RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Downloaded hi-res textures look terrible on my PC (Texture data-set of Earth, Moon, Mars, Jupiter and its moons)
Downloaded hi-res textures look terrible on my PC
RectalsoupDate: Monday, 02.04.2012, 10:31 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
I downloaded all of the improved textures and bump maps for Earth, Mars, Moon, and Jupiters Moons and they all still look terrible like before I put them in. I turned my LOD settings all the way down to -2 and turned off Fast Landscape Loading and still nothing. I have an i7 2600 3.4 GHz with 12gb ddr3 and an ATI 5850 1GB. My games textures will not load. I've seen video's on youtube that have rediculously high levels of detail and mine are complete garbage compared to them. If there is any information you need just ask and I will post the info. Here are some screenshots of what Earth and Mars look like with the Improved bump maps and textures intalled from the official mods and addons thread:






Moderator edit: how to show images.

Attachments: 5388507.jpg(303Kb) · 4962772.jpg(165Kb) · 7032253.jpg(540Kb) · 3655277.jpg(136Kb)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 02.04.2012, 12:27 | Message # 2
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Mars looks ok, but Earth does not load textures for some reason. In which folder did you extract the archive? Earth bump (folders neg_x, neg_y, etc) should go to 'data/textures/planets/earth/bump' and the Earth surface texture should go to 'data/textures/planets/earth/surface'. Also, send me your 'se.log' file after you've flown near to Earth.

Don't expect the level of detail to be as procedural planets - Mars and other real planet textures have details only up to 300 meters per pixel.

*





 
RectalsoupDate: Monday, 02.04.2012, 21:19 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Mars looks ok, but Earth does not load textures for some reason. In which folder did you extract the archive? Earth bump (folders neg_x, neg_y, etc) should go to 'data/textures/planets/earth/bump' and the Earth surface texture should go to 'data/textures/planets/earth/surface'. Also, send me your 'se.log' file after you've flown near to Earth.

Don't expect the level of detail to be as procedural planets - Mars and other real planet textures have details only up to 300 meters per pixel.


I am very sure that I put the files in the correct location, the first time I just copied the files over to the folders with the original files still in the folders but the textures still didnt load so then I deleted the original files and put just the new earth and mars folders in the specified locations. I am also wondering, is there any way to increase the total detail of the procedural planets? One of the videos on youtube caught my attention and I realized mine didn't look like that.
Here is the video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYGDiZoD1gs

Edit: Oh and one other thing. Are the gas giants suppose to have flat bump maps? Whenever I go into a gas giant its always just flat.

Edit 2: Also, are galaxies suppose to look like this or are they suppose to have more detail?

Attachments: 1861808.log(25Kb) · 8156002.jpg(92Kb)


Edited by Rectalsoup - Tuesday, 03.04.2012, 03:21
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 03.04.2012, 16:57 | Message # 4
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Rectalsoup, can you make a screenshots showing the contents of data/textures/planets/earth folder and its subfolders, up to nex_x for example? They should contain the files called 0_0_0.png, 1_0_0.png, and so, up to 6_63_63.png. Also, attach an data\catalogs\planets\SolarSys.sc file. Did you try to approach the Earth closer?

Quote (Rectalsoup)
I am also wondering, is there any way to increase the total detail of the procedural planets?

They already have maximum supported level of detail. Increasing of it requires significant change in code, simple editing of config just makes artifacts. The limit is reached, and it is related to floating point number precsion.
BTW that video shows normal level of detail. Does yours have worse? Which LOD did you use and did you disable the Fast landscape loading (in Ctrl-F4 menu)?

Quote (Rectalsoup)
Edit: Oh and one other thing. Are the gas giants suppose to have flat bump maps? Whenever I go into a gas giant its always just flat.

Gas giants have no surface, just 3 cloud layers and thick atmosphere. They're not developed for landing.

Quote (Rectalsoup)
Edit 2: Also, are galaxies suppose to look like this or are they suppose to have more detail?

Yes, the galaxies look as they should.





 
RectalsoupDate: Tuesday, 03.04.2012, 17:28 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Rectalsoup, can you make a screenshots showing the contents of data/textures/planets/earth folder and its subfolders, uo to nex_x for example? They should contain the files called 0_0_0.png, 1_0_0.png, and so, up to 6_63_63.png. Also, attach an data\catalogs\planets\SolarSys.sc file. Did you try approach the Earth closer?


Okay, here are the screenshots you asked for. I have approached earth from many directions and have went into the atmosphere many times and it's the same.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
They already have maximum supported level of detail. Increasing of it requires significant change in code, simple editing of config just makes artifacts. The limit is reached, and it is related to floating point number precsion.
BTW that video shows normal level of detail. Does yours have worse? Which LOD did you use and did you disable the Fast landscape loading (in Ctrl-F4 menu)?


I looked at it again and I do have a little worse but its but by a great deal. I use 0 LOD and I have Fast Landscape Loading turned off. What LOD do you think my game would be able to run at with my computer specs (i7 2600 3.4GHz, 12gb ddr3, ati 5850 1gb)? Also, is it good to have Compressed Textures turned on or off and how does it affect the game?

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Gas giants have no surface, just 3 cloud layers and thick atmosphere. They're not developed for landing.


Are there any plans of implementing it so that gas giants have actually land? Thats something that would be pretty cool.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Yes, the galaxies look as they should.


Alright.

Edit: Also, what is the option "Difraction Spikes" used for? Mine is set to normal. What would super do?

Attachments: SolarSys.sc(39Kb) · 6957065.jpg(305Kb) · 8140106.png(143Kb) · 4592704.png(133Kb) · 8957724.png(340Kb) · 5817598.png(415Kb)


Edited by Rectalsoup - Tuesday, 03.04.2012, 17:33
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 03.04.2012, 20:53 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
The bump and the surface forders should contain these subfolders:
neg_x
neg_y
neg_z
pos_x
pos_y
pos_z
You have downloaded one archive, but forgot about the second! Bump and surface are distributed in two archives each (because zip supports up to 2 Gb size only).

Quote (Rectalsoup)
What LOD do you think my game would be able to run at with my computer specs (i7 2600 3.4GHz, 12gb ddr3, ati 5850 1gb)?

Up to LOD 0, using LOD -2 you will have faster textures generation, but lower level of detail.

Quote (Rectalsoup)
Also, is it good to have Compressed Textures turned on or off and how does it affect the game?

It affects only the Solar system planets - some economy of video memory.

Quote (Rectalsoup)
Are there any plans of implementing it so that gas giants have actually land? Thats something that would be pretty cool.

Gas giants have no surface in reality smile They're just big balls of hydrogen and helium gas, which smoothly becomes liquid and solid as you dive deeper.

Quote (Rectalsoup)
Edit: Also, what is the option "Difraction Spikes" used for? Mine is set to normal. What would super do?

Diffraction spikes is a six ray corona, visible around the sun. "Super" mode performs accurate per-pixel calculation of corona when sun partially occluded by something; mountains for example. It works only if the sun image is big enough, otherwise it works as "Normal" mode - occlusion computed only for the sun's center. "Super" mode is not complete yet, as the corona may blink as the sun moves across the screen.

*





 
RectalsoupDate: Tuesday, 03.04.2012, 21:34 | Message # 7
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Gas giants have no surface in reality smile They're just big balls of hydrogen and helium gas, which smoothly becomes liquid and solid as you dive deeper.


Gas giants do have solid cores though don't they?


Edited by Rectalsoup - Tuesday, 03.04.2012, 21:35
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 04.04.2012, 11:45 | Message # 8
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Anyway you will not see anything there. The pressure near the core is some millions of atmospheres, density is greater than rock - light will be absorbed or scattered out at few millimeters. And words "solid" or "liquid" is not suitable here - the interior of a gas giant is made of metalic hydrogen, something similar to cold plasma.

*





 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Downloaded hi-res textures look terrible on my PC (Texture data-set of Earth, Moon, Mars, Jupiter and its moons)
Page 1 of 11
Search: