Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Glowing oceans, new planet classes, dynamic elements
Glowing oceans, new planet classes, dynamic elements
JoeCapricornDate: Friday, 27.09.2013, 00:39 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Users
United States
I'm new to Space Engine, but OH MAN is this awesome - 0.97 is better still, and the options to customize planets and create your own are really fascinating.

I have a few suggestions that could be implemented, unless something like these are already planned and/or implemented.

First are glowing oceans - having more options with oceans would be handy. Having them emit their own light so the night side of the planet is illuminated by glowing liquid for various reasons would look really cool. It would also be a way to implement lava-planets, since rocky worlds orbiting really close to their star would probably have oceans of lava with islands of slightly more durable rock. One of the worlds in my personal universe is one with lakes that glow with bio-luminescence. Flora on this world glow as well. Another option I'd like for oceans is changeable opacity, unless I'm doing it wrong. I did say I'm new to Space Engine. I almost got a fake-glowing oceans effect by really jacking up the Exposure or DayAmbient or something, but it was only out to a certain distance. It looked cool, since it looked like it was a sea of white-hot glowing magma.

New planet classes would always be welcome. I heard something about lava worlds, the opposite of ice worlds that exist very close to their parent sun. Perhaps with an ocean of glowing lava that persists into the night side.