RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 2 of 8«123478»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » 3D water and clouds
3D water and clouds
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 22.07.2012, 03:42 | Message # 16
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Volumetric clouds would be absolutely amazing in SE.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
DraidonDate: Sunday, 22.07.2012, 07:24 | Message # 17
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Volumetric clouds would be absolutely amazing in SE.


Amazing for SE, but terrible for frame rates.
 
BlackArkDate: Sunday, 22.07.2012, 12:14 | Message # 18
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 137
Status: Offline
and dose it take up more GPU if this was in SE?
 
anonymousgamerDate: Sunday, 22.07.2012, 12:17 | Message # 19
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
All of these programs (the youtube links) are 100% dedicated to weather effects.

So it would take a looong time to properly implement in SpaceEngine.

Seriously, 3D clouds are coming but not for a while yet, be patient.

Edit: Yes, it would be possible to run in real time, but you'd need more beef in your boot to run it smoothly.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen


Edited by anonymousgamer - Sunday, 22.07.2012, 12:19
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 23.07.2012, 04:55 | Message # 20
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (Draidon)
but terrible for frame rates.

Best option I can think of would be to leave in the old system and the new one. If Volumetric is enabled then the current system is disabled and if volumetric is disabled then the old procedural ones kick in. Plus you could still disable clouds entirely in options.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
AlessiaCristalloooDate: Friday, 30.11.2012, 15:23 | Message # 21
Astronaut
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 44
Status: Offline
I found some intreseting resources to make Ocean's effect!

A post:


Taken from here smile

And a site: http://proland.inrialpes.fr/trees3D.html

Code of Eric Brunetton's Shader here smile


Edited by AlessiaCristallooo - Friday, 30.11.2012, 15:39
 
vosk_01Date: Friday, 30.11.2012, 16:50 | Message # 22
Observer
Group: Banned
Ukraine
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Quote (AlessiaCristallooo)
I found some intreseting resources to make Ocean's effect!

A post:

Taken from here

And a site: http://proland.inrialpes.fr/trees3D.html

Code of Eric Brunetton's Shader here

AlessiaCristallooo SpaceEngineer had already, that 3D clouds and water will be added soon.





Desktop:
MS Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit SP1
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.20GHz, 2,0GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260

Laptop:
Coming soon
 
smjjamesDate: Friday, 30.11.2012, 16:57 | Message # 23
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (vosk_01)
Quote (AlessiaCristallooo)
I found some intreseting resources to make Ocean's effect!

A post:

Taken from here

And a site: http://proland.inrialpes.fr/trees3D.html

Code of Eric Brunetton's Shader here

AlessiaCristallooo SpaceEngineer had already, that 3D clouds and water will be added soon.


She was just talking about it and giving some resources she found, after all, this is the suggestions section.





 
SalvoDate: Friday, 30.11.2012, 17:06 | Message # 24
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
She was just talking about it and giving some resources she found, after all, this is the suggestions section.

Right, those shaders are exactly what i had i mind, i hope she will help Space Engineer someway smile





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Friday, 30.11.2012, 17:07
 
BlackArkDate: Tuesday, 04.12.2012, 12:44 | Message # 25
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 137
Status: Offline
I found something that can maybe help out SE for 3d clouds. and SE v. 1.01 beta? last link XD

http://www.youtube.com/watch?a....nbQ-dMA

http://uploaded.net/file/4nhd545t/Clouds

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w2dmpE6ZFb4


Edited by BlackArk - Tuesday, 04.12.2012, 12:55
 
smjjamesDate: Tuesday, 04.12.2012, 14:25 | Message # 26
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Yeah, look at the render times for that last one. XD

My computer, which only has 2gb RAM, would absolutely choke and crash attempting to render those, or just take a VERY long time.

That stuff may not blockbuster film quality, but it's definetly movie or cinematic quality.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 04.12.2012, 14:26 | Message # 27
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
BlackArk, how is something about making clouds in After Effects supposed to help SE? They are completely different and unrelated, you must know that.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
ogggrezDate: Wednesday, 20.02.2013, 22:15 | Message # 28
Astronaut
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 60
Status: Offline
Would it be possible to make 3d clouds if you used, let's say, something like the galaxy sprite?




"You can't take the skies from me"
 
AlessiaCristalloooDate: Monday, 25.02.2013, 22:37 | Message # 29
Astronaut
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 44
Status: Offline
I dream to see this someday on se :3

 
ogggrezDate: Monday, 25.02.2013, 22:45 | Message # 30
Astronaut
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 60
Status: Offline
Quote (AlessiaCristallooo)
I dream to see this someday on se :3


That would be awesome! Imagine seeing a planet with waves like skyscrapers. oh god that would be freakin cool.





"You can't take the skies from me"
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » 3D water and clouds
Page 2 of 8«123478»
Search: