RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 2 of 2«12
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Simple Cloud Shadows (Implement shadows on and created by cloud layers)
Simple Cloud Shadows
SalvoDate: Wednesday, 24.07.2013, 20:01 | Message # 16
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote (momax)
add the bump map of Earth to the cloud shadow layer







The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Wednesday, 24.07.2013, 20:02
 
momaxDate: Thursday, 25.07.2013, 00:17 | Message # 17
Space Tourist
Group: Users
France
Messages: 23
Status: Offline
I'm glad i can bring something to the table.
I have to say space engine is a dream come true : Celestia got me hooked for a decade, and I felt a bit disappointed when pc graphics hardware improved without a recent realistic planetarium to run on it...

And a few weeks ago I heard about this great software: thank you space engineer, you really made my summer :-)
 
Adobe_Wan_KenobiDate: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 01:27 | Message # 18
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
@Momax... great script, but I'm a noob to modifying Space Engine. (I have v0.97)

It seems as though your script only applies to Earth.

Is there any way to implement this on all procedural planets? (If so, could you spell it out so a first-timer can make the modifications?)

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.
/\dobe \/\/an
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 01:34 | Message # 19
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Adobe_Wan_Kenobi ()
Is there any way to implement this on all procedural planets?

No, it's not possible.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
momaxDate: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 07:48 | Message # 20
Space Tourist
Group: Users
France
Messages: 23
Status: Offline
Hi Adobe_Wan_Kenobi, yes only for non-procedural textures (planets in our neighborhood, mapped by mankind...)

HarbingerDawn: maybe it is possible to assign an image texture for clouds on a procedural planet?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 14:20 | Message # 21
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote momax ()
maybe it is possible to assign an image texture for clouds on a procedural planet?

Again, no, that is impossible.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 15:34 | Message # 22
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Again, no, that is impossible.

Is it completely impossible to generate cloud shadows for procedural planets? sad





Love Space Engine!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 15:42 | Message # 23
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Fireinthehole ()
Is it completely impossible to generate cloud shadows for procedural planets?

Currently yes. It won't happen until SpaceEngineer implements actual cloud shadows.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 16:19 | Message # 24
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Currently yes. It won't happen until SpaceEngineer implements actual cloud shadows.

I guess it won't happen until clouds are animated in 3D :/





Love Space Engine!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 26.11.2013, 17:47 | Message # 25
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Fireinthehole ()
I guess it won't happen until clouds are animated in 3D

Why? There's no reason cloud shadows can't be implemented with 2D clouds. Celestia did it, after all.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Simple Cloud Shadows (Implement shadows on and created by cloud layers)
Page 2 of 2«12
Search: