Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 8 of 61«126789106061»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.97
Work progress 0.97
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 19:00 | Message # 106
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
So I almost finished the Wiki system. It now supports all types of objects (except ships - some work here to be done), the object's name and description can be edited in-game, and database is saved on the disk:









The "Export" and "Import" functions are not implemented yet. "Export" will open a dialog where it asks you which database entries you would like to export - all of your discoveries or only the currently selected one, or something like this. The function then creates a script file and asks you where to save it. You may then attach it to a forum post or send it to a friend in email etc. The "Import" function will allow you to choose the downloaded script and merge it with your engine's database. This is a temporary solution, then the server networking will be implemented, it may be removed (or not, it may be useful for offline work).

The import function is a problem. What if your database already has the planet/galaxy that is in the imported script? If their names and descriptions are the same, there's no problem. But what if they are different? The import function may ask you what to do for every conflict situation: skip imported data, replace your data with imported, or write imported data to the end of yours. The last way seems to be the easiest, but may generate an almost doubling of descriptions and names, you should then edit them manually.

The other problem is the language. As long as SE supports localization, Russian, German and Italian, users would give names to their planets in their native language, and write a descriptions for it. So if you would wish to import their databases too, there will be a problem. SE now supports only one language at the same time (in addition to the default English), so a multi-language database will look like a mess of random characters. Even if I implement Unicode support (and probably the use of Windows fonts instead of a pre-baked font texture) and Wiki will show right characters, but names and descriptions of other languages will make no sense in most cases. You can't even find a planet with the F3 menu, because you can't type its name if its native language is not supported by your keyboard.

How can this be solved? Creating an independent community for every language is not a good choice. Forcing to give an English name, in addition to a native language name, may solve the problem with search, while the description will still be in another language. Of course I can't order users to learn English and write additional description in English. Suggestions?

*

Attachments: 1485829.jpg(322Kb) · 1667627.jpg(310Kb) · 3127432.jpg(309Kb) · 6457135.jpg(307Kb)





 
smjjamesDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 19:17 | Message # 107
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
A fall back option would be to use the 'zip code' that SE uses for every object that it generates, even though I agree that it isn't the best option.

Actually I do have one idea. Have a page that is a database of the wiki'd objects with an option to go to a selected object, maybe that can bypass the problem of the F3 search window. Searching within the wiki database would still bring up the language support issue however......

Or maybe, somehow make the letters with special characters be searchable as if they were latin alphabet characters? For example, an U with an umlaut above it would be searchable as an U.







Edited by smjjames - Sunday, 07.10.2012, 19:20
 
SolarisDate: Monday, 08.10.2012, 04:03 | Message # 108
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Quote
pioneer name: SpaceEngineer
discovery date: 2012.07.29 10h14m46s.56
status: unknown

Enter description here

Great.. I truly can't wait for this feature cool
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 18:30 | Message # 109
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Failed render of sprite cloud:



Instead of normal sptirtes (billboards), this is a set of randomly oriented triangles. Looks like a nebula, even not so bad from inside:



I making a particle system. But maybe save this "nebula" code as one of nebula rendering methods?

Attachments: 5213431.jpg(237Kb) · 8838304.jpg(277Kb)





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 18:37 | Message # 110
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Instead of normal sptirtes (billboards), this is a set of randomly oriented triangles. Looks like a nebula, even not so bad from inside:

I like it smile Definitely use it as an additional method for making nebulae.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
smjjamesDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 18:43 | Message # 111
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
I wouldn't call it failed and yeah add it to one of the nebula rendering methods. smile

I think it's simply different and it does look like it could be a supernova remnant actually. Also, you could add code to make the color random.





 
apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 18:51 | Message # 112
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
I like the look of that nebula, it would be nice to have a couple of them between the other procedural nebulae.

As for problems with different languages: I don't really think it's such a problem for the names, as I think it'll grant more character to some worlds if their names are in other languages as English. It might be a problem for languages that don't use the Latin alphabet, though... As for the descriptions, I really have no idea there. Maybe the problem of different alphabets could be solved by asking users entering a planet's name in a different alphabet to also provide a transliteration. But that depends on how well-known the Latin alphabet is in countries with different alphabets; I don't know if it's known enough that this would be feasible.





I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
SolarisDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 19:00 | Message # 113
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Failed render of sprite cloud
Why do you call it failed? It look great biggrin
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
But maybe save this "nebula" code as one of nebula rendering methods?
+1

Just for fun, some (very) failed galaxy sprites happy :
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 19:10 | Message # 114
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Quote (Solaris)
Just for fun, some (very) failed galaxy sprites

Wow, how did you do that first picture!? That looks fascinating!





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SolarisDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 19:16 | Message # 115
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
I've just roughly edited the sprites textures (data/texture/common).
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 19:34 | Message # 116
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote (Solaris)
I've just roughly edited the sprites textures (data/texture/common).

Cam you draw an atlas with 4...8 different dust clouds? Like this that used in Infinity:



I plan to improve galaxy rendering by using more dust sprite textures and finally obtain something like this (Infinity again):






 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 19:39 | Message # 117
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
I plan to improve galaxy rendering by using more dust sprite textures and finally obtain something like this

If you can do that, you will be a god amongst men surprised





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 19:45 | Message # 118
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
If the galaxy looks anything like that in .97 I may never close the program... cry




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SolarisDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 19:50 | Message # 119
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Cam you draw an atlas with 4...8 different dust clouds? Like this that used in Infinity:

Ok I'll try that.
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
I plan to improve galaxy rendering by using more dust sprite textures and finally obtain something like this (Infinity again):
That's great. I hope that will apply to nebulae too, as I already said, differents variety of dust sprites could be also good for the diversity of nebula models.
 
SalvoDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 19:52 | Message # 120
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
About wiki I have a very good idea, but it would be hard to implement, let you add more than 1 description, so who export a planet can write the description in all the languages that he knows...

About names i have 2 ideas:
1. Add unicode
2. Make some "translation", for example, if you write "a" it search for a, à, α, but it is not the best way i think smile





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.97
Page 8 of 61«126789106061»
Search: