RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Terrain relief differences with new install (Why would a new install of 0.97 have lower terrain relief?)
Terrain relief differences with new install
Zigger1962Date: Friday, 12.09.2014, 13:50 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Hi All !
I have a collection of screenshots from 0.97. When 0.9.7.1 was released I completely deleted the older version. Recently I was looking through the old 0.97 screenshots and decided to reinstall 0.97 (in it's own folder) to do some further exploration on some of the planets in my screenshots. However, for some reason, when I go to the exact same locations as listed in the screenshots, I notice that the level of terrain relief is different. What were larger more rugged mountains in the old screenshots now looks like like small hills. I've tried all levels of LOD with no change to the fact that the terrain is less rugged. The only thing I can think of that is different between the old 0.97 install and the new is that I used to have an nVidia GTS250 video card but now run an AMD 5870. I'm doubtful, but could a different vid card with different drivers cause this ? If not, any ideas what could be causing this? Example pics:

Old install:
http://i.imgur.com/V5LPHeH.jpg

New install:
http://i.imgur.com/7npGsxR.jpg
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 12.09.2014, 15:27 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote Zigger1962 ()
but could a different vid card with different drivers cause this


Yes.

I am running an old 5870 right now due to an RMA on my GTX 760 and there is a big difference.

ATI handles things differently than Nvidia so you can expect some differences in graphical quality and performance.




My 760 RMA replacement came in today and I tested the same planets. There is a difference between the two, terrain is noticeably higher quality on Nvidia.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 13.09.2014, 11:34 | Message # 3
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Maybe you guys used some shader mods like this?




 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 13.09.2014, 15:44 | Message # 4
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
When my 760 stopped working I switched back to my 5870 and switched back to standard shaders. When I hooked up my 760 again yesterday I was still using standard shaders and the terrain was much higher quality. I have since switched back to that shader mod however that doesn't change what I noticed.

There is a possibility that the difference is simply drivers, since I was using the latest ATI drivers and am now using older Nvidia drivers.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Zigger1962Date: Tuesday, 16.09.2014, 01:42 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
I wouldn't have thought that a different video card/drivers would physically change the height of mountains...I assumed that would have been a procedural function independent of actually displaying it on the screen through opengl...but it's no biggie now, 0.9.7.1 is awesome and I look forward to 0.9.7.2...I was simply curious what could produce the obvious difference in terrain as seen in the 2 pics...would also be curious what others see when they go to the exact spot shown in the pics...do they see rugged mountains or much lower hills keeping in mind that the pics were from 0.97, top pic nVidia drivers, bottom AMD.

Edited by Zigger1962 - Tuesday, 16.09.2014, 01:44
 
bagra4uDate: Thursday, 18.09.2014, 09:51 | Message # 6
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Hmm... interesting topic.
As a mountaneer in real life I'm very interested in teese matters.
Have to say the first pic is way and I mean WAY better and, imho, look much more like true to life pic.
That makes me wonder... which one "version" do I got ? Guess I'll find out when I return home today
from work and fire up my SE. I'll use your coordinates of course. Maybe that wouldn't be a bad idea,
if not with this location but with some other, we could all take shot and compare them here. With
different pc/gpu/drivers/shaders/palette/etc settings... it could (would?) be quite... colourful. biggrin

Keep floating.

Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Maybe you guys used some shader mods like this?

Well, if this can do THAT, then I'll stop using it.
ASAP.

edit:
But I doubt that's the reason. smile


Edited by bagra4u - Thursday, 18.09.2014, 10:00
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Terrain relief differences with new install (Why would a new install of 0.97 have lower terrain relief?)
Page 1 of 11
Search: