RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 3123»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Editor questions/issues (Post here your questions/issues about the editor.)
Editor questions/issues
ThobewillDate: Sunday, 15.07.2012, 00:22 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Are there more options available in the planet editor, such as the presence/lack thereof of life, colors, etc? All I can find are terrain options.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 15.07.2012, 00:38 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
You cannot edit colors with the editor interface. You can manually edit the colors in the script once you export it however.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Hasforjs97Date: Sunday, 15.07.2012, 00:38 | Message # 3
Space Pilot
Group: Translators
Spain
Messages: 107
Status: Offline
Well, the editor works, and I can select and edit a planet's surface, but the problem is the following: I wanted to create a black selena, so I looked for one and I started editing the craters, mares and things like that, and lowered the exposure to have a black surface.
Everything was fine until I exported it. I changed the first parameters to set its name and the star it orbits, and when I searched it in-game, it was totally different than the one I was seeing in the editor sad
So maybe I changed some parameters that I didn't have to change or maybe it messed up when I tried to change its mass (I wanted to make a planet with 30 times the Earth's density), or I don't know what happened





My desktop:
Pentium G3260 @ 3.30GHz
8.0 GB DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 5570 1GB
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 15.07.2012, 00:38 | Message # 4
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
You cannot "save" a procedural object for a procedural star (named RS xxx-xxx-...). The only way to use the editor - is making a custom planetary system and edit its objects. After exporting the body's script, you should find it in the cache/export, copy its content and replace with it your custom body's script in data/catalogs/planets.




 
Hasforjs97Date: Sunday, 15.07.2012, 00:38 | Message # 5
Space Pilot
Group: Translators
Spain
Messages: 107
Status: Offline
So I must create all my fictional system with each type of planets, then edit it and save the scripts, OK. But one question, can you edit all the bodies on a system and then export the system, or you must export each planet when you edit it (I mean; edit the 1st planet, export it, then edit the 2nd, etc) ?




My desktop:
Pentium G3260 @ 3.30GHz
8.0 GB DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 5570 1GB


Edited by Hasforjs97 - Thursday, 12.07.2012, 18:43
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 15.07.2012, 00:39 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
After edit, you may close the editor and go to main menu -> editor -> export system. Or just press export button in the editor and tick the "export all system" checkbox if I include in the release (I can't remember and can't see it now, sorry).




 
scavengerDate: Wednesday, 26.09.2012, 14:48 | Message # 7
Space Tourist
Group: Users
France
Messages: 25
Status: Offline
hi

i wonder, is there a solution or a way to smooth the editor's sliders ?
i want to set a particular rotation period for a planet and cannot : it slides from 0 to 0.7 directly, how can I set a 4h rotation period elsewhere than in editing a special cfg file for a particular planet ?

thnks
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 26.09.2012, 15:01 | Message # 8
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Click to the value printing and you will be able to edit it with keyboard.




 
scavengerDate: Friday, 28.09.2012, 00:04 | Message # 9
Space Tourist
Group: Users
France
Messages: 25
Status: Offline
thx

i tried but i obviosly clicked the wrong way, now it's working, but results are not what i expected.
when i look at the sky, nothing's rotating as on earth, whatever plant i choose, when i increase the time. i dunno why, but well, there's another slider to rotate the planet so it's ok ^^
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 28.09.2012, 16:03 | Message # 10
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Maybe I will remove most silders, coz they are not uncomfortably controls. Especially for size, mass and other parameters that may change in a wide range. Simple edit box will be more useful than slider. Or something like controller in Fruity Loops, like joystick. I.e. then you shift slider right, the value start increasing, and more you shift the silder, more faster value will increase.




 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 28.09.2012, 17:31 | Message # 11
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Especially for size, mass and other parameters that may change in a wide range. Simple edit box will be more useful than slider

I agree, that would probably be best. Sliders are more useful for setting the procedural generation values.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 28.09.2012, 19:08 | Message # 12
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
I will maybe make real-time update of textures, but with some limitations. I.e. engine will update only a few textures per frame and only those that are already loaded. Maybe the camera controls will be blocked until all is being updated. This BTW will be a performance test - maybe mainstream PC's can handle dynamic update of a planet, so I will be able to implement dynamic clouds and climate effects on surface textures, or even terramorphing.

*





 
GaxxianDate: Friday, 12.10.2012, 19:38 | Message # 13
Observer
Group: Newbies
Spain
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Hi all, I have a problem with craterDensity.

I wrote at script:

Code
   craterDensity 0.1111111


But in-game shows:



(no craters obviously)
(Ops, and the value of cracksOctaves looks very buggish, too :S)

I tried changing the craterDensity value, but it always comes down to 0 in-game.

Any ideas?

PD1: sorry for my bad english :P

PD2: This is the full code for this planet.

Code
Planet    "Suka'na"
{
      ParentBody      "ZET Tuc"
      Class           "Terra"

      Radius          7140.2
      Mass            1.48
      Oblateness      0.0

      Albedo          0.386
      Color          (0.300, 0.400, 0.500 )

      RotationPeriod  21.6
      RotationOffset  17.9
      RotationEpoch   2451545.0
      Obliquity       16.58
      EqAscendNode    28.16
      Precession      10500
        
      Surface
      {
          BumpHeight      10.0
          BumpOffset      0.0
          DiffMapAlpha   "Water"
          SpecularBright  20.0
          SpecularPower   150.0
          DayAmbient      0.1
          Lommel          0.5
          Exposure        2.0
          Life            true

    Style           0.1600855
    Randomize      (0.761, 0.264, 0.827)
    colorDistMagn   0.09464233
    colorDistFreq   945.9523
    detailScale     42684.58
    colorConversion true
    drivenDarkening -1
    seaLevel        0.3009277
    snowLevel       0.8092518
    tropicLatitude  0.8670503
    icecapLatitude  1
    icecapHeight    0.3133697
    climatePole     1
    climateTropic   0.45
    climateEquator  0.625
    tropicWidth     0.07
    mainFreq        0.8642751
    venusFreq       0.6955331
    venusMagn       0.3008256
    mareFreq        0.9387382
    mareDensity     0.06008458
    erosion         0.3174603
    montesMagn      0.3609584
    montesFreq      340.9121
    montesFraction  0.1157897
    dunesMagn       0.04444444
    dunesFreq       57.8876
    dunesFraction   0.7190395
    hillsMagn       0.1389276
    hillsFreq       553.3618
    hillsFraction   -0.2588589
    hills2Fraction  -0.1954823
    canyonsMagn     0.0492085
    canyonsFreq     79.8297
    canyonFraction  -0.1938368
    cracksMagn      0.07983515
    cracksFreq      0.6574386
    cracksOctaves   0.1   
    craterMagn      2   
    craterFreq      1.140424
    craterDensity   0.1111111
    craterOctaves   1
    craterRayedFactor 0
    cycloneMagn     1.905298
    cycloneFreq     0.7607107
    cycloneDensity  0.04127789
    colorSea       (0.020, 0.050, 0.100, 1.000)
    colorShelf     (0.075, 0.240, 0.200, 1.000)
    colorBeach     (0.050, 0.050, 0.050, 0.000)
    colorDesert    (0.050, 0.050, 0.050, 0.000)
    colorLowland   (0.080, 0.080, 0.080, 0.000)
    colorUpland    (0.120, 0.120, 0.120, 0.000)
    colorRock      (0.020, 0.020, 0.020, 0.000)
    colorSnow      (0.500, 0.500, 0.500, 0.016)
    colorLowPlants (0.100, 0.200, 0.070, 0.000)
    colorUpPlants  (0.090, 0.140, 0.040, 0.000)
   }

      Clouds
      {
          BumpHeight      1.2
          BumpOffset      0.0
          DayAmbient      2.0
          Lommel          0.2
          Exposure        1.8
          Height          3.7  
          Velocity        -45.0
          Color          (0.4, 0.4, 0.4)
          mainFreq        1
          mainOctaves     10
          Coverage        0.1
          twistZones      1.68
          twistMagn       2.53
   }

   Ocean
   {
    Height          3.009521
    DayAmbient      2.0
    Lommel          0.0
    Exposure        2.0
    Color          (1.000, 1.000, 1.000, 1.000)
   }

      Atmosphere
      {
          Model          "Earth"
          Height          80.0
          Pressure        1.2
          Density         1.83
          Greenhouse      38.0
          Bright          10.0
          Opacity         1.0
          SkyLight        1.0
          EclipseBright   250.0
          EclipseColor   (1.000 0.600 0.200)
      }

       Rings
        {
            InnerRadius      18105
            OuterRadius      27560
            RotationPeriod   9.8
            RotationOffset   28.2
            FrontBright      1.2
            BackBright       5.0
            Density          1.0
            Exposure         2.0
        }  

      Orbit
      {
          RefPlane        "Ecliptic"
          Epoch           2451545.0
          Period          0.85
          Eccentricity    0.1281
          Inclination     0.32484
          AscendingNode   32.31051
          SemiMajorAxis   1.163328
          PericenterDist  1.0058813
          ArgOfPericen    -15.7796
          LongOfPericen   308.09011
          MeanAnomaly     348.84963
          MeanLongitude   296.93974
          AscNodePreces   131795.3
          ArgOfPeriPreces 26799.51
      }
}
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 12.10.2012, 21:45 | Message # 14
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
You should use 10-14 crater octaves to be able to see small craters. Just export some selena and look at its code.




 
GaxxianDate: Friday, 12.10.2012, 22:04 | Message # 15
Observer
Group: Newbies
Spain
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Thks for the reply, but I think that I didn't explain well...

At script I write: craterDensity 0.1111111 but ingame appears: craterDensity 0.000 (u can see previous img)
Therefore, no craters are created. None. It isn't problem of a low value at craterOctaves.
If ingame I move the slider to craterDensity 0.111, appears one large crater (which is what I want).

My question is, why the value given at script disappears? :S


Edited by Gaxxian - Friday, 12.10.2012, 22:05
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Editor questions/issues (Post here your questions/issues about the editor.)
Page 1 of 3123»
Search: