RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Performance Configuration for weak system's (Nebula Boost)
Performance Configuration for weak system's (Nebula Boost)
the_nerervarineDate: Wednesday, 14.01.2015, 06:51 | Message # 1
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Over the past few weeks I've been loving the newest version of Space Engine. Unfortunately I am one of the users who is stuck with a weak laptop right now with a Intel HD 4000. Well through much tinkering with the Main and User configs I have boosted performance quiet a bit with little to no sacrifice when it comes to the fantastic visuals that Space Engine is known for. Anyway I hope this helps a lot of you. Includes all the bug fixes for Intel HD systems as well. Just copy paste these in the respective .cfg files.

Edit- I just refined this even further and I got rid of my user.cfg presets as they really don't do much compared to the main.cfg tweaks.
Edit as of 3/5/15 - Found that increasing TRMaxImpostors by a factor of 2 (from 8 to 16) increases the performance of nebula and even evaporation trails to a smaller extent with almost zero visual impact. This will be probably beneficial to all users low end or not.



Also it is very important that YOU DO NOT compress the textures as this will cause SE to crash when entering the Sol System and do not use fast landscaping as this can cause errors in the atmospheres of Earth and Mars. Also turn off comet tails/evaporation trails as this is the biggest hit to performance and there is no way to improve the performance with the tails on (Aside from using a custom shader)

Cheers and enjoy your cosmic adventure!

Edit here are a few examples of what the config looks like










AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive

Edited by the_nerervarine - Friday, 06.03.2015, 01:34
 
aithalsumanthDate: Monday, 02.02.2015, 01:50 | Message # 2
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Wow, thanks a lot! This really helped for HD 6530d APU! Thanks again!
 
the_nerervarineDate: Wednesday, 11.02.2015, 07:59 | Message # 3
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote aithalsumanth ()
Wow, thanks a lot! This really helped for HD 6530d APU! Thanks again!


Thanks for the high praise. It's not perfect I know but it does help. Anyway it looks like in the next version things like this wont even be needed. smile





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive

Edited by the_nerervarine - Wednesday, 11.02.2015, 08:00
 
superpowercrewDate: Friday, 06.03.2015, 19:56 | Message # 4
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Thank you very much, the_nerervarine. I just had to register to drop a quick thank you.
Your config basically solved all my problems. Out of the box, space engine's displacement was all over the place, completely broken on my weak intelhd4000 laptop.
I'd still get occasional hiccups, but it's mostly smooth now.
Awesome!
 
the_nerervarineDate: Monday, 09.03.2015, 18:35 | Message # 5
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote superpowercrew ()
Thank you very much, the_nerervarine. I just had to register to drop a quick thank you.
Your config basically solved all my problems. Out of the box, space engine's displacement was all over the place, completely broken on my weak intelhd4000 laptop.
I'd still get occasional hiccups, but it's mostly smooth now.
Awesome!


I'm just happy that this works for so many people smile





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
TreDate: Thursday, 12.03.2015, 17:37 | Message # 6
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Can you PLEASE Explain how to add those text in... I have no clue
 
the_nerervarineDate: Thursday, 12.03.2015, 20:18 | Message # 7
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote Tre ()
Can you PLEASE Explain how to add those text in... I have no clue


Go to where ever your SpaceEngine0.972 folder is located and go to SpaceEngine0.972/Config and open the main.cfg file as a text document if it's not already set as such and delete all the text and replace it with the text provided in the spoiler section of this thread.





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
Destructor1701Date: Saturday, 14.03.2015, 01:09 | Message # 8
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
I have many of my own tweaks that I have altered to my own taste, and I don't want to paste over them - can you indicate which edits in particular you have made?




 
the_nerervarineDate: Wednesday, 08.04.2015, 15:39 | Message # 9
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
@Destructor1701
These are the most important setting changes I think...

VideoMemoryStartupDetect false // detect size physical video memory (VRAM) at startup
VideoMemoryDynamicDetect false // detect available amount of video memory (VRAM) in runtime
VideoMemorySize 1024 // video memory size to use if VideoMemoryStartupDetect = false

TRMaxImpostors 16 // max number of impostors

PlanetTextureRes 128 // texture resolution (use only power of 2!)

Hope this helps!

Added (08.04.2015, 15:39)
---------------------------------------------
Also a heads up, I will NOT make a performance configuration for the upcoming v9.7.3 as I just built a new rig that obliterates Space Engine cool




AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
Destructor1701Date: Monday, 20.04.2015, 10:33 | Message # 10
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Thanks for your advice here - it's partially thanks to you that SE even starts on my trusty-but-underpowered little netbook!




 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Performance Configuration for weak system's (Nebula Boost)
Page 1 of 11
Search: