Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Where's my MPEG4?
Where's my MPEG4?
OrladanDate: Friday, 03.04.2015, 06:49 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Hello.

When I first installed the program, one of the video capture options was for MPEG4. The actual name was a bit longer (I don't remember what it was called) but it saved video in the MPEG4 format.

I then upgraded to WIN 7 64 bit and re-installed SE. Now, my MPEG4 option is missing and I really miss it and all the other options are not very good IMO. Cinepak does a decent job quality wise but is REALLY, REALLY slow. So slow that I can't do any videos that require moving the camera. I can use Uncompressed and convert it to a MPEG4 but only as long as I restrict my video capture to a few seconds. Otherwise, I get problems with it.

All the other video options are less then ideal. The MPEG4 gave me a good picture quality and allowed me move the camera while recording.

So, anyone have any ideas what happened to my MPEG4?

TL;DR : I used to have MPEG4 as a video option. I upgraded my OS to 64 bit and re-installed SE and now my MPEG4 option is missing. Where is it?
 
QuontexDate: Friday, 03.04.2015, 08:42 | Message # 2
Explorer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 155
Status: Offline
Try installing a codec pack, I believe SE uses available codecs from the PC. I recommend looking for the original program/site as some site have different variants of the same codec.

If you can't find the original file then I recommend either K-lite or CCCP. If you have installed one you shouldn't need the other.





 
OrladanDate: Friday, 03.04.2015, 18:10 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Thank you for your reply but sadly it did not help. I tried both packages and neither one gave me a MPEG4 option. Also, one of them (I suspect K-Lite) installed some malware on my computer.
 
RockoRocksDate: Friday, 03.04.2015, 20:52 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
Quote Orladan ()
Also, one of them (I suspect K-Lite) installed some malware on my computer.

That's probably because you installed it using a download.cnet.com bundled installer, which may have installed malicious software on your system....





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Where's my MPEG4?
Page 1 of 11
Search: