Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Experimental star browser in 0.95
Experimental star browser in 0.95
RobbieDate: Saturday, 05.11.2011, 10:49 | Message # 1
Pioneer
Group: Global Moderators
United Kingdom
Messages: 590
Status: Offline
I see that you have the experimental star browser in 0.95 assigned to the F1 key. I was wondering if it would be possible to add another feature to it (not now, but sometime in the future) to have a location marker (e.g. green cross in picture) on the galaxy map so we can see our current position in the galaxy. I've always felt kinda lost flying around in a galaxy, not knowing where I am relative to my previous positions. I know your star map procedurally generates the stars in the browser window, but will this apply to the full galaxy view as well? or will you just use a billboard texture as I've shown in my picture? It would also be nice to have the F6 bookmark locations on it as well, maybe as yellow marker crosses, with an option to switch them on and off.


Attachments: 0537165.jpg(44Kb)





Quad Core i7 930 CPU o/c 3.8 GHz - 6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - ATI HD 5870 1024Mb - Intel SSD X25-M Gen 2 - Win 7 64-bit
Add Your PC Spec To Your Signature Or Post It Here
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 05.11.2011, 17:31 | Message # 2
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
I will make a new "mapping mode," but I will described it in more detail later in the game-play section. The map will look like a rendering with orthogonal projection (or with a small FOV) by cutting everything outside spherical volume at the center of the screen. Moving around in the map is done by using the mouse: Left-drag moves viewpoint, right-drag rotates viewpoint. The mouse wheel is very important, as it changes the cut-off radius when zooming in and out. You can then zoom from the galaxy level to the star level, then to planetary system level, then to planet level.

Position of marker is an important thing, and of course it will get implemented. But making markers for the F6 locations is a great idea! I did not think about this before!

*





 
RobbieDate: Saturday, 05.11.2011, 23:13 | Message # 3
Pioneer
Group: Global Moderators
United Kingdom
Messages: 590
Status: Offline
Your new star map ideas looks very interesting.

I've had another idea about using the F6 location dialogue box in conjunction with galaxy map. Instead of maybe flooding the map with many bookmark markers, let the player select a saved location from within F6 box, which will then highlight that marker's location on the galaxy map, that way the player gets to compare the full location data in F6 box without you having to add any other data onto the map itself. And each time the player chooses another saved location from the F6 box, the map marker will automatically change its position to the newly selected co-ordinates in the F6 box. It would be simple and effective, without adding any clutter to the map whatsoever.





Quad Core i7 930 CPU o/c 3.8 GHz - 6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - ATI HD 5870 1024Mb - Intel SSD X25-M Gen 2 - Win 7 64-bit
Add Your PC Spec To Your Signature Or Post It Here
 
RobbieDate: Friday, 11.11.2011, 13:51 | Message # 4
Pioneer
Group: Global Moderators
United Kingdom
Messages: 590
Status: Offline
I've been giving some further thought on the use of bookmarks on planets. At present we can bookmark an un-targeted location on a planet surface and use the 'go to' option to teleport us back there instantly. However, we can't fly to that un-targeted location. It would be nice to fly to such locations too, as well as teleporting to them. At present we have to select an object to target it, then fly to it. Why can't we select a bookmark as an object too. If bookmarks co-ordinates are already stored in F6 to be used with the 'go to' option, I can't see any reason why those co-ordinates cannot be used as a 'fly to' option as well.




Quad Core i7 930 CPU o/c 3.8 GHz - 6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - ATI HD 5870 1024Mb - Intel SSD X25-M Gen 2 - Win 7 64-bit
Add Your PC Spec To Your Signature Or Post It Here
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 11.11.2011, 14:34 | Message # 5
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Showing the F6 locations on the galaxy map is a good idea, and of course I will implement it.

Regarding your last post: I can't implement a "go to" flying location point for several reasons: Firstly, SE will have a hierarchical coordinate system. It has no single "xyz" coordinate for any point, because they are always bound to some body. The F6 location point depends on the 'following' mode (follow/sync rot) and on Time too. The F6 locations is a point in space-time, and not in space only. Secondly, flying in a straight line to a point near a planetary surface can cause the camera to pass through a planet's body. This is a bad thing, especially with the recently implemented collision detection. So I should first implement a "smart" autopilot that can move the camera around planets that can avoid collisions. There are also other reasons, but I can't recall those at present.

*





 
RobbieDate: Friday, 11.11.2011, 15:25 | Message # 6
Pioneer
Group: Global Moderators
United Kingdom
Messages: 590
Status: Offline
That's okay, thanks for the explanations. Look forward to the smart auto pilot, when it arrives smile

Just a reminder: You hadn't replied to my last paragraph in message 3 about using the F6 box to highlight a location on the galaxy map when selecting one or more location from within F6 box. Would that be feasible?





Quad Core i7 930 CPU o/c 3.8 GHz - 6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - ATI HD 5870 1024Mb - Intel SSD X25-M Gen 2 - Win 7 64-bit
Add Your PC Spec To Your Signature Or Post It Here
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 11.11.2011, 17:52 | Message # 7
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Of course, when you open the F6 dialog box, then the galaxy map will open in the background. Selecting an entry in that dialog box will highlight the marker on the galaxy map (if location markers are enabled). I hope that answers your question?

*





 
RobbieDate: Monday, 05.12.2011, 11:27 | Message # 8
Pioneer
Group: Global Moderators
United Kingdom
Messages: 590
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
<snip> I hope that answers your question?


Yes, it did, thank you. smile

PS: Sorry for bumping this thread so late, but I've only just read your reply... *...again, today :-)





Quad Core i7 930 CPU o/c 3.8 GHz - 6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - ATI HD 5870 1024Mb - Intel SSD X25-M Gen 2 - Win 7 64-bit
Add Your PC Spec To Your Signature Or Post It Here
 
TalismanDate: Tuesday, 06.12.2011, 19:26 | Message # 9
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 409
Status: Offline
For some reason I can't activate any star browser with F1, is there a setting I have to enable?




 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 06.12.2011, 19:29 | Message # 10
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
No, I disabled it in the public release.

*





 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Experimental star browser in 0.95
Page 1 of 11
Search: