Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » "Red Earth" graphic issue on update?
"Red Earth" graphic issue on update?
gregorystewartwilliamcoopDate: Friday, 16.01.2015, 02:25 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
So, I updated from v0.9.7.1b - which worked fine - to v0.9.7.2b, and suddenly the Earth looks like this:



I have no idea why all the lighting on Earth has suddenly turned blood red, but it looks really disturbing somehow. Any idea what I might have done accidentally to make it look this way, and how can I set Earth back to looking normal? I've tried fiddling with a few of the settings, but I'm not sure it was a mistaken setting-change that caused it in the first place...


Edited by gregorystewartwilliamcoop - Friday, 16.01.2015, 02:25
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 16.01.2015, 03:23 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
gregorystewartwilliamcoop, please read the forum rules before posting.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
the_nerervarineDate: Friday, 16.01.2015, 07:23 | Message # 3
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
I ran into this issue too, but I caused it myself when I was optimizing the .cfg files and I forgot what line or lines I altered at this point but I believe it is either because you're Vram is set to low (SE loses stability with anything below 1024mb of vram) or it was because I was experimenting with the TR float point on imposters when trying to improve the performance with vapor trails. I'll look further into this and see if I can't find the fix for this again.




AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
apenpaapDate: Friday, 16.01.2015, 10:15 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Try deleting the cache folder, that might help.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 16.01.2015, 11:52 | Message # 5
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
The red clouds issue is caused by unsupporting or wrong working of the GL_ARB_texture_swizzle extension. This extension allows to swap or duplicate channels in the texture. For example, grayscale texture of Earth's clouds is loaded as R texture (only red channel), but using this functionality gets interpreted as RGBA texture (R channel is duplicated in G, B, A channels)

Check if GL_ARB_texture_swizzle is present in se.log (a list after "Extensions:"). If it is not present, try to update you graphics driver. I encountered the driver bug on Intel HD 2000 card, the extension was present, but Earth clouds still looks red, like if extension does not work.

BTW I can't return the old method of using grayscale textures (luminance texture type), because it is obsolete and was removed from OpenGL 3.3 core.





 
the_nerervarineDate: Friday, 16.01.2015, 15:24 | Message # 6
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Are you using fast landscape loading? Because I just remembered that is what was causing me to have a red Earth and a REALLY red Mars.




AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » "Red Earth" graphic issue on update?
Page 1 of 11
Search: