Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 6 of 69«12456786869»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » General suggestions (Post your suggestions here.)
General suggestions
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 03.06.2013, 22:59 | Message # 76
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote (neutronium76)
From what I currently understand SE renders 1st procedural stars, 2nd galaxy and nebula sprites, 3rd catallog stars.

Yes.

Quote (neutronium76)
1st procedural & catalog stars below certain luminosity < 2nd galaxy and nebula sprites < 3rd proc&catalog above certain luminosity.

This wouldn't work. It looks like a bad fake.
The right method is doing a raytracing for each star in the galaxy's 3D dust map. For stars that a inside the nebula, a separate raytracing in its 3D dust map is required. Or, instead of ray-tracing, a cunning multi-pass render method, that I plan to experiment with.

For now, this render order may be a better way:
1) galaxy model
2) catalog stars
3) procedural stars
4) clusters models
5) nebulae models

It is not easy to move catalog star rendering into this order, because stages 1, 3, 4, 5 are integrated in the galaxy's class render method. Catalog stars is a separate entity in the SE. Some trick must be used to make them embedded into galaxy render pipeline. For example, only galaxy named "Milky Way" or have some key in the script would have catalog stars render in it. But then some problems will be with extragalactic catalog stars, like S Doradus in the LMC - it will be incorrectly faded by LMC's dust sprites.





 
VoekoevakaDate: Wednesday, 05.06.2013, 15:30 | Message # 77
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
I'm creating systems for my RPG, and I notice I can make it faster if I generate procedurally new systems with SE, export them and tweak them a bit.
But there's some problems with it : when the system is exported, there an average of 400 asteroids/comets on the file that causes an epic slowness when I load them.

I think an option to export systems without asteroids and comets should be great.





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 05.06.2013, 16:00 | Message # 78
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8712
Status: Online
Quote (Voekoevaka)
But there's some problems with it : when the system is exported, there an average of 400 asteroids/comets on the file that causes an epic slowness when I load them.

Asteroid belts and comet clouds are generated together in the catalog script, so it would take very little time to remove them.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
VoekoevakaDate: Wednesday, 05.06.2013, 16:16 | Message # 79
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
How do you do ?
Notepad++ crashes when I try to close objects on the file.





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 05.06.2013, 16:31 | Message # 80
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8712
Status: Online
Quote (Voekoevaka)
close objects on the file

I don't understand this

After you export the system, just delete all the asteroids and comets from the catalog before putting it back into SE as a catalog system. The asteroids and comets around a star or barycenter are grouped together so they are easy to find and delete.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Thursday, 06.06.2013, 16:01 | Message # 81
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Space Engine simulates atmospheric extinction, is it possible also to simulate refraction? smile

When the Moon is low in the sky, it looks reddish and a little like a rugby ball.





Love Space Engine!


Edited by Fireinthehole - Thursday, 06.06.2013, 16:04
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 06.06.2013, 17:21 | Message # 82
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote (Fireinthehole)
Space Engine simulates atmospheric extinction, is it possible also to simulate refraction?

It is possible, but hard at this stage.





 
Fireinthehole-Date: Thursday, 06.06.2013, 17:52 | Message # 83
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
It is possible, but hard at this stage.

Will it be a feature in future releases of Space Engine? smile





Love Space Engine!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 06.06.2013, 17:55 | Message # 84
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8712
Status: Online
Quote (Fireinthehole)
Will it be a feature in future releases of Space Engine?

Anyway, I should note: as long as SE is a scientifically accurate Universe simulator, then one day it will implement ALL space objects and phenomenon that are known to modern astronomy. So you may not bother yourself with questions like "will SE one day have meteor rain implemented". I guarantee that it WILL.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
VoekoevakaDate: Thursday, 06.06.2013, 20:37 | Message # 85
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
I have read an article about asteroids, and I was surprised to learn that a lot of them are binary or contact binaries.

I think this feature will be easy to implement in Space Engine.





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
Fireinthehole-Date: Thursday, 06.06.2013, 21:06 | Message # 86
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
HarbingerDawn, sorry I must have missed that message. Great though! smile




Love Space Engine!
 
Joey_PenguinDate: Friday, 07.06.2013, 01:53 | Message # 87
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 311
Status: Offline
Quote (Voekoevaka)
I think [Contact binary asteroids] will be easy to implement in Space Engine.


Would this also apply to planets and stars?





Careful. The PLATT Collective has spurs.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 07.06.2013, 05:15 | Message # 88
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8712
Status: Online
Quote (Joey_Penguin)
Would this also apply to planets and stars?

SE already has binary planets and stars. Contact binary stars also technically exist in SE, but to implement them properly requires a lot of work and is not possible right now.

Contact binary planets are impossible.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Joey_PenguinDate: Sunday, 30.06.2013, 03:44 | Message # 89
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 311
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, What would the outcome be if, instead of releasing a huge update with over half a dozen new features once a year, you released smaller, 0.97.1 scale updates once a month or every other month, with one new feature and any bug fixes, like Pioneer Space Sim did?




Careful. The PLATT Collective has spurs.

Edited by Joey_Penguin - Sunday, 30.06.2013, 03:46
 
neutronium76Date: Sunday, 30.06.2013, 12:35 | Message # 90
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
He is already working on SE 0.97.1. Patience young Padawan dry




PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2


Edited by neutronium76 - Sunday, 30.06.2013, 12:36
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » General suggestions (Post your suggestions here.)
Page 6 of 69«12456786869»
Search: