Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Bloom scaling and diffraction display at high resolutions (Is it just me?)
Bloom scaling and diffraction display at high resolutions
djh_Date: Friday, 02.01.2015, 21:02 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Hey everyone,

I've been running Space Engine at around 8K resolutions when taking screenshots, but what I'm noticing is that the bloom doesn't seem to scale correctly as you go beyond 1080p. By the time you reach 8K or even 4K, the effect has diminished to the point where it's barely there at all. This is fairly common for games, but I was just wondering if it's supposed to be happening here or if there's a fix.

Furthermore, effects like the diffraction spikes disappear when you go beyond a certain res. Again, I'm unsure if this is just me experiencing this. The problem seems to affect all the recent builds I've tried.

Regular resolution:



8K:



Thx!


Edited by djh_ - Friday, 02.01.2015, 21:07
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 02.01.2015, 21:07 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote djh_ ()
but I was just wondering if it's supposed to be happening here or if there's a fix.


I don't think it is "supposed to be happening", it just does happen.

Quote djh_ ()
Furthermore, effects like the diffraction spikes disappear when you go beyond a certain res. Again, I'm unsure if this is just me experiencing this. The problem seems to affect all the recent builds I've tried.


I mentioned this to SpaceEngineer a while back. What the engine really needs is proper scaling for these effects.

The only solution is to turn those effects up to be larger so when you do take high resolution screens they get scaled down to what they should be. Doing this can be quite tricky however.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
djh_Date: Friday, 02.01.2015, 21:08 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Cheers for the reply. I've updated the OP with screens, but it seems you know what I'm on about.

EDIT: What's kind of annoying is that the effect does actually draw correctly for a second or two after the window's resized, but vanishes when the programme becomes responsive again.


Edited by djh_ - Friday, 02.01.2015, 21:14
 
Destructor1701Date: Saturday, 03.01.2015, 15:46 | Message # 4
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
That's probably just the old 1080 frame still in the buffer, stretched to fill the new resolution.




 
djh_Date: Saturday, 03.01.2015, 19:57 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Some more examples of how bad this can be after just moderate downsampling:

750x1000px:



1620x2160px:



Edited by djh_ - Saturday, 03.01.2015, 19:58
 
SolarLinerDate: Saturday, 03.01.2015, 22:05 | Message # 6
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Yeah I've experienced this as well, and from what I've seen, the sizes are absolute values (pixels) instead of relative values (% of sceen height/witdh). That means your bloom and diffraction spikes gets 4 times smaller from 1080p to 4K, and same goes for the bloom.




custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 03.01.2015, 22:05 | Message # 7
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Warp effects scale with resolution and can get really messed up looking if you push into very high resolutions. Hopefully someday when proper environmental mapping and high resolution screenshot exporting is added such things won't be a problem anymore.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
PatriotDate: Saturday, 10.01.2015, 22:16 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
This is a very strange problem, I certainly do not have this issue while running space engine with AMD's VSR at 4K (I've taken dozens of screen shots to use as backgrounds and have compared the quality between normal resolutions and 4K, no difference besides quality of course I could link some as proof if needed)

Perhaps VSR works differently than what ever method you use? or maybe 4k doesn't have as noticeable issues compared to 8k? (although I swear there is no difference what so ever on my end)

Attachments: 3006093.jpg(380Kb)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Bloom scaling and diffraction display at high resolutions (Is it just me?)
Page 1 of 11
Search: