RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » [v 0.96.2] Patches of bad textures appearing on landscapes
[v 0.96.2] Patches of bad textures appearing on landscapes
TyrannotitanDate: Sunday, 16.09.2012, 23:05 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Hey everybody, I've been using Space Engine for a few weeks now, and it is anincredible piece of software. However, I've recently noticed that when I get close to planetary surfaces, there tend to be areas of far lower texture than everywhere else, no matter the LOD setting. The program will say it's done loading the landscape, but there are these big blurry, low-detail textures that look out of place with even the lowest LOD.

I'm new here, so I'm not exactly sure what info to include, but I attached a screenshot as an example, and my se.log file, which hopefully will help.

Attachments: 9288072.log(20Kb) · 1428345.jpg(283Kb)
 
smjjamesDate: Monday, 17.09.2012, 00:30 | Message # 2
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Do you have fast loading on? Turn it off as it sacrifices fast loading times for texture quality.




 
TyrannotitanDate: Monday, 17.09.2012, 02:48 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Do you have fast loading on? Turn it off as it sacrifices fast loading times for texture quality.


Fast loading was already turned off, so I don't think it's that. I've noticed that the problem only seems to occur when I raise the LOD to 1 or 2 to take screenshots. Ocassionally black patches appear over the landscape as well.
 
SolarisDate: Monday, 17.09.2012, 03:02 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Hi Tyrannotitan, and welcome to the forum !
What are your pc spec? Have you tried to update your drivers?
 
TyrannotitanDate: Monday, 17.09.2012, 05:43 | Message # 5
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Quote (Solaris)
Hi Tyrannotitan, and welcome to the forum !
What are your pc spec? Have you tried to update your drivers?


Thanks!
I'm running Windows 7 64-bit. Heres the processor info:

Intel® Core™ i5 CPU
M 560 @ 2.67GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3828MB RAM

I have an NVidia GeForce GT 420M Graphics card, which did not have updated drivers. I'm updating them now, so I'll see if that works.

 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Troubleshooting and Solutions » [v 0.96.2] Patches of bad textures appearing on landscapes
Page 1 of 11
Search: