Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 2 of 3«123»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » PC system requirements to run SpaceEngine (PC compatibility)
PC system requirements to run SpaceEngine
makita12vDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 19:32 | Message # 16
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
I have to admit that I run SE with maxed-out settings@1080p like I was used to do with triple-A games, but never saw 4gb of vram to be the bottleneck before.

Edited by makita12v - Sunday, 25.10.2015, 12:47
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 24.10.2015, 19:46 | Message # 17
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Does it crash often? Not even SpaceEngineer runs the program continually in LOD2.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
CanleskisDate: Tuesday, 27.10.2015, 15:40 | Message # 18
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 117
Status: Offline
Hello, I'll post my question here as recommended by DoctorOfSpace.

I currently have a Phenom II X4 955 and a Radeon 7870 Ghz Edition and I plan to change one of them. So I would like to know what should I change the CPU or the GPU to have a better experience on SE? Those are enough for most of my games but SE has some issues like huge FPS drops etc. so what should I change first to increase my experience on SE?

Thanks happy
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 27.10.2015, 16:14 | Message # 19
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
I would recommend switching to an Nvidia GPU if your goal is better performance in SE. A better CPU will definitely help but I have kept the same AMD processor since 2011 and saw quite a large performance increase from a 5870 to a 760 with far less stuttering and crashing.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
CanleskisDate: Tuesday, 27.10.2015, 17:11 | Message # 20
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 117
Status: Offline
I was thinking the same actually, because in-game my CPU is about 50% used and 45° whereas my GPU is near 65°C and used at almost 90%
I will change my CPU anyway but later because the Phenom blottlenecks my GPU on some games like GTA V (which I don't play a lot), it is stuck at 100% but my GPU is around 60% sad


Edited by Canleskis - Tuesday, 27.10.2015, 17:33
 
kengibson2001Date: Sunday, 14.02.2016, 04:38 | Message # 21
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Got an i5 4690k at 3.5 and r9 270x and on planets fps is slow what is wrong.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 14.02.2016, 05:46 | Message # 22
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote kengibson2001 ()
what is wrong


Hard to say but without more info it might be

Quote kengibson2001 ()
r9 270x





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
RoswellDate: Monday, 15.02.2016, 00:49 | Message # 23
Pioneer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 487
Status: Offline
Hi. I'm new.

I wonder if my computer can run SE with AMD A8-5500 APU with Radeon™ HD Graphics

Video card AMD Radeon HD 7560D, 6 Go of RAM

I hate Radeon item on my computer because I discover the Radeon can't run Easily SE (my favorite game).

Sorry, I didn't install this game because I hesitate to install because of the powerful quality like 4 Go of ram and this game need GTX 980 or more. I want to back to normale like about 2 Go of RAM using by SE game instead of 4 Go of RAM. I'm on W7.


Edited by Roswell - Monday, 15.02.2016, 00:53
 
makita12vDate: Sunday, 03.07.2016, 09:19 | Message # 24
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
I want to take up this thread again.
Yesterday I did a sidegrade to an AMD RX480 graphics card from my Nvidia GTX 980 because of the 8GB video ram. (I constantly ran into memory limit before)
Cannot say I am happy with it.
Video ram usage now tops at 6GB but performance is terrible.
Massive stuttering despite average gpu utilization while both cards are quite close to each other in terms of general performance.
I guess there is no way around Nvidia when you want to enjoy Space Engine in decent quality?


Edited by makita12v - Sunday, 03.07.2016, 09:22
 
JeansowatyDate: Tuesday, 05.07.2016, 17:40 | Message # 25
Observer
Group: Newbies
Poland
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
'Sup. Another noob over here... sorry for posting in this topic, maybe I should do it somewhere else, but I really adore this engine and would love to try it. The only thing that's keeping me away from it is that I'm afraid it could BSOD my PC :P my specs are:

CPU - AMD Athlon 7750 Dual-Core 2.71 GHz
RAM - 3,25GB
VC - GeForce 9600
vRAM - 512 MB

I bet it's gonna lag pretty bad, but will it even work at least? surprised


Edited by Jeansowaty - Tuesday, 05.07.2016, 17:42
 
JadestarDate: Friday, 08.07.2016, 06:17 | Message # 26
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 70
Status: Offline
I just got my AMD RX480. I really hope Space Engine is optimized to take full advantage of this VR-ready card.
 
SalvoDate: Friday, 08.07.2016, 06:41 | Message # 27
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote makita12v ()
I did a sidegrade to an AMD RX480 graphics card from my Nvidia GTX 980 because of the 8GB video ram

Do you still have your RX480? If yes could you do a sort of crossfire? (or simply being able to switch from one to another)

Actually, we don't know what's the best card to play SE, it could also be a software problem (an optimization that doesn't work in every case, for example, I had these kind of problems with my R9 270 and I kind of fixed them using additional software).





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Friday, 08.07.2016, 06:41
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 08.07.2016, 07:17 | Message # 28
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote Jadestar ()
I really hope Space Engine is optimized to take full advantage of this VR-ready card.


It's not.

Game should run fine for the most part though.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
MosfetDate: Friday, 08.07.2016, 08:27 | Message # 29
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 713
Status: Offline
Jeansowaty, your PC doesn't meet minimum specifications for SE.
With that said, it could start If you have windows 7.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
makita12vDate: Saturday, 09.07.2016, 10:11 | Message # 30
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
Do you still have your RX480? If yes could you do a sort of crossfire? (or simply being able to switch from one to another)

Actually, we don't know what's the best card to play SE, it could also be a software problem (an optimization that doesn't work in every case, for example, I had these kind of problems with my R9 270 and I kind of fixed them using additional software).


I've returned the RX480.
mainly because of the rattling noise coming from the fan, but powergate did the last thing.
Now waiting for the nvidia 1060 but I'm a little sceptical because of the small memory bus.
memory bandwith seems to be very important for SE.


Edited by makita12v - Saturday, 09.07.2016, 10:12
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » PC system requirements to run SpaceEngine (PC compatibility)
Page 2 of 3«123»
Search: