RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Finding planets orbiting a barycenter (Need help with an issue I'm having)
Finding planets orbiting a barycenter
XangiDate: Tuesday, 10.07.2012, 02:06 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
So I can't seem to find any of the planets orbiting a barycenter, only the ones orbiting the starts that create it. For example, I'll fly into a nice little binary system, and see "Planets: 10 (2 with life)" when the barycenter is selected. I then press F2 and only get the stars and maybe 1 or 2 planets, and selecting the stars themselves shows that none of the planets have life. Ami I doing something wrong or what?
 
apenpaapDate: Tuesday, 10.07.2012, 02:39 | Message # 2
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Make sure to check for moons with life too; moons, especially gas giant moons, are often large enough to be Terra or Oceania and can have life just like planets, and are counted just the same. (In fact, in 0.95 moons with life easily outnumbered planets with life. surprised The bug with life appearing on very small worlds has been fixed, though, so this may no longer be the case in 0.96) Check Warm, Temperate, Cool, and Cold (because of greenhouse effect) gas giants and heavy terrestrial planets' moons for life.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
XangiDate: Tuesday, 10.07.2012, 03:25 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Quote (apenpaap)
Make sure to check for moons with life too; moons, especially gas giant moons, are often large enough to be Terra or Oceania and can have life just like planets, and are counted just the same. (In fact, in 0.95 moons with life easily outnumbered planets with life. surprised The bug with life appearing on very small worlds has been fixed, though, so this may no longer be the case in 0.96) Check Warm, Temperate, Cool, and Cold (because of greenhouse effect) gas giants and heavy terrestrial planets' moons for life.


The problem is more that there can be 10 planets initially listed, then the 2 stars have 14 planets each with no life on anything. I'm still investigating ways around this, but I'm really confused as to why the F2 menu doesn't show planets orbiting the barycenter.
 
smjjamesDate: Tuesday, 04.09.2012, 03:47 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
I find them rather common though, no idea if the abundance is intentional or not.




 
SalvoDate: Wednesday, 05.09.2012, 11:41 | Message # 5
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
I think you should press right mouse button on the planet/star that you want to see the orbiting planets and check if the moon of some planet have life smile




The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Wednesday, 05.09.2012, 11:43
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Finding planets orbiting a barycenter (Need help with an issue I'm having)
Page 1 of 11
Search: