Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 34 of 44«1232333435364344»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Bug Reports for Version 0.96 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
Bug Reports for Version 0.96
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 05.07.2012, 19:52 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the "se.log" and is located in the SpaceEngine's directory). Only the log file will help me to understand your problem and find a solution.

*
 
apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 24.10.2012, 22:08 | Message # 496
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
I think it's correct that giants with a higher spectral number are more luminous. A higher spectral number means the star is cooler and further to being red, and in giants of comparable mass this means the cooler star is bigger (the heat of its core is getting spread out over a larger surface). This increase in size makes them more luminous.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 24.10.2012, 22:10 | Message # 497
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Wait, the luminosity sequence for giants seems to be backwards??

Yes, it is:






 
smjjamesDate: Wednesday, 24.10.2012, 22:13 | Message # 498
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (apenpaap)
I think it's correct that giants with a higher spectral number are more luminous. A higher spectral number means the star is cooler and further to being red, and in giants of comparable mass this means the cooler star is bigger (the heat of its core is getting spread out over a larger surface). This increase in size makes them more luminous.


Oh I see, I thought the spectral number had to do with the luminosity as well. At least in the main sequence, the luminosity goes down (in general) with a higher spectral number, which confused me all over the place. In any case, some of the G0 giants may actually be subgiants and SE simply doesn't support that yet.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Quote (smjjames)
Wait, the luminosity sequence for giants seems to be backwards??

Yes, it is:


Okay then.

The puzzle of the G0 giant stars will have to be figured out since although higher numbers exist, the G0 giants seem more prevalent than they would be.







Edited by smjjames - Wednesday, 24.10.2012, 22:17
 
anonymousgamerDate: Wednesday, 24.10.2012, 23:56 | Message # 499
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
What is this I don't even


Attachments: 1022312.jpg(362Kb)





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 25.10.2012, 00:00 | Message # 500
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
What is this I don't even


Are the suns eclipsing? The eclipse shadow acts strange when one star is eclipsing another and that looks like the same effect.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 25.10.2012, 00:01 | Message # 501
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
What is this I don't even

That's an eclipse bug. It's been reported about a thousand times now and has been in (and been reported for) every version of SE since this forum has existed.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
anonymousgamerDate: Thursday, 25.10.2012, 01:12 | Message # 502
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
That's an eclipse bug.


Oh I see, the 2 stars were eclipsing. I just haven't seen the bug on a giant yet and it looked strange, almost like it was the planet itself.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 25.10.2012, 20:47 | Message # 503
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
While setting up for a screenshot over an Oceanias water surface, I noticed a graphical oddity with the water reflection where it breaks along a certain point and jiggles around.. You have to be within a few hundred meters of the water surface for it to be noticeable.



Attachments: 3397892.jpg(77Kb) · 9468990.jpg(62Kb)





 
anonymousgamerDate: Thursday, 25.10.2012, 23:36 | Message # 504
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
I'm not sure if this has been reported already. But I have found a procedural red dwarf so small that the model glitches out when close to it and the center of the star is not on the screen.



Attachments: 9298813.jpg(193Kb) · 4001616.jpg(501Kb)





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 25.10.2012, 23:40 | Message # 505
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
I'm not sure if this has been reported already. But I have found a procedural red dwarf so small that the model glitches out when close to it and the center of the star is not on the screen.

That looks more like an eclipse bug to me. The star is not smaller than it should be, it's about the right size.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
anonymousgamerDate: Thursday, 25.10.2012, 23:51 | Message # 506
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
That looks more like an eclipse bug to me.


The same bug occurred when I custom made a really big red giant, so I'm not sure.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 26.10.2012, 00:05 | Message # 507
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
I just went to the system to check it out, and I saw no problem with the star at any time from any angle from any distance. Not sure what caused that effect for you.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
smjjamesDate: Friday, 26.10.2012, 00:12 | Message # 508
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I just went to the system to check it out, and I saw no problem with the star at any time from any angle from any distance. Not sure what caused that effect for you.


Could you or anonymousgamer, post the location code? I tried to get to it using the search box, but it can't find it for some reason, and I am sure I'm typing it correctly.

Edit: Wait, let me try the barycenter. Edit2: Nope.







Edited by smjjames - Friday, 26.10.2012, 00:18
 
anonymousgamerDate: Friday, 26.10.2012, 00:22 | Message # 509
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
It's RS 8403-173-9-95916700-230.

Also, I checked and it's not an eclipse error. The picture below shows the orientation of the 3 stars in the system.


Attachments: 6734555.jpg(116Kb)





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
smjjamesDate: Friday, 26.10.2012, 00:25 | Message # 510
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
I tried that and I get an object not found. Not sure if it's because I don't have that custom flare or not, but I don't have any different settings.

Edit: I put 8402 instead of 8403 and got there, wierd.







Edited by smjjames - Friday, 26.10.2012, 00:29
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Bug Reports for Version 0.96 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
Page 34 of 44«1232333435364344»
Search: