RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » SpaceEngine as a Planetarium solution
SpaceEngine as a Planetarium solution
renanssDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 19:30 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Brazil
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Hi,

Let me introduce myself; I'm a 3D artist and video editor of a small Planetarium company on Brazil.
Since then we've been using software such as Stellarium and Celestia to produce and present simulated universe content as well as CG generated stuff.
I've just met this SpaceEngine a few weeks ago and I think its a great space/universe simulator!
In resume, I would like to know if you or any user tried to use it as a novel planetarium space simulator for educational purposes? If yes, where can I read /discuss more about it?

As I write this post, I'm trying to convince my company's director to use SpaceEngine and of course make contribution/donations for the project!

Here's is a few questions (please let me know if all these question were discussed already).

1 - Is it OpenSource?
2 - I noticed you intend to add Constellation figures (as seem on Stellarium) but it's not your priority. To speed up this, is there a way that you recommend to add this feature by ourselves? (I have a programmer guy here).
3 - The FishEye effect really decreases the render quality(maybe this OpenGl camera effect is not that good, or is it normal?). Do you recommend a workaround for this?
4 - A few features that we're missing for ex.(Asteroid belt, Oort Cloud and Quasars). Again, are we able to add these features?

Thanks!
Renan Soares
 
SolarLinerDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 20:14 | Message # 2
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Hi renanss, welcome to this forum. Some moderator will eventually ask you to read the forum rules (and you should wink )

Now, to answer your questions as best as I can:

1. No, SpaceEngineer wants to keep it closed source, unlike Celestia or Stellarium where those are community projects.
2. Extending to the first question, the source being closed, I don't think any help on the code is welcomed. But this may change at any moment.
3. Yes, Fish Eye does indeed reduce the quality because it is made with a distorted frame buffer which is then rendered to the viewport. Currently there is no workaround to it, but there is a planned Planetarium mode.
4. According to the FAQ, anything that is closely or remotely related to space will be implemented one day; it's only a matter of time.





custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 20:40 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Also, the asteroid belt is not missing, nor is the Kuiper belt, and the only Oort Cloud objectknown at the time of the last release is there. As for quasars, they'll be implemented eventually.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
renanssDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 21:40 | Message # 4
Observer
Group: Newbies
Brazil
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Thanks for the prompt answers! Now I've noticed that there's a lot of known objects from the asteroid belt and Kuiper.
I was expecting to see a huge, procedural generated cloud of asteroid and Oort cloud.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 22:04 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote renanss ()
I was expecting to see a huge, procedural generated cloud of asteroid and Oort cloud.

Even if procedural objects were added to them, it would not affect anything visually, given the extreme distances between objects even in the densest portions of the belts.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 22:10 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Hi renanss. All questions are answered. The next version of SE will introduce much better quality of Fish eye rendering, bug fixes, and improvements such as GUI in fish eye mode. Regarding to use in planetariums, I am probably will collaborate with fulldome.pro - so they will have exclusive rights to use SE for their planetariums and distribute a special "SE for Planetarium" edition. Free version of "SE for PC" will have only limited fish eye capabilities (such as limited resolution). However this may never happen and "SE for PC" will have full planetarium support.




 
renanssDate: Wednesday, 25.06.2014, 01:08 | Message # 7
Observer
Group: Newbies
Brazil
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
I'm happy to see all questions answered. Can't wait to see what's coming up!
I hope I can contribute to this project as well.

See ya.
 
AiioFluxDate: Tuesday, 01.07.2014, 21:35 | Message # 8
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United Kingdom
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Seems like it would be a shame to have to put such a limitation on the software. Surely there is more scope for generating lots of income from multiple organisations having subscriptions than a single contract? I dunno. Just seems a shame. Although I spose we are talking about super high resolutions which would only be applicable on very large domes..?




You are now breathing manually..
 
DocasmanDate: Tuesday, 19.08.2014, 16:10 | Message # 9
Observer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 12
Status: Offline
Hello All,

I've been following SE for quite some time, and thinking about how it competes (or completes) with our current planetarium's software. For now, i'm using it for short animations for the video-wall we have on the outside wall. Even if it's not ready for the dome, it's a great software for the desktop, and very promising.

Quote SpaceEngineer ()
GUI in fish eye mode

I'm not sure I understand what you mean, sorry. I don't see the need for this, as it would be distracting to the audience. Perhaps you mean HUD? Or a different GUI for fisheye mode? Usually, the GUI is rendered on a separate (flat) screen, on the planetarium's console. (something like this:)

I hope the fulldome.pro thing does happen, I'd love to see SE in the dome.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » SpaceEngine as a Planetarium solution
Page 1 of 11
Search: