Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Missing Textures, Surfaces and Spikiness
Missing Textures, Surfaces and Spikiness
ThreedeeDate: Tuesday, 07.02.2012, 19:12 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Hello!

I just got SE yesterday. Running it on my laptop, I immediately encountered a strange occurrence (attached):

This is my first time posting, so forgive me if I did not attach the file correctly...

This seems to be a driver or GPU error, judging by the looks of it. Running non-procedural planets (such as Earth), the textures generate as normal; however, the surfaces stay completely flat and the atmosphere looks disjointed from space and the planet, as if it is a separate 3-d layer rather than a "buffer zone" between the planet and space.

My specs are:

XPS L502X
-nVidia GT 540M 1GB cache
-8GB DDR3 RAM
-Intel i7 2.4 gHz Quad-Core

Any help would be greatly appreciated! SpaceEngine is turning out to be a fantastic project and I can't wait to see where it goes!

Attachments: 9575324.jpg(254Kb)
 
MannaroThePatientDate: Tuesday, 07.02.2012, 19:26 | Message # 2
Observer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 16
Status: Offline
Hmm thats remind me an old driver problem I had with a game time ago.

Just to be sure: this issue happens on ANY procedural planet you encontered? Star also have a procedural surface.

Are your grapic drivers up to date and Space Engine version is lastest (0.95.1)?





PC: Intel i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 980Ti (6GB VRAM), Windows 10 PRO 64.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 07.02.2012, 20:41 | Message # 3
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Threedee, attach a se.log file please.




 
anonymousgamerDate: Wednesday, 08.02.2012, 02:10 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
This is not a problem at all. It just got hit by the Death Star.

....jk lol





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
ThreedeeDate: Wednesday, 08.02.2012, 19:20 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Quote (MannaroThePatient)
Just to be sure: this issue happens on ANY procedural planet you encontered? Star also have a procedural surface.

Are your grapic drivers up to date and Space Engine version is lastest (0.95.1)?


I was running the engine again, and to answer your question, this error only seems to happen on planets with surfaces, e.g. terra or selena planets. For instance, the planet I posted was, I believe, an oceania (or perhaps a high-water-volume terra) with life.

I have updated Space Engine to the latest version; however, my laptopt did recently suffer a crash which forced me to restore to a previous restore point on my OS. I will check if my driver has malfunctioned because of it. (In hindsight, I should have done that in the first place dry )

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Threedee, attach a se.log file please.



Sorry about that. Attached, and thanks for helping me out!

Quote (anonymousgamer)
This is not a problem at all. It just got hit by the Death Star


Oh, really? Must have been a hidden update, then. tongue

Attachments: 2348855.log(241Kb)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 08.02.2012, 19:47 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Threedee, you have incompatible graphics gard (Intel HD). The driver is not supporting the used memory detection feature, you should fix it by following paragraph 6-b here. Also, your graphics card dos not support the required framebuffer texture format, so procedural planets will not work properly. You may try to visit real planets (Earth, Mars, ...), because they don't use procedural textures generation.

*





 
ThreedeeDate: Wednesday, 08.02.2012, 20:17 | Message # 7
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
I updated my GPU driver. In the driver's documentation (nVidia Verde 258.62 WHQL driver) it specifically stated that support for OpenGL 4.2 was included within the driver (I assumed that OpenGL was an issue due to the error messages and the problem with the FrameBuffer method/textures); yet, looking back at the se.log after starting Space Engine up again and still seeing the same problem, I noticed that my OpenGL version was stated as "Version: 3.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2455".

Is there any way to specifically force an update on OpenGL, since the nVidia driver apparently did not work? Or is my video card simply incompatible with later versions of OpenGL?

It just seems strange that my OpenGL version remains (at least in Space Engine's eyes) a version previous to what the nVidia driver stated it to be. Using a laptop, is it essential for me to search the manufacturer's website in order to obtain an OpenGL driver/update?

Thanks for all the help! I really appreciate it!


Edited by Threedee - Thursday, 09.02.2012, 07:56
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Missing Textures, Surfaces and Spikiness
Page 1 of 11
Search: