Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 5 of 22«12345672122»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 30.07.2016, 13:34 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • First of all, make sure you updated your video card drivers. This may solve 99% of all issues.
  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help us to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing graphics card-specific issues

    If you do not know which graphics card (chip) do you have, open the system/se.log file in the text editor and read the Vendor information in the beginning:

    INITIALIZING OPENGL
    [MT] Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.


    Then look for a solution for you:

    Nvidia: Major lag spikes


    Intel HD: Glitchy landscape and textures on planets


    Intel HD: Red clouds on Earth


    Intel HD: Black screen




    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers


    2) Weak system


    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)


    4) Artifacts on procedural planets


    5) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface


    6) Blurry textures on Solar system planets


    7) Problems with very high resolution displays




    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:


    Real bugs:





  •  
    simonecinque1992Date: Thursday, 04.08.2016, 22:25 | Message # 61
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 470
    Status: Offline
    Mosfet, Windows 10 Pro




    My Mods and Addons

    Packard Bell
    Windows 10 Pro
    Intel® Celeron® CPU 1000M @ 1.80GHz 1.80 GHz
    4 GB
    64 bit Operative System


    Edited by simonecinque1992 - Friday, 05.08.2016, 08:15
     
    ViktorDate: Thursday, 04.08.2016, 22:29 | Message # 62
    Space Tourist
    Group: Users
    Czech Republic
    Messages: 32
    Status: Offline
    So i managed to figure out the cause of the blinking stars as you can see in my video here: https://youtu.be/on0ZyPrsWG4?t=1m5s
    The reason why it was happening was because in graphic setting, in point sources section i had set motion blur for planets. So i set it to sprites which fixed the problem.
    However, the problem with disappearing star for a little while when it's trying to switch from point to object as i'm approaching it, as you can see in my video here: https://youtu.be/on0ZyPrsWG4?t=57s , that problem i wasn't able to fix, no matter what i set in graphic setting. The star always disappear for a while like that when i approach it to such distance when it changes from point to object.
    And the problem with disappearing galaxy, as you can see here: https://youtu.be/on0ZyPrsWG4?t=3m53s , i managed to fix it by decreasing the ship warp quality to low
    So certainly these setting i mentioned above are kinda glitched i guess.

    Well, now how to fix the disappearing star problem? If i manage to fix that, my Space Engine will look perfect again.
     
    ViktorDate: Thursday, 04.08.2016, 22:30 | Message # 63
    Space Tourist
    Group: Users
    Czech Republic
    Messages: 32
    Status: Offline
    Quote SpaceEngineer ()
    This is normal behaviour of the program. This is not a bugs, but kinda limitation, or how program works. Just ignore them until better algorithm being implemented.

    I see. Thanks for reply.

    Edit: But i believe the disappearing star wasn't happening in earlier versions. Or was it?


    Edited by Viktor - Thursday, 04.08.2016, 22:32
     
    BotchedDate: Thursday, 04.08.2016, 23:39 | Message # 64
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    Hi all, I am having trouble running SE 0.9.8.0 on Wine. It shows the splash for a few seconds, but crashes before it even starts loading anything. Also had the problem with SE 0.9.7.3, however 0.9.7.2 runs fine. I am dual booting with Windows 8 and while SE crashed there as well, it runs fine if I run it as administrator.
    I thought this might have something to do with the access privileges of the installation directory, but I checked and I have both read and write permissions across the subdirectory tree.
    I will only try running Wine with root privileges as a last resort as I've heard that can create problems of its own.

    Granted, my system is very weak, but if SE runs on Windows, hardware is not the problem and therefore should run on Linux too.
    CPU: AMD A6-5200 APU with Radeon™ HD Graphics (Quad Core)
    RAM: 6GB
    GPU: AMD Radeon HD 8400 / R3 Series (512 MB)

    I have the latest version of fglrx (Catalyst driver for Linux, 15.12) installed; my Windows driver is even older.
    I've made the following changes to main-def.cfg and main-user.cfg (I've made them identical):
    Code

    Memory
    {
        VideoMemoryStrategy     0       // strategy of video memory usage: 0 - limited by VideoMemoryMinSize, 1 - limited by max(physical size, VideoMemoryMinSize)
        VideoMemorySize         512  // minimum size of video memory (Mb) to use
        VideoMemoryReserved     50  // video memory reserved for OS (Mb)
        CacheSizeLandNode       12000    // limit on the number of terrain nodes in the memory (0 for auto, at least 2100 for LOD 0, 19000 for LOD 2)
        CacheSizeStarNode       21000    // limit on the number of star    nodes in the memory (0 for auto, at least 20000 for central regions of the galaxy)
        CacheSizeGalNode        10000    // limit on the number of galaxy  nodes in the memory (0 for auto, at least 10000 for dense regions of the Universe)
        CacheSizeGalModels      20  // limit on the number of galaxy subsystem models in the memory
        CacheSizeGalModelsVRAM  32  // minimum size of video memory (Mb) to use by galaxy models
        CacheSizeNebModelsVRAM  32  // minimum size of video memory (Mb) to use by nebula models
        CacheSizeAtmoModels     0  // limit on the number of atmosphere models in the memory (0 for auto)
    }
    Display
    {
        WindowSizeX             1920    // window width
        WindowSizeY             1200    // window height
        WindowPosX              0  // window x position
        WindowPosY              0  // window y position
        Maximized               true    // start with a maximized window
        FullScreen              2  // 0 - windowed mode, 1 - fullscreen window mode, 2 - hardware fullscreen mode
        ScreenResX              1366    // screen resolution (width)  in the hardware fullscreen mode
        ScreenResY              768    // screen resolution (height) in the hardware fullscreen mode
        RefreshRate             60  // refresh frequency in the fullscreen mode
        AspectRatio             1  // aspect ratio for displays with non-square pixels
    }


    My se.log file is attached and here is the Wine crash report:


    It's too much trouble having to boot Windows every time I want to use SE and would really prefer to fix this issue with Wine.
    Any help is appreciated!

    Attachments: 6730999.log(9Kb)
     
    valexmckindleDate: Friday, 05.08.2016, 02:51 | Message # 65
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 3
    Status: Offline
    Crashing on startup
    Attachments: 3217670.log(41Kb)


    Edited by valexmckindle - Friday, 05.08.2016, 02:59
     
    Spitfire7Date: Friday, 05.08.2016, 06:10 | Message # 66
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 45
    Status: Offline
    Hello all SE developers. I posted my issue on the second page, but forgot to add the log. Please have a look and see what you can find. Everything else seems to be working fine, but on all planets that have an atmosphere, all mountain ranges and terrain textures are semi transparent. Being very far away they are completely transparent and you can see the sea level horizon behind the mountain and the closer I get to the mount the more opaque the mountain becomes. When I am literally planted onto the surface of the mountain it is completely solid opaque. It is this way for all planets that have an atmosphere. Selena planets don't have this issue and Selenas have a solid opaque surface at any distance. See pics on the atmosphere transparent planet textures and log file. Thank you.

    See more pics in the attachments.




    Oh and if it helps, here are my computer specs.

    Windows 7
    Intel i7-4790k
    8GB Ram
    Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+ 4GB VRAM
    2TB WD HD

    Attachments: 7419760.jpg(64Kb) · 6742360.jpg(70Kb) · 5860030.jpg(16Kb) · 3927943.jpg(17Kb) · 7132467.log(190Kb)


    Edited by Spitfire7 - Friday, 05.08.2016, 09:48
     
    JackDoleDate: Friday, 05.08.2016, 08:26 | Message # 67
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1734
    Status: Offline
    Quote valexmckindle ()
    Crashing on startup

    valexmckindle,
    you could try to upgrade your graphics card driver.





    Don't forget to look here.

     
    MosfetDate: Friday, 05.08.2016, 08:39 | Message # 68
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 718
    Status: Offline
    Botched, valexmckindle, I see you have 512MB dedicated Video RAM which is less than 1GB minimum system requirement for latest versions of SE, see also the topmost post on this thread.

    This could also explain in the Wine log what is seems to be a RAM access memory error.





    "Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
    Douglas N. Adams
    My mods
    Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
     
    7NIaLDate: Friday, 05.08.2016, 11:35 | Message # 69
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 1
    Status: Offline
    Hi, I tried running 0.9.8 on Wine, but the game crashes as soon as I click Planetarium

    Wine log looks like this:

    Code

    wine: Unhandled page fault on read access to 0x00000000 at address (nil) (thread 0009), starting debugger...
    Unhandled exception: page fault on read access to 0x00000000 in 32-bit code (0x00000000).
    Register dump:
    CS:0023 SS:002b DS:002b ES:002b FS:0063 GS:006b
    EIP:00000000 ESP:0032f97c EBP:0032fd04 EFLAGS:00010206(  R- --  I   - -P- )
    EAX:7c5a8f20 EBX:00000000 ECX:0032f980 EDX:00000502
    ESI:00005474 EDI:00204b8c
    Stack dump:
    0x0032f97c:  0053fe3a ffffffff 007f7610 00204ad4
    0x0032f98c:  00636baf 008618a0 00000000 00000000
    0x0032f99c:  0032fbf0 0101df14 01000000 44fb0000
    0x0032f9ac:  00000000 3f800000 3ff00000 00000000
    0x0032f9bc:  3f7fff85 4292aa58 3f800000 8b638e9c
    0x0032f9cc:  40b1e367 7c5a8f20 0464b1c0 00000000
    Backtrace:
    =>0 0x00000000 (0x0032fd04)
      1 0x00535d03 in spaceengine (+0x135d02) (0x0032fd30)
      2 0x00535a86 in spaceengine (+0x135a85) (0x0032fd4c)
      3 0x00714f0c in spaceengine (+0x314f0b) (0x0032fd68)
      4 0x007337e8 in spaceengine (+0x3337e7) (0x0032fde4)
      5 0x0047c761 in spaceengine (+0x7c760) (0x0032fe30)
      6 0x7b45f2b2 call_process_entry+0x11() in kernel32 (0x0032fe48)
      7 0x7b460468 in kernel32 (+0x40467) (0x0032fe88)
      8 0x7bc830ec call_thread_func_wrapper+0xb() in ntdll (0x0032feb8)
      9 0x7bc85dcd call_thread_func+0xac() in ntdll (0x0032ffb8)
      10 0x7bc830ca RtlRaiseException+0x21() in ntdll (0x0032ffb8)
      11 0x7bc584c4 in ntdll (+0x484c3) (0x00000000)
      12 0xf75d500d wine_call_on_stack+0x1c() in libwine.so.1 (0x00000000)
      13 0xf75d5110 wine_switch_to_stack+0x1f() in libwine.so.1 (0xffd97cb8)
      14 0x7bc5c226 LdrInitializeThunk+0x245() in ntdll (0xffd97cb8)
      15 0x7b46645f __wine_kernel_init+0xa5e() in kernel32 (0xffd98ba8)
      16 0x7bc5d106 __wine_process_init+0x155() in ntdll (0x7bd064a0)
      17 0xf75d3371 wine_init+0x2c0() in libwine.so.1 (0xffd98ca0)
      18 0x7c000d3a main+0x79() in <wine-loader> (0xffd990b8)
      19 0xf7410596 __libc_start_main+0xf5() in libc.so.6 (0x00000000)
    0x00000000: -- no code accessible --
    Modules:


    Last few lines of se.log:

    Code

    [MT] Loading  sound "data/music/AstroPilot - Inverted Worlds.ogg"
    [MT] Entering planetarium
    [MT] Loading planetarium (0): Reading user position from config
    [MT] Loading script "config/save-user.cfg"
    [MT] Creating planetary system of star "RS 8474-914-6-200691-117"
    [MT] Loading planetarium (1): Loading nearby galaxies
    [MT] Loading  model "cache/models/galaxies/LMC.gm"
    [MT] Loading  image "data/textures/galaxies/GalaxiesTex0980.pak/LMC_small.png"
    [MT] Loading  image "data/textures/galaxies/GalaxiesTex0980.pak/LMC_sys.jpg"
    [MT] Loading planetarium (2): Loading spacecraft


    Hardware:

    CPU: Intel 6700K
    GPU: AMD R9 390 with amdgpu driver and mesa radeonsi
    Wine version: 1.9.15 with staging patches
     
    BotchedDate: Friday, 05.08.2016, 13:39 | Message # 70
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    Quote Mosfet ()
    Botched, valexmckindle, I see you have 512MB dedicated Video RAM which is less than 1GB minimum system requirement for latest versions of SE, see also the topmost post on this thread.

    This could also explain in the Wine log what is seems to be a RAM access memory error.


    As mentioned in my post, it works on Windows, although as administrator only. And I haven't yet had any crashes ingame there.
     
    valexmckindleDate: Friday, 05.08.2016, 20:42 | Message # 71
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 3
    Status: Offline
    i put my better graphics card in now it has 2 Gb of its own ram but still wont work
    Attachments: 6101103.log(41Kb)
     
    JackDoleDate: Friday, 05.08.2016, 21:30 | Message # 72
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1734
    Status: Offline
    Quote valexmckindle ()
    i put my better graphics card in now it has 2 Gb of its own ram but still wont work

    But your driver is quite old!



    And delete the folder 'cache' in the 'SpaceEngine' directory!





    Don't forget to look here.



    Edited by JackDole - Friday, 05.08.2016, 21:38
     
    Flandre-SDMDate: Friday, 05.08.2016, 21:46 | Message # 73
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    United States
    Messages: 8
    Status: Offline
    I was wonder if I'm the only one experiencing these computer freezing/partial blue screen of death when using Space Engine 9.8. This happens at around 3-5 minutes of use, simply just flying around and exploring, and I'm not sure why. I did use a blue screen viewer, and the type of error I get is, "non page fault in nonpaged area". I haven't had this anywhere else but only when using Space Engine. If anyone can suggest something, I'd really be grateful. It seems I can't use Space Engine when this constantly occurs.

    (I am in windows 10, and if you're wondering, my specs are sufficient. 980/16GB ram/I7 3770k)


    Edited by Flandre-SDM - Friday, 05.08.2016, 21:48
     
    valexmckindleDate: Friday, 05.08.2016, 23:43 | Message # 74
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 3
    Status: Offline
    It works now i just had to change a few things and its good :3 and the graphics card i put in is a Radeon HD 6670 with 2GB DDR3 Ram
     
    Spitfire7Date: Saturday, 06.08.2016, 10:18 | Message # 75
    Astronaut
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 45
    Status: Offline
    @Mosfet and JackDole, can you have a look at my issue up above when you get the chance please?

    Side note, a cool screen shot of something really really cool that I just took while I wait.

     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0
    Page 5 of 22«12345672122»
    Search: