Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Cartography? (Maps and such things as these.)
Cartography?
VocenaeDate: Friday, 21.06.2013, 05:00 | Message # 1
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Hello all.

Well, I hope this topic hasn't been brought up before, but I was wondering if it would be possible to add a map exporter type deal to SE. I generally use Space Engine as inspiration or background fluff for writing projects, so if there was some way to get actual maps of a planet's terrain, it would be a pretty huge thing for me as trying to plan out borders and cities on a sphere can be pretty challenging.

Anyway, just an idea I had, thanks for your time.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 21.06.2013, 05:21 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3590
Status: Offline
I don't know if this is what you want but if you select a planet, hit escape, and then use the export planet feature you can get a surface map like this.






Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
VocenaeDate: Friday, 21.06.2013, 16:28 | Message # 3
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
This is exactly what I'm looking for.

However I primarily use 0.9.6 because 0.9.7 frequently crashes on me. The export feature in 0.9.6 doesn't seem to be working properly as I will either get files with no image or I will get the same map over and over again. I know it's a previous version and all, but is there any solution for this or am I stuck with using 0.9.7?
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Friday, 21.06.2013, 18:21 | Message # 4
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote (Vocenae)
However I primarily use 0.9.6 because 0.9.7 frequently crashes on me. The export feature in 0.9.6 doesn't seem to be working properly as I will either get files with no image or I will get the same map over and over again. I know it's a previous version and all, but is there any solution for this or am I stuck with using 0.9.7?

Same for me but I'm using 0.9.7. :P





Love Space Engine!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 21.06.2013, 19:23 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (Vocenae)
The export feature in 0.9.6 doesn't seem to be working properly

It's always worked for me in that version. Are you using 0.9.6.2?

Also, there's a bug with exporting maps in 0.97, so you're better off just using 0.96 for texture exports, though significantly more work is required to get oceans on the map in that version (advanced knowledge of Photoshop or GIMP is required).





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
VocenaeDate: Saturday, 22.06.2013, 01:02 | Message # 6
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
0.9.6.0 is the version that I use most of the time. This is the image that I get every time I export a planet.



The several map exports I've done in 0.9.7.0 are fine, however.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 22.06.2013, 03:41 | Message # 7
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (Vocenae)
0.9.6.0

Why do you not use the 0.9.6.2 patch? There is no benefit to using the unpatched 0.96, just more bugs.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Cartography? (Maps and such things as these.)
Page 1 of 11
Search: