RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Preset Speeds, Measurement in light-years & Planet read-outs
Preset Speeds, Measurement in light-years & Planet read-outs
LordHaHaDate: Friday, 02.09.2011, 08:27 | Message # 1
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 23
Status: Offline
I'm probably repeating something somebody else has said earlier, but here goes with three things that I would dearly love to see in future versions of SE...

1) Ability to switch to different measurement units.
a) Force distance to display lightyears instead of parsecs as a menu option.
Rationale: less scientifically inclined individuals who still want to cruise around the universe may prefer lightyears, and even those who are deep into astronomy may prefer the fine detail of a lightyear-based distance readout on occasion.
b) Ability to choose between Kelvin, Celsius and Fahrenheit temperature scales, again via menu option.
Rationale: less scientifically inclined individuals may feel more comfortable with the local temperature scales that they use in every day life, and conversion from K* to C*/F* is a simple formula away.

2) Ability add in "custom" speeds at hard-set values.
Rationale: if at some point people will be able to add in spaceships to SE, and subsequently be able to fly around in those models, it might be an enjoyable option to be able to designate a speed that fits the universe that the ship hails from, or even before such an option is implemented it might be interesting to people with vivid imaginations...thus you could select a variety of speeds from a menu or via the keyboard that match the speeds of ship types from a given universe.
For example, instead of spending 5 min using the +/- keys or mouse wheel to set your speed to exactly 39.00c, you could press a key and set it to "Warp 3" from Star Trek, which is indeed 39c even. Other universes where such a conversion might be possible might include Star Wars and Blake's 7, though there may be others I am not aware of.

3) Detailed atmospheric (and perhaps hydrospheric) readouts of planets, perhaps even spectral analysis in line with current astrophysical knowledge.
Rationale: science "fluff" that adds detail and immersion to the simulation. It's not just a "terra" planet, it's one where the life there can't breathe the air you do. Get a readout of the exact mix of O2, N2, CO2, etc. for planets, and perhaps details of star composition if one were to go so far as to model that particular line. Detailed hydrospheric composition analysis readout would also be along the same lines/rationale. Go and find those systems and worlds of unique scientific interest.
Minor addition: dynamic atmospheric pressure analysis using the barometric formula that gives your exact air pressure based on where you are in a planet's atmosphere. Find where an atmosphere effectively terminates, or the exact altitudes on a thickly or thinly atmosphered terra where humanity could live.

I'm sure I could think of other things given enough time, but outside of speed increases and bug fixes, I'd really love to see these features implemented in a future version of SE.

LordHaHa
 
RobbieDate: Friday, 02.09.2011, 10:41 | Message # 2
Pioneer
Group: Global Moderators
United Kingdom
Messages: 590
Status: Offline
Your item 2 has already been addressed in a post [here]. This will probably be the next best trade-off on speed controls until spaceships are added to the game later. I still don't know yet whether this speed system idea will be implemented in the 0.95 release. There is also another thread [here] on controlling speed incrementally.




Quad Core i7 930 CPU o/c 3.8 GHz - 6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - ATI HD 5870 1024Mb - Intel SSD X25-M Gen 2 - Win 7 64-bit
Add Your PC Spec To Your Signature Or Post It Here
 
LordHaHaDate: Friday, 02.09.2011, 21:05 | Message # 3
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 23
Status: Offline
Neat. biggrin
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 03.09.2011, 09:16 | Message # 4
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Okay, all except the second points are in my TODO list.

I wanted to add alternative measurement units some years ago, but still haven't done it yet:) In "spaceship" you can't set "desired" speed due to the physics. I talk about superlight flights. The "speed" that a ship has is defined by starting conditions, hyperdrive properties and flight distance. For example, if you enter superlight mode with physical velocity of 30 km/s relative to starting planet, and your hyper-drive has the ability of "time speedup" of 10^9, your initial speed will be 3*10^10 km/s = 100000 c relative to that planet. In final game physics model, many other parameters will affects "hyperspeed": Local gravitation fields, relative motion from start position to target body, etc.

*





 
apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 11.07.2012, 16:12 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Is there any way to set units to be used in 0.96? I really don't like AUs and Parsecs, preferring Gm/Tm and light years over them (since light years, if you accept 5% inaccuracy, are essentially 10^16 metres).




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 19.08.2012, 20:56 | Message # 6
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
I hate to bring this up again, but will the ability to choose different units be implemented in the next version? Someone suggested it via Facebook and I was curious if it was still a planned feature.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 19.08.2012, 21:56 | Message # 7
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
I planned this for 0.96, but had no time. Maybe it will be implemented in a patch (however, I think there is no patch needed after the 0.9.6.2 stable patch).

*





 
LordHaHaDate: Wednesday, 19.09.2012, 05:41 | Message # 8
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 23
Status: Offline
I'm back! Been awhile but I am really liking 0.96.2. But back to the topic on hand, at least now that it has been reheated a little.

I read in the main development thread that for 0.96.3/0.97 (whatever it is eventually settled upon being) that altitude in the near future is now based on sea level rather than whatever floor you are over presently. Would that increase the probability of dynamic atmospheric (or local, if you want to include underwater escapades) pressure analysis being implemented in the game in a impending revision?

LordHaHa
 
ReconDate: Thursday, 07.11.2013, 16:04 | Message # 9
Observer
Group: Newbies
Australia
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Just noticed this rather old thread. Is there still a plan to allow measurements in lightyears? Does anyone seriously use parsecs? I haven't heard the term used anywhere except hilariously incorrectly in Star Wars. It seems a rather unintuitive unit of measurement since its based on trigonometry, where lightyear appears to have a lot more tangible meaning.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 07.11.2013, 16:37 | Message # 10
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Recon ()
Is there still a plan to allow measurements in lightyears?

Yes

Quote Recon ()
Does anyone seriously use parsecs?

Yes





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
second-ichDate: Friday, 04.04.2014, 08:36 | Message # 11
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
Well, this theard is a bit old but i want to ask is ther now a possibility to display lightyears instead of parsecs? Or will it be implemented in the new version 0.9.7.2 ?

Sorry for my bad English i hope someone can understand this smile
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 04.04.2014, 13:13 | Message # 12
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Unfortunately no, that hasn't been done yet, and probably won't be in the next version. But it will be done eventually!




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 04.04.2014, 13:16 | Message # 13
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote second-ich ()
Or will it be implemented in the new version 0.9.7.2


The displaying of other units of measure has been talked about and will most likely be implemented in a future version. Nobody knows what version that will be, but it probably won't be 0.9.7.2.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
second-ichDate: Friday, 04.04.2014, 16:51 | Message # 14
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Unfortunately no, that hasn't been done yet, and probably won't be in the next version.

Thats a pity sad
But i thank you for your reply.
 
gregorystewartwilliamcoopDate: Saturday, 23.05.2015, 14:54 | Message # 15
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Quote LordHaHa ()
2) Ability add in "custom" speeds at hard-set values. Rationale: if at some point people will be able to add in spaceships to SE, and subsequently be able to fly around in those models, it might be an enjoyable option to be able to designate a speed that fits the universe that the ship hails from, or even before such an option is implemented it might be interesting to people with vivid imaginations...thus you could select a variety of speeds from a menu or via the keyboard that match the speeds of ship types from a given universe. For example, instead of spending 5 min using the +/- keys or mouse wheel to set your speed to exactly 39.00c, you could press a key and set it to "Warp 3" from Star Trek, which is indeed 39c even. Other universes where such a conversion might be possible might include Star Wars and Blake's 7, though there may be others I am not aware of.


I was curious about this too, if it was maybe possible to create a user-defined config file for listing user-specified velocity presets.

As a Trekkie, I'm interested in the distances and velocities used in Star Trek (and curious about how often they're misused and abused, too). Warp 9.9999, the fastest velocity routinely mentioned in the Trek universe - the velocity at which subspace radio signals are apparently sent - sounds extremely fast. In fact, it's quoted in the show's manual as being exactly 199,516c!

So I wondered - how fast is that, exactly? Well, after doing a quick back-of-envelope calculation, I got that someone travelling at that speed would move 199,516 lightyears per year (obviously), or about 0.00623 lightyears per second. OK, that's still really fast, but somehow doesn't sound as much. But given some of the odd unit choices for velocities of different scales in SpaceEngine, I had to convert that again...it comes out to (very nearly) 400AU per sec. Although I couldn't set SE to exactly that speed, close enough showed me...that doesn't really get you far. xD

(Also: 199516 lightyears in 1 year - or 31,536,000 seconds - reduces to 1 lightyear per approx 2mins 40secs. It would still take you about 5 months to cross just our galaxy, and about 11 years to reach Andromeda, not to mention more distant ones. If we ever hope to leave our little corner of the universe, we need to get some bigass engines! :P)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Preset Speeds, Measurement in light-years & Planet read-outs
Page 1 of 212»
Search: