Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » A way to make the camera level with a planet's horizon (Without landing using a key/key combination/console command.)
A way to make the camera level with a planet's horizon
smjjamesDate: Wednesday, 05.09.2012, 15:42 | Message # 1
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Since I like to look around a landing location, I find it a bit clumsy to keep adjusting the rotation so that the horizon isn't all tilted or even upside down when I turn around or something, so I thought maybe add a button to automatically rotate the camera so that the planets horizon is straight.






Edited by smjjames - Friday, 30.11.2012, 20:21
 
Joey_PenguinDate: Sunday, 09.09.2012, 00:55 | Message # 2
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 311
Status: Offline
Perhaps it could turn on and off automatically when you get far enough away from the planet, like with ROTATE.




Careful. The PLATT Collective has spurs.

Edited by Joey_Penguin - Sunday, 09.09.2012, 03:09
 
smjjamesDate: Friday, 30.11.2012, 17:39 | Message # 3
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Since this thread was made before I was made aware of the numlock and the arrow keys on the keypad, here's a modified version of my idea.

Right now, the only way of making the camera level with the planets surface (and the horizon) is to use the land command, so how about a key or key combination that does the same thing with the camera instead of making you land in order to make the camera level when you just want to do that.

To try and clarify a little:

*I'm some kilometers up off the surface of a planet and want to make my camera level with the horizon or the planets surface because it's a spot that would make a cool screenshot*

Right now:
1. press land.
2. camera becomes level, but now you're on the ground.
3. press r to ascend back to where you were.
4. Swivel back to where you wanted to take the screenshot.
5. screenshot!

With my idea for a key or key combination to make the camera level:
1. Press key combination to level the camera.
2. Camera becomes level and you are right where you want to be.
3. screenshot!





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 01.12.2012, 00:10 | Message # 4
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
smjjames, this was asked many times on the forum. Anyway, I have just now added the key for horizon view.




 
smjjamesDate: Saturday, 01.12.2012, 01:46 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
smjjames, this was asked many times on the forum. Anyway, I just now added the key for horizon view.


Oh, awesome. I was also just clarifying what my suggestion was and I didn't realize it was asked that many times.





 
curiousepicDate: Saturday, 01.12.2012, 04:36 | Message # 6
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
United States
Messages: 141
Status: Offline
Aah, thanks so much! That's something that has annoyed me for a long time as well smile




My ideal preferences for visual design of the mothership and technology in SE
Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » A way to make the camera level with a planet's horizon (Without landing using a key/key combination/console command.)
Page 1 of 11
Search: