RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Frequent But Irregular Game Crashes
Frequent But Irregular Game Crashes
Omicron314Date: Wednesday, 17.07.2013, 13:55 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Hello, everyone. As you can see, this is my first post on these forums, and with it I would like to ask for assistance.

So, I downloaded this program yesterday, and I must say I am extremely impressed by it. However, after a while, it began crashing whenever I hit the 'Go To' function. That wasn't so bad; I could just visit other systems manually. However, things started to get a bit weird after that. Now apparently my game crashes when getting within 2 - 5 pc from a selected star system, it crashes when I go too fast (greater than 200 pc/s), and on occasion crashes after an indeterminate time if I have anything other than the starting planet selected. It's a strange and frustrating bug, and I can't find much about it online. All help is appreciated.

Here are the "Problem Details":

 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 17.07.2013, 14:28 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Omicron314, read the opening post of this thread. If none of that is helpful, then reply by attaching your se.log file (from the system folder of your SE directory), as well as your system specs.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Omicron314Date: Wednesday, 17.07.2013, 15:30 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Thanks for the quick response! But, no, I do not believe I have any of the problems described in that thread. Here are all of the specifications I can find. (Note: I am on a Mac running Bootcamp):

OS Name: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Version: 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Other OS Description: Not Available
OS Manufacturer: Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer: Apple Inc.
System Model: MacBookPro9.2
System Type: x64-based PC
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz 2501 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)

Attachments: 4064308.log(20Kb)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 17.07.2013, 17:08 | Message # 4
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
The problem is probably due to you running on integrated Intel graphics, which is not fully supported. SE is designed to run on proper graphics hardware (Nvidia or AMD graphics card). This was in that post I linked you to, btw, item #2.

If I think of any information later that might help I'll post it, but SE is relatively unforgiving when it comes to hardware requirements.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Omicron314Date: Wednesday, 17.07.2013, 17:40 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Okay, thank you for helping!
 
RaffnixDate: Sunday, 11.08.2013, 15:29 | Message # 6
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Hello, I´m also a new user of this forum. I use SE since 9.6. and I´m really happy with this fantastic program.

Now I got a new Notebook and I have all the problems witch Omicron314 described. I have an Intel-core 3.6 GHz and NVIDIA GeForce GT 730M with 4GB Dedicated VRAM.

The System I had before was not so strong, but SE 9.7 was running good, I really had to provocate crashes. It was running sometimes for many hours without crashing, I even could go to the supermassive black holes in the center of our galaxy.

Now I have much more FPS on my new system than before (between 40 and 60, except near planets, then it goes down to about 15),
but the frequently crashing problem is new to me.

I suppose it´s not my hardware, so, does anyone have an idea what I can try? I changed graphic settings already and tries with several settings - nothing. Always the same problem, seems it has nothing to do with my system recourses.
 
NielzDate: Sunday, 11.08.2013, 15:54 | Message # 7
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 29
Status: Offline
For me it helped to open main.cfg in SpaceEngine/config folder, search for "LoaderMode" and set to 1.
 
RaffnixDate: Monday, 12.08.2013, 19:20 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
WOW! Thank you so much, I think that was it, SE is running great now.
 
NielzDate: Monday, 12.08.2013, 20:10 | Message # 9
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 29
Status: Offline
You're welcome. smile
That tip is just from the troubleshooting thread. wink


Edited by Nielz - Monday, 12.08.2013, 20:12
 
SEUserDate: Tuesday, 20.08.2013, 10:39 | Message # 10
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Wow, this forum has some serious anti-spam and robot protections biggrin

I'm a new user here, and I too am having frequent crashes. The renderer engine is running on NVidia GeForce, and crashes happen most often when "Goto" distant objects, or if you are travelling at high speed (read many AU/second or parsecs). The crash observed gives no error message only the standard Windows (program has crashed.) I have a development environment installed, so I get the Debug option, but I do not have access to the source code, so it would just end up debugging to assembly anyway. Is there any way to diagnose the problem here?

Btw this program is an amazing piece of work which I am very impressed with - keep up the excellent work, and I'm amazed I've not found this program before now smile

Actually, I've tried the interleaved loading mode mentioned in this thread above, and it's improved the situation. The question now is why does asynchronous loading not work - sounds like a threading issue (deadlock?) somewhere?


Edited by SEUser - Tuesday, 20.08.2013, 10:44
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 20.08.2013, 17:43 | Message # 11
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (SEUser)
The question now is why does asynchronous loading not work

The crashes with asynchronous loading are caused by the engine trying to generate galaxy models and save them to the cache. I can't be more specific than that, but if you fly around the universe for a while and get all of the galaxy and nebula models saved to your cache then you can switch back to asynchronous loading without experiencing more crashes.

Maybe an optional download with the galaxy and nebula cache models can be put up somewhere so that you won't have to load them all first, I'll look into it.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » Frequent But Irregular Game Crashes
Page 1 of 11
Search: