Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » How to get Space Engine to render Earth tiles apast level 10 (Creating additional Earth tile levels.)
How to get Space Engine to render Earth tiles apast level 10
PillowvineDate: Wednesday, 29.01.2014, 21:14 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
I am currently working on creating some close-up areas on the Earth Surface map. My work is going better than expected but I have ran into an obstacle to obtaining ground level detail for small towns and such. Currently I am only able to go as far as level 10. Even after doing the math I can not seem to get level 11 to render in the desired location or any further for that matter. So I was wandering if somewhere in the codes Space Engine is set to only render to that level and if so, where or how can I change the numbers or code to allow me to add a few additional levels? Say maybe to level 14 or so? I would really appreciate this information as it would allow me to add some wonderful detain to some of these areas I am working on. Also does anyone have or know how or where I can obtain a more detailed bump map than the current addon? Thanks! GREAT WORK on 9.7.1!!!!! It run very smooth!!! Cant wait for Earth night side lights!!!
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 29.01.2014, 21:55 | Message # 2
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Pillowvine, can you upload your textures pack and scripts for it, so I may test it in me SE to found the problem?




 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 29.01.2014, 21:57 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Pillowvine, you should have posted in this thread.

And it should be possible, but there may be some bug with it. SpaceEngineer will have to investigate it.

EDIT: Oops, ninja'd!





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Wednesday, 29.01.2014, 21:58
 
PillowvineDate: Friday, 31.01.2014, 02:18 | Message # 4
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Pillowvine, can you upload your textures pack and scripts for it, so I may test it in me SE to found the problem?


SpaceEngineer, here are the textures you asked For. I included level 11 even though it does not show up simply as an example. Levels 7-10 render just fine. To Keep file size small I simply sent an example of each level based on the same image which should appear in the top left hand corner of the preceding level. I thought this would do considering my textures are far from done at this point.

Added (31.01.2014, 02:45)
---------------------------------------------
file

Added (31.01.2014, 02:47)
---------------------------------------------
Sorry I seem to be having trouble adding the attachment for some reason.

Added (31.01.2014, 05:18)
---------------------------------------------
http://wikisend.com/download/420144/Earth.zip

Ok I think I have this right now. wacko
 
RockoRocksDate: Friday, 31.01.2014, 09:20 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
Quote Pillowvine ()
Sorry I seem to be having trouble adding the attachment for some reason.

That's probably because your file is larger than 600 Kb.

By the way, when this works and you are releasing it, i'll probably download it.





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM


Edited by RockoRocks - Friday, 31.01.2014, 09:24
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 31.01.2014, 14:35 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
I found the problem. In order to have diffuse textures of level N, you must create a bump textures of a level at least N-4.

Earth addon have diff and bump textures up to level 6 with resolution of 512*512 (not counting borders). SpaceEngine renders terrain as a chunks of triangles with resolution of 32*32 triangles. So each last bump level (6) can be split 512 / 32 = 16 times, ie it have 4 additional levels (2^4 = 16) that uses last bump texture as height map. SpaceEngine can texture that additional levels with 4 additional levels of diff textures (levels 7, 8, 9, 10), but after that tessellation stops. So to have level 11 of diff texture, you must add a level 7 of bump texture. To have level 15 of diff texture, you must add a level 11 of bump, and all other intermediate levels (7, 8, 9, 10) - SpaceEngine don't allow skipping of the levels.

To create a level 7 bump texture, you may simply take level 6 bump texture, magnify it 2 times with some good filter and split it to 4 parts. But don't forgot to create a 1-pixel-width borders, that consists data from neighbouring tiles. And take into account that Earth's bump textures are 16 bit grayscale png, so you must use graphics editor what supports them (GIMP?).





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 31.01.2014, 18:24 | Message # 7
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
so you must use graphics editor what supports them (GIMP?)

GIMP only supports 8-bit natively (maybe there's a plugin for 16-bit?). The only program I've used that supports 16-bit is Adobe Photoshop.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
PillowvineDate: Friday, 31.01.2014, 19:15 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer,
OK I tested what you said simply using one of the existing bump tiles and adding a level 7. It worked wonderfully! Thank you so much for your help. I honestly never expected to have an answer so fast. It looks like I still have my work cut out for me though in finding or making a bump map for those levels. I am still not sure what program to use either. I do not currently have adobe, I use gimp. I have never made a bump map so I have a lot of research to do. In retrospect I feel like I should have considered the link with the bump map. I am just glad it had a simple solution. Thank you so much!!!!
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » How to get Space Engine to render Earth tiles apast level 10 (Creating additional Earth tile levels.)
Page 1 of 11
Search: