Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Is it possible to import spaceships from Celestia?
Is it possible to import spaceships from Celestia?
apenpaapDate: Saturday, 14.07.2012, 21:09 | Message # 1
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Since I mainly tend to use the spaceships for orbiting planets at low altitudes and watch the terrain drift by, I think it would be nice to be able to fly the ISS as a spaceship in SE. Since the ISS is in Celestia, I thought I might just import it, but it turns out Celestia's spaceship models are in a different format (.cmod instead of .sm). Does anyone know how I can turn it into a .sm file and get SE to load it?




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 14.07.2012, 21:56 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Find a method of decompiling the model or open it in 3DS max of you can then just take the model file and export as obj?

I'm pretty new to model stuff but that seems like it should work. At that point though you would have to do all the edits from the tutorial thread on importing it.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 14.07.2012, 23:07 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Well turning a 3DS into CMOD is easy, there is a utility for that. But as far as I know there is no way to convert CMOD to other formats. But there are other, better ISS models out there than the one in Celestia. I would suggest searching the internet for one. I know NASA has a couple of free models for download, though I don't know how much work they would need in order to be very usable in SE. Link: http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/3d_resources/models.html




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Sunday, 15.07.2012, 20:11 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
What about importing models from orbiter? Has anybody looked into it?




PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 15.07.2012, 22:16 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
You can import models from anywhere you like, provided that you have some means of converting said models into .obj format. There is a utility for Orbiter for converting to .3ds if I'm not mistaken, and it should be pretty easy to go from there to .obj. The only exception is that you cannot convert any meshes that have been intentionally scrambled, like the XR2 for example.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Is it possible to import spaceships from Celestia?
Page 1 of 11
Search: