RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Some settings aren't saved
Some settings aren't saved
PhilDate: Saturday, 26.05.2012, 20:46 | Message # 1
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United Kingdom
Messages: 39
Status: Offline
Can anyone confirm that some settings aren't saved (or are being reset on start-up) in v0.951 ?
It doesn't happen every single restart, but after starting a handful of times, the settings below
all go back to default:

· ctrl-F4: bloom & star scale
· F7: planets, stars, galaxies and ambient

Thanks


Edited by Phil - Saturday, 26.05.2012, 21:55
 
apenpaapDate: Saturday, 26.05.2012, 22:43 | Message # 2
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
You can permanently change these settings in Main.cfg and User.cfg. wink




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 27.05.2012, 02:24 | Message # 3
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote (Phil)
· ctrl-F4: bloom & star scale

This should save.

Quote (Phil)
· F7: planets, stars, galaxies and ambient

This shouldn't.

*





 
PhilDate: Sunday, 27.05.2012, 08:03 | Message # 4
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United Kingdom
Messages: 39
Status: Offline
Even if I change them in the config file manually, they still get reset eventually.

Vladimir, why wouldn't the magnitude settings be saved?

I'm trying to see a pattern of when these things get reset. I think it might be after SE crashes sometimes, but I'm not sure. For instance, it closed down fine last night, and when I opened SE this morning the star scale and ambient settings had defaulted back, but the others (bloom and magnitude) had been remembered.

I'll keep an eye on it to see if I can spot a reproducible behaviour.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 27.05.2012, 12:47 | Message # 5
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote (Phil)
Vladimir, why wouldn't the magnitude settings be saved?

Big magnitude settings is overwhelming for the engine. If you accidentally save star magnitude +20, at next launch it may lead to OUT_OF_MEMORY and crash. Low magnitude makes space empty. So I see no reason to save this setting.





 
PhilDate: Sunday, 27.05.2012, 15:32 | Message # 6
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United Kingdom
Messages: 39
Status: Offline
Thanks for your reply.

I'm pleased to report that all day today my star magnitude and star scale settings seem to have 'stuck'.
The 'bloom' setting also appears to be remembered. I've no idea why.

The only one that hasn't been remembered today is the ambient setting.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 28.05.2012, 14:48 | Message # 7
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
SE saves settings only if you exit it normally. If it crashes, changes in settings will be lost.




 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Some settings aren't saved
Page 1 of 11
Search: