Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 15 of 61«1213141516176061»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.97
Work progress 0.97
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 09:07 | Message # 211
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Can you specify a parameter NormalMap or such for custom planets to call a normal map from a file? This is what I meant, and I thought before that you said it was not implemented.

I don't understand, what do you mean? Unlike Celestia, SE uses bump maps instead of normal maps. Normal maps are used to shade flat surfaces, making it appear as 3D, while it still looks flat. Try to land on a planet in Celestia and you see no 3D mountains, just shadows of them on a flat surface. But SE uses bump (elevation) maps to create a 3D landscape. Normal maps for lighting the landscape are calculated automatically from bump maps, so the lighting is perfect and the landscape is fully 3D. No additional normal maps are needed.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Do you still have any plan to be able to select units? (ly, °C, °F, _m, etc.)

Of course.

*





 
Destroyer123Date: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 09:59 | Message # 212
Astronaut
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, is the uppdate out where do i download it?




"Somewhere something incredibly is wating to be known"
Carl sagan
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 10:31 | Message # 213
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Normal maps are used to shade flat surfaces, making it appear as 3D, while it still looks flat. Try to land on a planet in Celestia and you see no 3D mountains, just shadows of them on a flat surface.

Yes, I know that.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
No additional normal maps are needed.

Let me try to explain in the clearest possible way what I want for Normal Map functionality and why I want it.

There are worlds that I want to add into SE, custom worlds of mine, that I have texture files for (instead of using procedural generation). But for some of these worlds, I only have normal maps. No good bump map exists. So if I want to have a nice shaded surface that interacts with the lighting, I need to use the normal map. But I would have to be able to specify the normal map in the catalog file.

Take for example the following world: I have a diff map for it,

and a normal map for it.

NO GOOD BUMP MAP EXISTS.

But I want it to look good in SE; I don't care about terrain, I only care that it looks good from space. In Celestia, you can specify a normal map texture and get the lighting effect (look at the pretty mountains!)


In SE, however, even though it has normal map functionality, you cannot specify it in a catalog file. So I can only use a diff map for this world.


So that I what I mean. To be able to specify a normal map from a texture file to be used on a custom planet, like in Celestia.

Code
NormalMap   "norm_texture.*"

Even though most people would not use that functionality, I see no reason to exclude it, and I assume that it would not be hard to implement since SE already supports normal maps anyway.



Quote (Destroyer123)
SpaceEngineer, is the uppdate out where do i download it?

The next version will not be released until closer to the end of the year, you'll have to wait a bit longer.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Thursday, 01.11.2012, 10:33
 
SalvoDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 11:54 | Message # 214
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Improved performance (FPS) on planets

Finally biggrin
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
The next version will not be released until closer to the end of the year

Hope before the end of world xD





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Thursday, 01.11.2012, 11:55
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 12:02 | Message # 215
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (Salvo)
Hope before the end of world

haha SpaceEngineer made the same joke on the Russian forum biggrin





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
n3xtDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 12:50 | Message # 216
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 184
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer
Quote
Fixed a bug with "suqre shaped stars" when Real Sun Brightness on


Does that mean that the weird square shaped massive stars will become more or less round?

Anyway just check the attachment biggrin

I always find this very disturbing. Because they appear to big and square-like when Real Sun Brightness is turned on and yet too small (but round however) when it's turned off...

Attachments: 4155523.jpg(88Kb)
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 14:52 | Message # 217
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
ESI (Earth Similarity Index) in the planet's info table


Awesome, makes the search for earthlike planets easier smile

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
ESI (Earth Similarity Index) in the planet's info table

Nice!

Do you still have any plan to be able to select units? (ly, °C, °F, _m, etc.)


Yeah, it'd be nice to be able to know what the light years are rather than parsecs, and the temperature conversion would be great (even though I have a site which I can use to convert the numbers and I already know that the earth is 290k or so).





 
n3xtDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 15:03 | Message # 218
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 184
Status: Offline
HarbingerDawn:
Quote
Nice!

Do you still have any plan to be able to select units? (ly, °C, °F, _m, etc.)


Or perhaps an idea to use both as well for example

RS-Blablablablaaah

Type: Blue Ultra Super Dooper Giant haha
Distance: 100 pc (326 ly) or... 326 ly (100 pc) biggrin


Edited by n3xt - Thursday, 01.11.2012, 15:08
 
DukeDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 17:06 | Message # 219
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Antarctica
Messages: 88
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
But for some of these worlds, I only have normal maps. No good bump map exists. So if I want to have a nice shaded surface that interacts with the lighting, I need to use the normal map.

You can use ShaderMap (http://shadermap.com/features/) tool to convert maps from one type to another.


Edited by Duke - Thursday, 01.11.2012, 17:07
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 17:27 | Message # 220
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (n3xt)
HarbingerDawn:
Quote
Nice!

Do you still have any plan to be able to select units? (ly, °C, °F, _m, etc.)

Or perhaps an idea to use both as well for example

Distance: 100 pc (326 ly) or... 326 ly (100 pc) biggrin


Actually, I think you have a good idea there, similarily it could be 290K (62.33 °F) or 62.33 °F (290K) since it'd be cool to have both values, and perhaps have an option whether or not to show the default measurement?





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 18:51 | Message # 221
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
So that I what I mean. To be able to specify a normal map from a texture file to be used on a custom planet, like in Celestia.

Ok, I understand now.

Quote (smjjames)
You can use ShaderMap (http://shadermap.com/features/) tool to convert maps from one type to another.

You can't convert normal map to bump map with good quality. Normal map is obtained from bump map by differentiating. So to make back conversion, you should integrate the normal map. But any integration scheme will accumulate errors, that is exaggerated by low accuracy of 8-bit textures. So you will have noticeable gradient on whole bump map, in direction from left to right and from top to bottom.





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 19:03 | Message # 222
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
I wonder what to do with aurora brightness. As long as SE don't have proper auto exposure, brightness of aurora should be exaggerated to make it visible in night. It's real brightness is comparable or greater than brightness of Milky Way. But Milky Way brightness is exaggerated a bit too. So problem appears at day side of the planet: aurora is too noticeable. I'm speaking of view from space, while viewing from surface aurora's brightness (together and Milky Way, stars and comets) is suppressed be fake day light attenuation effect.


Attachments: 7655897.jpg(239Kb)





 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 19:08 | Message # 223
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3593
Status: Online
How does the engine decide what planet(s) get auroras?




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 19:27 | Message # 224
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
How does the engine decide what planet(s) get auroras?


I'm curious about this as well.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
I wonder what to do with aurora brightness. As long as SE don't have proper auto exposure, brightness of aurora should be exaggerated to make it visible in night. It's real brightness is comparable or greater than brightness of Milky Way. But Milky Way brightness is exaggerated a bit too. So problem appears at day side of the planet: aurora is too noticeable. I'm speaking of view from space, while viewing from surface aurora's brightness (together and Milky Way, stars and comets) is suppressed be fake day light attenuation effect.


Make it fade when exposed to sunlight?





 
SalvoDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 19:36 | Message # 225
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
I ask if could be possible to make that from space it's a bit more blurred, this will make it less noticeable in day side of the planet...

(I founded a very nice forum for game developers: http://gamedev.stackexchange.com/)





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Thursday, 01.11.2012, 19:37
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.97
Page 15 of 61«1213141516176061»
Search: