Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 5 of 25«12345672425»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting - SpaceEngine 0.96 (Ways to fix errors with SE 0.96)
Troubleshooting - SpaceEngine 0.96
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 25.07.2012, 15:35 | Message # 61
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Please post your se.log file.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
GAM3HAZARDDate: Wednesday, 25.07.2012, 15:45 | Message # 62
Observer
Group: Newbies
Netherlands
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Please post your se.log file.

There you go smile

Attachments: 3563611.log(28Kb)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 25.07.2012, 15:59 | Message # 63
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Well nothing seems to be amiss there. What in-game graphics settings are you using? Preferably post a screenshot of the in-game graphics menu (Ctrl-F4).




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
GAM3HAZARDDate: Wednesday, 25.07.2012, 16:05 | Message # 64
Observer
Group: Newbies
Netherlands
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
There you go smile
Attachments: 8189203.jpg(206Kb)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 25.07.2012, 16:15 | Message # 65
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Hmm. I'm not sure what the problem is. It may be similar to the memory-related crashes that many people seem to be having. There may be a patch or some other solution for that soon. I'll link a relevant thread below. Do you monitor your RAM/VRAM usage while using SE? It might be useful data to have for determining the cause of your crashes.

Also, go into your main.cfg file and find the section // turn off problem functionality and set all values to true, and see if that has any effect.

Discussion of memory issues/related crashes: http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/4-705-8





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
n3xtDate: Wednesday, 25.07.2012, 22:50 | Message # 66
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 184
Status: Offline
Sooo, what should I basically do with this? Sorry I have to ask this but unfortunately it's hard for me to understand angry

Talyn

Quote
For everyone who is having crash issues related with RAM/VRAM, I seem to have solved the problem with a simple trick


I used to have 0.96 crash really BAD and now I don't even remember my last crash.

Here is what I have done: (WARNING, math post from here on)

Supose you have a graphics card like mine with 640 MB of VRAM and you are using the NVIDIA trick to borrow some system RAM but you only have 2 GB and running windows 7 (x64)

2048 + 640 = 2688 of total memory

Allowing the Operating System to use some VRAM say 15%, we get:

640*0.15=96

640-96=544 VRAM available for SE

Now the RAM:

Allowing the Operating system some breathing room, lets give it say 1200 MB of RAM

2048-1200=848

All toguether, in this system we can afford to give SE 848 MB of RAM plus 544 MB of VRAM wich gives us a grand total of 1392

I have tested this configuration on a computer with this specs and the result was the same as on my PC. A stable system, thow a bit on the edge when it reaches the limited amount of memory available because sometimes the Operating System needs more than the 1200 MB that we have reserved for it and the SWAP file begins to work overtime. I also found it helps to have a BIG custom SWAP file and if you have two different hard drives, to have 2 BIG SWAP files, one on each hard drive (not logial, but PHYSICAL)

This allows the computer to recover most of the times, even when it freezes for a few seconds, but hardly ever crashing

Hope that helps

Me: I bet it does help but could anyone explain this in simplicity please? o.o


Edited by n3xt - Wednesday, 25.07.2012, 23:01
 
n3xtDate: Thursday, 26.07.2012, 20:47 | Message # 67
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 184
Status: Offline
Is it also possible to crash when I have Compress textures on?
Or does it makes no difference at all? wacko
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 26.07.2012, 22:11 | Message # 68
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Quote (n3xt)
Is it also possible to crash when I have Compress textures on?
Or does it makes no difference at all?

It is still possible to crash when you have compress textures on. In fact, it is always possible to crash. But having compress textures on helps, as it allows you to load textures from the disk (like spaceship and Solar system planet textures) while using less memory.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SharpshooterDate: Friday, 27.07.2012, 13:06 | Message # 69
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
Hello. My Space Engine v 96.1 crashes too often usually when try to approach a planet or moon or galaxy. Although the previous version wasn't crashing at all. I use win 7 32-bit
CPU Pentium D @ 3.4 Ghz
RAM 3 Gb
Graphics GeForce 9800 GT
GPU 1 Gb
I post my se.log too if that helps. Thanks

Attachments: 7890406.log(23Kb)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 28.07.2012, 00:59 | Message # 70
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Well, I have just uploaded the patch 0.9.6.2, hope it helps.




 
EnkiDate: Sunday, 05.08.2012, 18:01 | Message # 71
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 67
Status: Offline
So I read it was a graphics card thing, but I also want to know a few things about the issue, being as I have an unusual case.

I have an onboard graphics card and 1.7 GB of RAM allocated. But I put an emulator for a DirectX 9 video card, Geforce 8800 GS 512 mb, in the directory. Is a Geforce 8800 GS sufficient?

Does the program use DirectX 10? If it does, then it's been reading off of my physical video card and that would explain the trouble.





"If you arrive at a contradiction, check your premises. You will find that one of them is wrong." - Ayn Rand
"It may be that our purpose on Earth is not to find God, but to create him." - Arthur C. Clarke
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 05.08.2012, 18:10 | Message # 72
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
SE uses OpenGL, not DirectX.




 
EnkiDate: Monday, 06.08.2012, 16:50 | Message # 73
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 67
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
SE uses OpenGL, not DirectX.

So it's running off my physical card.
No way around this?





"If you arrive at a contradiction, check your premises. You will find that one of them is wrong." - Ayn Rand
"It may be that our purpose on Earth is not to find God, but to create him." - Arthur C. Clarke


Edited by Enki - Monday, 06.08.2012, 16:50
 
anonymousgamerDate: Monday, 06.08.2012, 17:01 | Message # 74
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
I'm quite sure SE does not use allocated RAM as VRAM, so your case might simply be a lack of video memory. What's your physical card?




Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
EnkiDate: Sunday, 12.08.2012, 20:45 | Message # 75
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 67
Status: Offline
I've had internet troubles over the last few days. Sorry for the delay.
My physical card is a 64mb HD series. I have 1.7 GB allocated from RAM.





"If you arrive at a contradiction, check your premises. You will find that one of them is wrong." - Ayn Rand
"It may be that our purpose on Earth is not to find God, but to create him." - Arthur C. Clarke
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Troubleshooting - SpaceEngine 0.96 (Ways to fix errors with SE 0.96)
Page 5 of 25«12345672425»
Search: