RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Can some help me find the right setting
Can some help me find the right setting
awiselimeyDate: Monday, 05.01.2015, 00:37 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
My PC is spec are this. Can some help me out and tell the right graphic settings so I can play this game
HP Pavilion p6-2016 Desktop PC
I only want to run SE 0.9.7.1
_______________________________________________________________
Processor

Pentium G620

•Operating speed: Up to 2.6 GHz

•Number of cores: 2

•Socket: LGA1155

•Bus speed: DMI (Direct Media Interface) - 2.5GT/s

_______________________________________________________________

Memory

6 GB

•Amount: 6 GB

•Speed: PC3-10600 MB/sec

•Type: DDR3-1333

_______________________________________________________________
Video graphics

Intel Graphics Media Accelerator HD Integrated graphics (DX10.1)

*Integrated video is not available if a graphics card is installed.

•Supports PCI Express x16 graphics cards

•DVI and VGA ports (both ports can be used at the same time)

More info on my GPU

Version: Direct3D 9.0c [igdumdx32.dll 8.15.10.2291]
Renderer: Intel® HD Graphics Family
Vendor: Intel
VRAM: 880 MB (via DXGI)
Caps: Shader=30 DepthRT=1 NativeDepth=1 NativeShadow=1 DF16=1 INTZ=1 RAWZ=0 NULL=1 RESZ=1 SlowINTZ=0
_______________________________________________________________


Edited by awiselimey - Monday, 05.01.2015, 00:49
 
WatsisnameDate: Monday, 05.01.2015, 00:48 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2611
Status: Offline
Do you have a separate graphics card? SE is not intended for integrated graphics, on which it will not run well, if at all. This will very likely be the most significant factor as to what settings you should use and what your results will be.




 
awiselimeyDate: Monday, 05.01.2015, 00:51 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
So lets say if I got a better GPU, would SE run better
 
WatsisnameDate: Monday, 05.01.2015, 01:24 | Message # 4
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2611
Status: Offline
If that option is available to you then I would recommend it. SE will certainly run better on a dedicated graphics card.

Otherwise, assuming SE runs at all on your current system, then you may continue to do so and try to reduce the graphics settings to their minimum, but be warned that it still might not be healthy to your card (it may easily throttle or overheat), and I can't guarantee the program will be stable either (you may have errors and crashes).





 
awiselimeyDate: Monday, 05.01.2015, 01:31 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
What would be a good GPU. I'm kinda tight on money because were doing a massive doc but anyway how good of a card are we talking about. Can you recommend a GPU...
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 05.01.2015, 01:37 | Message # 6
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
GTX 760 or better would be my recommendation. You can get a 4GB 760 for $250+, if that is too much then you can get a 750 TI 2GB for around $150. (SpaceEngine 0.9.7.2 also runs best on the 700 series)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130949
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814487028

With todays gaming market and the higher demand for more VRAM it would be recommended that you not go any lower than 2GBs of VRAM and go with 4GB or higher if you can afford it.

Considering you have Intel GPU, even a bargain bin Nvidia card for $50 would be a better option.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
awiselimeyDate: Saturday, 10.01.2015, 22:59 | Message # 7
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
Thanks man!

Added (10.01.2015, 21:59)
---------------------------------------------
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814487028 How good will this card run the game. I just bought it.

 
PatriotDate: Saturday, 10.01.2015, 23:13 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
@awiselimey It will for sure run MUCH better than your previous set up, if it were me I probably would have went with an equally priced R9 270x or other AMD cards for better performance but either way you're much better off than before.

You got that card for a good deal at 24% off too, nice buy.
 
awiselimeyDate: Sunday, 11.01.2015, 00:03 | Message # 9
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
I would be AMD but my dad works at Nvidia.
 
awiselimeyDate: Sunday, 11.01.2015, 00:06 | Message # 10
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
I bought a better graphics card ( EVGA 02G-P4-3757-KR G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 FTW w/ ACX Cooling Video Card) when it gets to my house. will SE run better?
HP Pavilion p6-2016 Desktop PC
Can you give a guess how good it will render
_______________________________________________________________
Processor

Pentium G620

•Operating speed: 2.6 GHz

•Number of cores: 2

•Socket: LGA1155

•Bus speed: DMI (Direct Media Interface) - 2.5GT/s

_______________________________________________________________

Memory

6 GB

•Amount: 6 GB

•Speed: PC3-10600 MB/sec

•Type: DDR3-1333

_______________________________________________________________
Video graphics
EVGA 02G-P4-3757-KR G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 FTW w/ ACX Cooling Video Card

Model
BrandEVGAModel02G-P4-3757-KR

Interface
InterfacePCI Express 3.0

Chipset
Chipset ManufacturerNVIDIAGPUGeForce GTX 750 TiCore Clock1189MHzBoost Clock1268MHzCUDA Cores640

Memory
Effective Memory Clock5400MHzMemory Size2GBMemory Interface128-BitMemory TypeGDDR5

3D API
DirectXDirectX 11.2OpenGLOpenGL 4.4
______________________________________________________________________________________

Here's my old GPU
_______________________________________________________________
OLD Video graphics

Intel Graphics Media Accelerator HD Integrated graphics (DX10.1)

*Integrated video is not available if a graphics card is installed.

•Supports PCI Express x16 graphics cards

•DVI and VGA ports (both ports can be used at the same time)

More info on my GPU

Version: Direct3D 9.0c [igdumdx32.dll 8.15.10.2291]
Renderer: Intel® HD Graphics Family
Vendor: Intel
VRAM: 880 MB (via DXGI)
Caps: Shader=30 DepthRT=1 NativeDepth=1 NativeShadow=1 DF16=1 INTZ=1 RAWZ=0 NULL=1 RESZ=1 SlowINTZ=0
 
PatriotDate: Sunday, 11.01.2015, 00:13 | Message # 11
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
LOL well ain't that a predicament? Anyway good luck with your new GPU, you'll be much happier with it compared to stock intel graphics smile
 
PatriotDate: Sunday, 11.01.2015, 00:18 | Message # 12
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
My only concern would probably be your processor but the best answer to your question would be to just try it, there is an FPS command you can type in the game console.

I always prefer performance over aesthetics if I have to choose. ( For screen shots you can increase settings, snap the photo and return to your original settings too )
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 11.01.2015, 05:05 | Message # 13
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote awiselimey ()
I bought a better graphics card ( EVGA 02G-P4-3757-KR G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 FTW w/ ACX Cooling Video Card) when it gets to my house. will SE run better?


You didn't need to make a new thread so I merged your new thread with your old thread.

Quote awiselimey ()
How good will this card run the game. I just bought it.

Pretty good, especially for SE. A friend of mine recently bought a 750ti 2GB and said SE runs very well on it.

Quote Patriot ()
if it were me I probably would have went with an equally priced R9 270x or other AMD cards for better performance


Not true in regards to most games. ATI has far worse drivers than Nvidia and overall support in most games is sub-par at best. You want Nvidia for most things, especially when it comes to SpaceEngine.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
PatriotDate: Sunday, 11.01.2015, 05:27 | Message # 14
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
I don't want to start a red V green war but the part about the Drivers really isn't true, especially not after Omega drivers (Have you head about them? not being condescending they're quite good and AMD's new management regarding updates is much more logical than rapid smaller updates). Basically Omega is a new way of doing driver updates in which we get all the big changed once per year of which are heavily tested and quality assured to work right the first time, this does NOT mean we will not get critical updates throughout the year as needed, if a new game comes out and has some kind of unexpected artifacts/performance issues an update will come out immediately. - IF it Ain't Broken don't fix it - Applies here big time.

Basically, no more broken drivers! Simply a thing of the past.

Also in "most" games especially AAA titles AMD's equivalent priced cards perform much better than equally priced Nvidia cards. This all comes down to the fact that recently especially AMD cards are simply cheaper, for instance my $300 AMD GPU performs as well as a $1000 GTX, the ($600?) R9 290x 2 performs better than the $3000 Titan Z. Add mantle into the equation and there isn't even a tiny bit of argument left (on the titles that support the new API) Its a known fact that AMD's R9 series simply performs MUCH better at higher resolutions (Over 100% better) due to higher bus widths and generally more/faster memory than any Nvidia GPUs yet, with no announcements from Nvidia regarding an upgrade of their style.
I'm not a fanboy type of person, I can be a fan but only ever for good reason, IF Nvidia would to release a new series of cards at reasonable prices, performed equal to or better than AMD and would either support mantle (AMD's API) or make their own just to be competitive I'd change my mind in an instant. Benchmarks really tell the whole story, as long as you compare cards within a Price based category.

PS: Lower end cards on both sides tend to be around the same price and performance, although mantle on some low end AMD GPUS may make up the difference, largely most of my points pertain to high end cards, and new generation releases. Also as a previous user of Nvidia cards for a long time, their driver support is just as bad as post Omega drivers - Omega on the other hand is a totally different story.

PPS: The GTX 970 was impressive and it resulted in the mega price drop of the R9 290x which I benefited from. Due to these cards being pretty much the same price they're good ones to compare and indeed both perform well however I'd still take the R9 290xs more cores, and larger bus

GTX= 1664 CUDA Cores: Bus = 256-Bit
R9 290x= 2816 Stream Processors: Bus = 512-Bit

And for $740 You can buy the best performing GPU on the market, the R9 290x2


Edited by Patriot - Sunday, 11.01.2015, 19:17
 
awiselimeyDate: Sunday, 11.01.2015, 23:20 | Message # 15
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
So Intel CPUs are fine? I'm so going AMD pro
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Can some help me find the right setting
Page 1 of 212»
Search: