RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Losing focus on space objects (near them)
Losing focus on space objects
IvviDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 13:58 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Russian Federation
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
Hello there,
when I fly above the surface of a planet (Earth, or any procedurally generated planet, for instance) and accidentally click on the surface, I lose the focus on that planet. The left upper corner of the screen starts to display information on some distant star or other deep space object hidden behind the planet, and I lose track of how high I am above its surface and other info. Please see the screenshot: http://yadi.sk/d/zZxf-E9eEypzF . Is that a bug or a problem with my PC? Thanks in advance!


Edited by Ivvi - Thursday, 26.12.2013, 13:59
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 15:05 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
You need to click on or near the center of the planet when selecting it; clicking elsewhere will deselect it and maybe select another object.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
IvviDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 15:30 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
Russian Federation
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
HarbingerDawn, thank you, but what if I am, say, 100 km above the planet. Where can I find the center then? Just look at the screenshot - how am I supposed to get the info back, move up backwards until I have the full planet disk before my eyes? That does work, but is extremely uncomfortable.
 
JCandeiasDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 16:04 | Message # 4
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Try hitting backspace. It reselects the previously selected objects.




They let me use this!
 
IvviDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 16:53 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
Russian Federation
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
JCandeias, thanks for advice - Backspace somehow did not work this way - although I never changed the hotkey settings...
Anyway, I found a better solution to my issue. I "looked down" (Num 2) until nothing was seen but the planet I lost focus of. Then one click restored the focus. Let's live with this quick fix smile
 
JCandeiasDate: Friday, 27.12.2013, 01:26 | Message # 6
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 382
Status: Offline
Quote Ivvi ()
JCandeias, thanks for advice - Backspace somehow did not work this way - although I never changed the hotkey settings...


True. I wrote that without the program running, off the top of my head, sorry. Turns out, backspace selects not the object you were using as reference when you lost focus, but the one before that (and the one before THAT if you hit it again, and so forth). I guess it goes through your travel log, backwards.

Anyway, what I do when that happens to me is either to use the planet browser when I'm on a planet or moon, or to look down until I'm able to reselect the object if I'm on something else.





They let me use this!
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Losing focus on space objects (near them)
Page 1 of 11
Search: