RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Extended Hiappcros catalogue (V/137D)
Extended Hiappcros catalogue (V/137D)
Sword7Date: Wednesday, 12.02.2014, 04:07 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Folks, I discovered that new star catalog that contains galactic orbit data. It called Extended Hiappcros (XHIP). Are you plan to implement that into Space Engine to see stars orbit around the center of galaxy?

Thanks,
Sword7
 
neutronium76Date: Wednesday, 12.02.2014, 12:06 | Message # 2
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Sword7, there is no reason to create a new topic for your request. An appropriate thread exists here or here or here.

And, no SE can not simulate the motion of stars around galaxies - this would require supercomputing power. Check back in 1000 years...





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 12.02.2014, 18:34 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
And, no SE can not simulate the motion of stars around galaxies - this would require supercomputing power

He's not talking about that, he's talking about using existing data on stellar velocities. Which still won't work for a variety of reasons, but computing power is not one of them.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Wednesday, 12.02.2014, 18:51 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote Sword7 ()
catalog that contains galactic orbit data


He is not talking about what? This is still a simulation. Using precomputed data of millions, even thousands of objects still requires supercomputing power. Just see what happens if you add extended asteroid and comet catalog on our solar system: SE FPS go down to 2-3. No need to be that fastidious...





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 12.02.2014, 22:01 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
Using precomputed data of millions, even thousands of objects still requires supercomputing power

lol you're funny, I'm in Sol right now with the extended catalogs, with time running, and I'm still getting framerates 10 times higher than what you claim. It does not require supercomputing power, not even close.

Also, since you're a computer genius, perhaps you can explain why you have HTML in your signature, since it isn't usable?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Wednesday, 12.02.2014, 22:04
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 13.02.2014, 18:44 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
It have not an orbit data (in reality, there is no such thing as a star orbit in the galaxy), but data about star radial velocity and proper motion. It will be used in the game for the hyperjump physics, and will be modeled for procedural stars. But star's motion itself cannot be simulated, maybe only in time span of +/- 10000 years.




 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Extended Hiappcros catalogue (V/137D)
Page 1 of 11
Search: