RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Ugly Light Effect (Need help on removing a weird light glitch.)
Ugly Light Effect
PillTimeDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 14:44 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 11
Status: Offline
Hey guys. I love to take pictures of planets and stars that I find across the universe. But there's a problem. When I take pictures with a star in it an ugly lightning effect shows up around it. Here's a pic of what I'm talking about.

(Click here to look have a better look at it: http://i.imgur.com/rYhLlJg.png )
I would love if someone could help me.


Edited by PillTime - Sunday, 11.05.2014, 14:46
 
SolarLinerDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 14:53 | Message # 2
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
I'm sorry but I fail to see a problem in this picture. The part you have highlighted seems good to me.




custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
Billy_MayesDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 14:56 | Message # 3
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
I don't see anything strange about the red area you circled, it's just black.

Or are you talking about the proximity flares? You can turn them off in the options menu.





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 16:37 | Message # 4
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Those jagged pixels are part of normal image compression. The only thing you can do to get rid of this is increase the image capture quality, change it to something other than jpg, or use the "no limit" tool to take screens in a higher resolution and then resize them. Also imgur compresses screens very badly.

Example screens, click them to enlarge.

Here is SpaceEngine running at 1080 with LOD2


As you can see even with LOD2 and low compression the quality isn't that great.

Here is SE rendered at 5760x3240


Image quality is much higher, file size is very large as well, and the effect is still present when zoomed in.

Here is the larger image resized to 1080





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
PillTimeDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 17:02 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 11
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Those jagged pixels are part of normal image compression. The only thing you can do to get rid of this is increase the image capture quality, change it to something other than jpg, or use the "no limit" tool to take screens in a higher resolution and then resize them. Also imgur compresses screens very badly.

The problem is not from imgur because I can see the lightning problem in the pics in my computer.I had the no limit tool, but it didn't work for me. The max I could use was 1932*1092 and resizing that to 1920*1080 is not gonna make those pixels disappear. For those who didn't see the problem here's another picture. I hope this one is better. (I've changed the brightness and contrast)


Edited by PillTime - Sunday, 11.05.2014, 17:08
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 17:17 | Message # 6
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote PillTime ()
The problem is not from imgur because I can see the lightning problem in the pics in my computer.


True, however using imgur can make the issue more apparent.

Quote PillTime ()
The max I could use was 1932*1092 and resizing that to 1920*1080 is not gonna make those pixels disappear.


You could try asking in the thread for the tool to try and troubleshoot your issue. I ran into a limit on that program as well, it won't allow me to go any higher than 7712x4330.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
PillTimeDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 17:30 | Message # 7
Observer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 11
Status: Offline
Well, I got "no limit" to work; SE couldn't be in fullscreen mode. Though when I resize the image the lightning issue is still there.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 17:34 | Message # 8
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote PillTime ()
SE couldn't be in fullscreen mode.


That should be obvious since it is resizing a window to something much larger than your screen resolution.

Quote PillTime ()
Though when I resize the image the lightning issue is still there.


The tool is not for gameplay, it is there for rendering large screenshots. No matter what you do there will always be that effect to some small degree, what I said earlier is a great way to reduce the effect in your screens.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
PillTimeDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 17:39 | Message # 9
Observer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 11
Status: Offline
Ok, well thanks for your help. I guess there's nothing else to do.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 20:20 | Message # 10
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
PillTime, you should take screenshots in png format, not jpg. You can adjust this in the main.cfg file.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
PillTimeDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 20:54 | Message # 11
Observer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 11
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
PillTime, you should take screenshots in png format, not jpg. You can adjust this in the main.cfg file.

Tried that, the image type changed to .png, but the problem remains.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 20:56 | Message # 12
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
What graphics card do you have?




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
PillTimeDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 21:01 | Message # 13
Observer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 11
Status: Offline
I have a GeForce GT 620
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 22:35 | Message # 14
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
I'm not sure that you can fix that issue, at least I don't know what to suggest. Sorry, wish I could help sad




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
PillTimeDate: Sunday, 11.05.2014, 23:03 | Message # 15
Observer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 11
Status: Offline
Alright man, no problem. Thank you for trying. wink
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Ugly Light Effect (Need help on removing a weird light glitch.)
Page 1 of 212»
Search: