Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Low memory crashes on planets (Game crashes when I am planets for a few minutes)
Low memory crashes on planets
OutsiderDate: Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 01:27 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Hi guys, wanted to run a problem through with you.

Everytime I go down onto a planet after maybe 3-4 minutes of looking around I get runtime error, low memory crashes and a "The computer is low on memory" dialogue box. I've done things like set my Vram and change the LOD to -2 with no avail.

Specs: i7 2600k GTX 780 8GB Ram Installed on a 250gb Samsung Evo SSD

Any help is much appreciated smile

p.s I looked for the se.log file and it's just not there :/
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 01:39 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8712
Status: Online
Quote Outsider ()
I looked for the se.log file and it's just not there

It has to be there, if it's not then something is horribly wrong. SE writes it every time the program is run and it's never deleted. Make sure the folder SE is in, or its parent folder, isn't set to read-only.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
OutsiderDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 03:16 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Quote Outsider ()
I looked for the se.log file and it's just not there

It has to be there, if it's not then something is horribly wrong. SE writes it every time the program is run and it's never deleted. Make sure the folder SE is in, or its parent folder, isn't set to read-only.


Okay I changed some permissions and the Se.log file has appeared, here it is for you to have a look through! smile

Added (08.01.2014, 06:16)
---------------------------------------------
*Bump

So any ideas? Would be really appreciated

Attachments: 8977276.log(444Kb)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 05:25 | Message # 4
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8712
Status: Online
Have you tried changing any memory settings in the main.cfg file? Here are the settings I use in case you want to try them:

Code
VideoMemoryDynamicDetect    false    // use auto detection of available amount of video memory (VRAM) in runtime
VideoMemorySize             4095    // video memory size to use if VideoMemoryDynamicDetect = false
VideoMemoryMaxPercent       95  // max video memory consumption (percents)

Other than that, I'm not sure how much I can help. SE is still very much beta software, and its memory management still has a lot of issues, so some things that you might do in the program may lead to crashes.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
OutsiderDate: Thursday, 09.01.2014, 15:36 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Have you tried changing any memory settings in the main.cfg file? Here are the settings I use in case you want to try them:

Code
VideoMemoryDynamicDetect    false    // use auto detection of available amount of video memory (VRAM) in runtime
VideoMemorySize             4095    // video memory size to use if VideoMemoryDynamicDetect = false
VideoMemoryMaxPercent       95  // max video memory consumption (percents)

Other than that, I'm not sure how much I can help. SE is still very much beta software, and its memory management still has a lot of issues, so some things that you might do in the program may lead to crashes.



Still no luck, getting the same crashes as before, I even reinstalled it. It's a shame that I can't get it to work especially seeing the hardware I have! sad
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Low memory crashes on planets (Game crashes when I am planets for a few minutes)
Page 1 of 11
Search: