Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 14 of 61«1212131415166061»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.97
Work progress 0.97
SalvoDate: Monday, 29.10.2012, 21:19 | Message # 196
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
I hope no one will say: "There is no sound in space!" biggrin




The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 29.10.2012, 21:22 | Message # 197
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8712
Status: Online
I actually like the idea of sound being generated based on electromagnetic and charged particle environment near objects. It would really give a great environmental feel, and help to develop an intuitive sense of what's going on without needing to see it first.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
AlessiaCristalloooDate: Monday, 29.10.2012, 21:40 | Message # 198
Astronaut
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 44
Status: Offline
Someone said... SOUND? :DDD
I worked half day with NSX to make some very nice sounds and I hope they will implement it into Space Eninge soon smile
I know that I'm a bit monotonous but this is just a coincidence XD


Edited by AlessiaCristallooo - Monday, 29.10.2012, 21:43
 
Destroyer123Date: Tuesday, 30.10.2012, 11:23 | Message # 199
Astronaut
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 64
Status: Offline
When can we expect the uppdate to go live in 1 month 2 months? Next year can you tell me if you have the release date planned or if its still unknown?




"Somewhere something incredibly is wating to be known"
Carl sagan
 
Joey_PenguinDate: Wednesday, 31.10.2012, 01:03 | Message # 200
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 311
Status: Offline
Amazing surprise with the aurorae and comets! You've earned this delicious cake!






Careful. The PLATT Collective has spurs.
 
QuontexDate: Wednesday, 31.10.2012, 06:31 | Message # 201
Explorer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 155
Status: Offline
I Cannot wait for this new version, the aurorae, comets and evaporating planets. I just need to ask, are the tails animated like if we go behind a comet would we see dust, rocks and ice fly by? kinda like rings except a wee bit more 3D.

However t is, Excellent work with this program.





 
werdnaforeverDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 02:45 | Message # 202
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
When it comes to bringing the engine to life, I think that there are more important things than birds/procedural life. Things like waves, rain, lightning, thunder (that would be cool) are a higher priority IMHO.

The idea of sound from stars is interesting. Since we are talking about procedurally generating sound (or modifying files) for thousands to millions of stars, things may get a bit complicated. I would think that a sound engine would need to be created within SE to take everything into account, and that could take a while. I'm not an expert on the subject so I can't say any of that is 100% correct, though.

Quote (Joey_Penguin)
Amazing surprise with the aurorae and comets! You've earned this delicious cake!

I think you mean this:

Just kidding, it's a lie. Anyway, good work, SpaceEngineer!
 
BaleurDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 03:31 | Message # 203
Observer
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
Quote (boyan3001)
Names can be transcripted or translated through languges, beginnig with the first that named that object. So for example, if I call that star Бетелгез, english transcription will be Betlegeuse, german Beteigeuze and so on...
Everyone should have in mind to think on english first.


But..... Why? I really don't understand the need to translate custom names that people give stars or planets...
I mean, names have no need to be translated. There are tons of examples of this in real life. It's really a needless endeavor.

Yes Earth itself has different names in different languages, that's because we are all human beings from different cultures using different languages, that had to have a word to call our own world, while still being seperated from other cultures..
This is why the word for our planet in many languages is the same word that means, earth..... lol

However Space Engine deals with procedurally generated planets. Why would they need to be translated?
If an astronomer finds a planet or star, and names it after himself, that name should NOT be translated, because it's his own set designated name. Not subject to alteration.

If Carl Sagan put his name on a planet around Alpha Centauri, that planet should always be "Sagan", in every language. Granted it may be translated in terms of characters, but it shouldn't be translated in actual sound or composition.
If i ran across a planet with a russian name, written in russian characters. Or a chinese name, or a japanese name. I wouldn't mind. Why? Because it's a multi-cultural world we live in, there's no need to translate names.

And about the older discussion regarding real planet brightness, Harbinger is right.
I'll try to put it in more simple terms to explain what he tried desperately to explain several times already.

If you see Pluto with your own eyes, or a camera, it will appear as bright as the Moon of Earth does.
This is because everything else in space, everything surrounding both the Moon or Pluto, is equally dark.
Absolute pitch black darkness. So anything that recieves ANY light from the sun, no matter the distance (within a solar system), will still be automatically adjusted in your eyes or the camera to appear bright. Because there is nothing else to appear bright.

This is why your eyes have dark vision and day vision. This is why you can't see anything in a dark room after being out in the sun, but after a few minutes your light bulb in a dark sealed room appears as bright as the sun did when you were outside.
Eyes adjust, as do cameras.

Planets do NOT appear dimmer because they are further away from the sun, because there is no surrounding environment to cause them to appear dimmer in relation to. Eveyrthing around them is black. Now, if the solar system was surrounded by a bright nebula, THEN the planets would become hard to see further from the sun.


Edited by Baleur - Thursday, 01.11.2012, 03:33
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 03:39 | Message # 204
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8712
Status: Online
Quote (werdnaforever)
Things like waves, rain, lightning, thunder (that would be cool) are a higher priority IMHO.

Things like clouds are a higher priority. Imagine having lightning without 3D clouds.

So 3D clouds and water effects, increased spacecraft functionality, procedural galaxy model and nebula model generation, joystick support, night-side lighting maps for planets, normal map support for planets, scripted procedural asteroid belts, 3D rings, proto-planetary disks, sound implementation, and spacecraft effects should all have priority over weather-type effects.

Quote (Baleur)
So anything that recieves ANY light from the sun, no matter the distance (within a solar system), will still be automatically adjusted in your eyes or the camera to appear bright.

Yes. The limit is when you get to the same level of adjustment necessary to expose stars at the specified magnitude limit. THEN planets should get dimmer after that, otherwise you would have to make stars brighter to maintain a consistent scene. But otherwise yes, the planets should all look the same brightness because the camera adjusts.

I'm glad that SOMEONE finally understands wink





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Thursday, 01.11.2012, 03:44
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 03:49 | Message # 205
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (Baleur)

Planets do NOT appear dimmer because they are further away from the sun, because there is no surrounding environment to cause them to appear dimmer in relation to. Eveyrthing around them is black. Now, if the solar system was surrounded by a bright nebula, THEN the planets would become hard to see further from the sun.


There would still be a point where there is so little light that the object would still seem kind of dim. But according to you, that would have to be thousands of AU out I think.

Also, theres the composition of the object which affects it's albedo (or reflectivity), so a low albedo object could still appear dark.





 
BaleurDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 03:53 | Message # 206
Observer
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
Heck i don't even need 3d clouds, 2d sprites would be fine enough.
Look at FSX with REX, the clouds can look spectacular (especially with soft bloom) and yet they are indeed just cheap-to-render 2d billboards.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFmDGzGE_-k

Why do 3d for 3d's sake, if 2d sprites look just as good for increased framerate? =)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 03:55 | Message # 207
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8712
Status: Online
Quote (smjjames)
But according to you, that would have to be thousands of AU out I think.

I think I might have said at some point what distance that would be (for Sol, anyway). It would be farther than any object in SE orbits. Like I said, 99% of worlds in SE would never experience that dimming effect if it were implemented properly.

Quote (smjjames)
Also, theres the composition of the object which affects it's albedo (or reflectivity), so a low albedo object could still appear dark.

No. You don't get it. It would appear darker than another object with a higher albedo at the same distance, but by itself it would still reflect enough light to outshine the stars out to hundreds of AU. It would just cross that low-light threshold closer than a brighter object would. Otherwise it would only appear to look dark in comparison to another nearby bright object.

Quote (Baleur)
Heck i don't even need 3d clouds, 2d sprites would be fine enough.

That is what I meant by 3D clouds. Sprites arranged in a 3-dimensional way. Like nebula and galaxy models already are, for example. You could get great 3D clouds by using no more than 5000 sprites at a time I would think, so that would have very little impact on framerate.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Thursday, 01.11.2012, 03:59
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 08:31 | Message # 208
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Latest upgrades

  • Various upgrades in the Universe Map
  • Real planet brightness can be disabled in the Solar System Browser
  • Red giants and asteroids are rendered with landscape in the Solar System Browser
  • Right click on the root star or barycenter in the Solar System Browser selects the star system itself
  • ESI (Earth Similarity Index) in the planet's info table
  • Improved rendering of interstellar dust in galaxies
  • Comets and evaporating planets
  • Auroras
  • Improved performance (FPS) on planets

    Latest bug fixes

  • Fixed a bug with "suqre shaped stars" when Real Sun Brightness on
  • Fixed incorect age of stars in multiple systems
  • Fixed bug with stars generated outside star cluster boundaries




  •  
    SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 08:45 | Message # 209
    Author of Space Engine
    Group: Administrators
    Russian Federation
    Messages: 4796
    Status: Offline
    Quote (HarbingerDawn)
    normal map support for planets

    This was even in SE 0.5 smile Shadows on the mountains are made using normal mapping (well, not actually true shadows, but dependence of the lighting value off the angle between sun rays and surface).





     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 01.11.2012, 08:51 | Message # 210
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8712
    Status: Online
    Quote (SpaceEngineer)
    This was even in SE 0.5

    Can you specify a parameter NormalMap or such for custom planets to call a normal map from a file? This is what I meant, and I thought before that you said it was not implemented.

    Quote (SpaceEngineer)
    ESI (Earth Similarity Index) in the planet's info table

    Nice!

    Do you still have any plan to be able to select units? (ly, °C, °F, _m, etc.)





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


    Edited by HarbingerDawn - Thursday, 01.11.2012, 08:54
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.97
    Page 14 of 61«1212131415166061»
    Search: