Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Real Space Engine for Android
Real Space Engine for Android
djgspeeDate: Tuesday, 15.10.2013, 14:06 | Message # 1
Space Tourist
Group: Translators
Poland
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
Iknow that the forum is already abrave man
who wants to do the SE for android but its
version somehow does not reflect the space
engine. Iwanted to ask if spaceengineer
doing something in this direction either, or at least thought about it to makeSpace
Engine on android phones. myphone is a
ZTEBlade G 2x1.2GHz dual-core processor
and 512MB of ram Ithink alittle slimmer
version (I'm talking about graphics) SE
could go on the phone. But all in all I'm not
here decide. But Iadmit that Iwould have
Space Engine on the phone xD
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 15.10.2013, 14:52 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Quote djgspee ()
Iknow that the forum is already abrave man who wants to do the SE for android but its version somehow does not reflect the space engine.

That was not SE for android, that was a totally separate and unrelated program.

Quote djgspee ()
Iwanted to ask if spaceengineer doing something in this direction either, or at least thought about it to make Space Engine on android phones.

No.

Quote djgspee ()
myphone is a ZTEBlade G 2x1.2GHz dual-core processor and 512MB of ram Ithink alittle slimmer
version (I'm talking about graphics) SE could go on the phone.

SE would definitely not work on that phone, it is not nearly powerful enough. SE requires more than anything proper Nvidia or AMD graphics hardware, and that is something that no phone has or will have anytime soon.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 15.10.2013, 15:18 | Message # 3
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote djgspee ()
SE
could go on the phone


It lags a lot on my PC, so a version for Android would run 0.001 FPS on my smartphone biggrin





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
midtskogenDate: Tuesday, 15.10.2013, 15:22 | Message # 4
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 1668
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
SE would definitely not work on that phone, it is not nearly powerful enough. SE requires more than anything proper Nvidia or AMD graphics hardware, and that is something that no phone has or will have anytime soon.

Isn't the determining factor the right OpenGL support rather than the right vendor? (disregarding the host architecture, that is likely ARM, not x86)

I've been using a Solar System live background on my android devices, and the rendering is smooth even on my 1920x1080 phone without any noticeable impact on battery life. Of course, rendering some planets (probably with ring shadows in the textures) in a fixed celestial sphere is something different than what SE does. The graphics capabilities of my phone is much higher than that of the PC I used a year ago, and we shall perhaps not underestimate what ARM based systems will be capable of in the near future.





NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI


Edited by midtskogen - Tuesday, 15.10.2013, 15:25
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 15.10.2013, 15:36 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Quote midtskogen ()
Isn't the determining factor the right OpenGL support rather than the right vendor?

It's a combination of right OpenGL support, right hardware, and good drivers. Only Nvidia and AMD offers all three, with Nvidia arguably having the best drivers recently. The difference in driver quality is why Intel chips have so many problems with SE compared to Nvidia and AMD.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
djgspeeDate: Wednesday, 16.10.2013, 14:52 | Message # 6
Space Tourist
Group: Translators
Poland
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
ehh screenshots and I've done sad



Oversized white dots in facilities would be easier to select



Dat menu... sad

 
RockoRocksDate: Wednesday, 16.10.2013, 15:36 | Message # 7
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
djgspee, there won't be a Space Engine for any mobile phone anytime soon...
and even with such simplified interface, it would be very hard to work with, unless it were an iPad app or such.





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM


Edited by RockoRocks - Wednesday, 16.10.2013, 17:36
 
Destructor1701Date: Friday, 18.10.2013, 02:43 | Message # 8
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
The interface is the smallest problem involved.

The porting and slimming-down of all the procedural generation code would be a mammoth task.





 
BlackeyeDate: Friday, 27.12.2013, 14:28 | Message # 9
Astronaut
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
Better idea: procudelar Star System Generator xP
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Real Space Engine for Android
Page 1 of 11
Search: