Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » NVidia 340.52 Driver issues (HDR gets disabled)
NVidia 340.52 Driver issues
BlueDracheDate: Thursday, 07.08.2014, 18:16 | Message # 1
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
I have a 580GTX 1GB card. I had to downgrade from the latest driver set (340.52) to one prior version (337.88) get the shaders and the High Dynamic to work properly.

Not sure why, but this fix worked for me.

Yes, I tried reinstalling the engine, and I also tried deleting the shader cache. Neither solution worked.


Edited by BlueDrache - Thursday, 07.08.2014, 18:19
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 07.08.2014, 20:18 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Please try searching the forum before posting, this subject has been discussed ad nauseam already. Nvidia's latest drivers have issues. You need to use older ones until whatever the problem is is resolved.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Epsilon9360Date: Saturday, 20.09.2014, 05:43 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
I hate to say this, but it looks like the issue will need to be fixed by you guys and not nVidia. They just released a new driver update and it has not resolved the problem. As this update is pretty much mandatory for anyone getting the new lineup of GPUs (900 series), using the older drivers is no longer possible for those who are upgrading their hardware.
 
Master_RamboDate: Sunday, 21.09.2014, 03:09 | Message # 4
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 23
Status: Offline
Quote Epsilon9360 ()
I hate to say this, but it looks like the issue will need to be fixed by you guys and not nVidia. They just released a new driver update and it has not resolved the problem. As this update is pretty much mandatory for anyone getting the new lineup of GPUs (900 series), using the older drivers is no longer possible for those who are upgrading their hardware.


So I can't play Space Engine with a GTX 980 or when I have the latest driver? sad I hope that new update comes out soon.


Edited by Master_Rambo - Sunday, 21.09.2014, 03:09
 
SalvoDate: Sunday, 21.09.2014, 13:45 | Message # 5
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote Master_Rambo ()
So I can't play Space Engine with a GTX 980


You can download old drivers. I guess it should work...





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 21.09.2014, 14:48 | Message # 6
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
You can download old drivers. I guess it should work...

Quote Epsilon9360 ()
this update is pretty much mandatory for anyone getting the new lineup of GPUs (900 series)





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SalvoDate: Sunday, 21.09.2014, 15:40 | Message # 7
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Epsilon9360, you meant that old drivers can not be installed or they can be installed but games/applications wouldn't work normally? In each case... that's very bad.




The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
Epsilon9360Date: Sunday, 21.09.2014, 23:32 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
While I cannot say for certain what would result from using the older drivers if you're on the 900 series GPUs, the driver changelog seems to imply that the update is needed in order to ensure proper functionality.

Quote nvidia update log
Supports the new GeForce GTX 980 and GTX 970 GPUs, based upon the second-generation Maxwell architecture


Not to mention the fact that using the older drivers will also prevent us from being able to make use of the game-specific optimizations. The main issue, however, is that if this update didn't resolve the problem, then it's a fair bet that future updates won't fix it either. I read on another related thread that this issue was supposedly an easy fix for the SE devs, so I think it's fair to assume that the burden of adding compatibility is going to have to fall on them.


Edited by Epsilon9360 - Sunday, 21.09.2014, 23:32
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 21.09.2014, 23:49 | Message # 9
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Quote Epsilon9360 ()
this issue was supposedly an easy fix for the SE devs

*dev (there is only one)

Also, his most recent statement on the subject is this:

Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Latest drivers has introduced strange changes in the GLSL shading language syntax (not really syntax, but restriction on order of some preprocessor directives and settings commands). This result error in compilation of some shaders, including HDR, FXAA, sun lens flare and planet preview render.
...
By the way, even my current developing version (with fixed shaders) show weird behaviour with 339 and later drivers. The stars generation is extremely lag, delays up to 16 seconds! In some reason, and all loader threads that generated start are blocking each other and the renderer thread. So I rolling back to 337. NVidia made something very wrong in its drivers.

So it may be a rough road towards getting everything to play nice together.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
QuarkDate: Monday, 22.09.2014, 16:02 | Message # 10
Observer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 13
Status: Offline
A big problem, I now understand that it is not easy to fix things.




Mainboard ASUS ... Processor Intel i7 3Ghz ... RAM 16GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator ... Graphics Card Asus GeForce 780GTX Direct CU II .....
 
AerospacefagDate: Monday, 22.09.2014, 19:07 | Message # 11
Pioneer
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 401
Status: Offline
A new version of Nvidia drivers came out, 344.11, dated 18 September.

Can anybody confirm if the issue is fixed or it does require an update of the game?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 22.09.2014, 23:40 | Message # 12
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Multiple people have reported that 344 does not work with SE.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
decker12Date: Friday, 26.09.2014, 18:14 | Message # 13
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
I can confirm that 344 doesn't fix the issue with nVidia cards. Downgrading isn't an option for me either as SE is only one of many installed games on my system, many of which gain optimizations from the latest nVidia driver.
 
NVLarsDate: Tuesday, 28.10.2014, 05:45 | Message # 14
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Hi... I am Lars Nordskog from NVIDIA's Developer Technology group. We saw that you have been informing users that a recent NVIDIA driver bug is breaking functionality in Space Engine. We've looked into it and based on what our driver team found, the problem appears to be coming from a bug in your application's shaders, combined with our recent driver change to properly conform to new GLSL specs.

Recent GLSL specs require that "...extension directives must occur before any non-preprocessor tokens". In the files, your shaders all look fine, but at runtime, the application appears to append 3 lines to the shader. When doing this, we have found at least one shader where the app incorrectly specifies "precision highp float;" **BEFORE** the #extension directive. This is not allowed by the most recent GLSL specs and should be corrected on the app side for compatibility's sake. To fix these issues, you need to move the "precision highp float;" after the #extension directive. We tested commenting out the "precision highp float;" line and the corruption was fixed. So based on our debugging this is not actually a driver bug, just a change in driver "strictness", as mandated by the newer GLSL spec.

If the Space Engine engineers have any questions, please contact me at the address I registered here with.

Thanks!


Edited by NVLars - Tuesday, 28.10.2014, 05:48
 
ScramblesDate: Tuesday, 28.10.2014, 09:05 | Message # 15
Observer
Group: Newbies
Australia
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
surprised I'm blown away that someone from nVidia has not only responded on this forum, but actually offered a solution - for a program that is still in beta! Huge kudos to nVidia and Lars cool

Fingers crossed Mr.Space Engineer can get us nVidia users up and running again soon!!
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » NVidia 340.52 Driver issues (HDR gets disabled)
Page 1 of 212»
Search: