RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » saving edited (saving edited)
saving edited
SpactreDate: Sunday, 19.01.2014, 23:24 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
I hope this is the right category
I wanted to build my own planets and systems but when I restart SE later all I edited is gone. I don't find any way to save my creations so that they stay in SE.
Is there a fuction that can help me I just don't found or not? (till now I found no answer in other threads)
(and sorry if bad english)
 
DeathStarDate: Sunday, 19.01.2014, 23:31 | Message # 2
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
This is a problem for me too. I edit a system and when I exit my game crashes. When I return, all the progress is lost.
 
SpactreDate: Sunday, 19.01.2014, 23:40 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
my game don't crash but yes, everyting is lost and I find no way to save and so on
 
JCandeiasDate: Sunday, 19.01.2014, 23:48 | Message # 4
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Just export your system or planet before leaving. You'll have to set it up later in a custom-made star, meaning that your edits won't stay exactly as you made them (different seed), but the wider parameters will, so the results should at least be similar.

Crashes on exit don't have anything to do with it. Even if you exit the program normally, all changes are lost unless you save/export them.





They let me use this!
 
SpactreDate: Monday, 20.01.2014, 00:02 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
that is not the answer I hoped for. I wanted to use SE as a star-map for a sci-fi story I'm working on and I like to use real stars.
but thanks for the fast answer
and now I have a new question, what do you mean with custom-made star?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 20.01.2014, 00:45 | Message # 6
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Spactre, look at the mods and addons sticky threads for how to make custom systems and planets.

If you edit a planet, you have to export its script and add it to the script for your custom system. You can place your planets around real stars, so what you want to do is entirely possible, and not even that difficult.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
JCandeiasDate: Monday, 20.01.2014, 00:48 | Message # 7
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
You can use real stars. Just save your planets and then make them orbit whatever star you want. Once you add a catalogue planet to any star, it disables procedural generation of planets for that system. So, in your case, maybe what you want is to export whole systems.

Quote Spactre ()
what do you mean with custom-made star?


You can define your own stars. Or even full catalogues. See here how.





They let me use this!
 
SpactreDate: Monday, 20.01.2014, 01:24 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
thats sounds very interesting, I will test it tomorrow and send then feedback
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » saving edited (saving edited)
Page 1 of 11
Search: