Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Titan's Texture (a better texture map for titan)
Titan's Texture
BatbombDate: Tuesday, 05.03.2013, 21:01 | Message # 1
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
If this was suggested previously I'm sorry. I used the search-function but haven't found anything...

While flying around in the Saturn system, I noticed that Titan has just a plain texture. I was able to find (nearly) global maps of this moon.







Of course you wouldn't be able to see that all, but when flying into the atmosphere it would be cool to have... well the lakes and stuff. I don't know wether such maps can be used for SE-Planets, but I think Titan deserves a facelift.

Regards

Batbomb


Edited by Batbomb - Tuesday, 05.03.2013, 21:02
 
SalvoDate: Tuesday, 05.03.2013, 21:23 | Message # 2
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
I like titan so much, but it's hard to find a very detailed texture, and... yeah... we should make a good high map biggrin




The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 05.03.2013, 21:25 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (Batbomb)
I noticed that Titan has just a plain texture

What do you mean "just a plain texture"? Titan has a real texture made from real maps.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
BatbombDate: Tuesday, 05.03.2013, 22:00 | Message # 4
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
I looked...



I don't know wether it is the nature of the moon itself that nearly no altitude differences are observable, but it indeed seems to have a texture...



The lakes are also present in some way. Maybe we could improve this a bit by educated guesswork. I don't know if it is absolutely forbidden to add fictional elements to actual objects though.


Edited by Batbomb - Tuesday, 05.03.2013, 22:01
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 05.03.2013, 22:07 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (Batbomb)
I looked...

Look from space, turn the clouds off first. It doesn't have a height texture (none exists so this is impossible) but it does have a real surface map.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 05.03.2013, 22:19 | Message # 6
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Titan looks fine, the only complaint I see here is about the texture resolution which currently isn't a problem.



You could always make it into a procedural planet in the catalog file if you want it to be more detailed. Other than that I see no issues with it in the current system.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
BatbombDate: Tuesday, 05.03.2013, 22:25 | Message # 7
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 27
Status: Offline
Ok... next time I should check all my options. I never turned any clouds of.... in fact I wasn't aware of such an option lol
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Titan's Texture (a better texture map for titan)
Page 1 of 11
Search: