects and transitions visually to the other regions of the planets surface. Example even Charon too, a world thought to be covered in craters, but has a very recognizable dark polar cap and very large canyons across its face. think about how different the cracks are on Europa Vs Enceladus or Ganymede, how some craters on some worlds look like cone shapes where others look like flat circles with rings. I can talk about a lot of other worlds too, and the pronounced features that are unique and recognizable on them from each other, but i think i described what i was going for.