RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 32 of 44«1230313233344344»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Bug Reports for Version 0.96 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
Bug Reports for Version 0.96
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 05.07.2012, 19:52 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the "se.log" and is located in the SpaceEngine's directory). Only the log file will help me to understand your problem and find a solution.

*
 
smjjamesDate: Wednesday, 17.10.2012, 22:08 | Message # 466
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Found a collision event of a planet with a star. Also, shouldn't F11 take a screenshot without the options/settings boxes?




A few minutes before impact, watch in real time.
Place "IMPACT!"
{
Body "RS 4029-1129-8-12376326-112 1"
Parent ""
Pos (-4.417251579704601e-011, 9.145748860930197e-011, -2.271584422842456e-010)
Rot (-0.08687934204373904, 0.7533599798312041, -0.6236190991337848, -0.1897365012598827)
Date "2014.12.02 12:22:00.04"
Vel 2.4883059e-011
Mode 1
}

Attachments: 5170892.jpg(263Kb) · 0000908.jpg(197Kb)





 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 17.10.2012, 22:27 | Message # 467
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
That would be so incredible if SE had collisions physics.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 17.10.2012, 22:55 | Message # 468
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Something in the planet generator which prevented the planet's pericenter distance from being less than the radius of the planet plus the radius of the star would solve the collision issue.

PericenDist > Rp + Rs





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 18.10.2012, 01:15 | Message # 469
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Something in the planet generator which prevented the planet's pericenter distance from being less than the radius of the planet plus the radius of the star would solve the collision issue.

This is used, but a much stronger limit is temperature. SE calculates a minimum distance at which planet's surface temperature should never be more than 2000 K. This distance is always greater than the sum of radii.
Anyway, SE uses SMA for this, so such s collision bug may be if planet has an extremely elliptical orbit.

*





 
apenpaapDate: Thursday, 18.10.2012, 10:05 | Message # 470
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Ah, so that's why blue stars never have planets until you're really far away from them?




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 18.10.2012, 13:42 | Message # 471
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (apenpaap)
Ah, so that's why blue stars never have planets until you're really far away from them?


And probably why some blue stars in binaries don't have planets at all?

SpaceEngineer, what about this issue that I've noticed:
Quote (smjjames)
While I was looking around at planets, I've noticed an odd gap with diameters. I've seen rocky planets which are 2._ Earth diameter and small gas giants close to the 4x Earth diameter point, but strangely, in all my travels, I haven't seen a world that is in the 3x Earth diameter range. In fact, Neptune is 3.8 Earth diameter, and we've found plenty of exoplanets in that range, so it doesn't make sense to me for SE to have that gap there.





 
Antza2Date: Thursday, 18.10.2012, 14:50 | Message # 472
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Found a collision event of a planet with a star.

Island on a star biggrin

Attachments: 3984518.jpg(320Kb)





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!

Edited by Antza2 - Thursday, 18.10.2012, 14:51
 
apenpaapDate: Thursday, 18.10.2012, 16:15 | Message # 473
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
And probably why some blue stars in binaries don't have planets at all?


Yeah, indeed. Because I think planets don't get procedurally generated beyond a thousand AU from their sun, so if it is still 2000 K at this distance (:O) there would probably be no planets generated. I think switching to planet radius+ star radius might work better than the current distance limit, considering it seems to be preventing the enormous menageries of planets that you'd expect heavy blue stars to have.





I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 18.10.2012, 16:29 | Message # 474
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (apenpaap)
Quote (smjjames)
And probably why some blue stars in binaries don't have planets at all?

Yeah, indeed. Because I think planets don't get procedurally generated beyond a thousand AU from their sun, so if it is still 2000 K at this distance (:O) there would probably be no planets generated. I think switching to planet radius+ star radius might work better than the current distance limit, considering it seems to be preventing the enormous menageries of planets that you'd expect heavy blue stars to have.


At most, binary blue stars have 2, maybe 3 planets if they are a well separated binary.

I agree that switching to star radius+ planet radius (or vice versa) might work better because the diamond planet (55 Cancri e) that was discovered has a surface temperature of 3,900 Fahrenheight, which is 2422 Kelvin. So, maybe the 2000K limit doesn't really make much sense anymore?

Also, I thought I read somewhere that SE does a collision check within a thousand years (in either direction or just cumulative?) of the generation point?

Edit: Just out of curiosity, nebulae like this type of procedural nebula are supposed to be dark, right? I know dark clouds like this would be called molecular clouds or dark nebulae (the horsehead nebula is a well known example), so I know it may not be a bug, hoiwever, I'm just asking.

Attachments: 7683428.jpg(388Kb)







Edited by smjjames - Thursday, 18.10.2012, 17:16
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 18.10.2012, 20:08 | Message # 475
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Hrm, are red dwarfs still bugged even in single star systems? I mean, look at the masses of this (tiny) sample with a few orange dwarfs for comparison. I know there will be some variation and overlap, but having two red dwarfs with the masses of G class stars? The largest red dwarfs get around 0.6 solar masses, but something seems strange with the masses of some red dwarfs.

I had heard that they were bugged in multiple star systems, but I got to wondering, what about the red dwarf single star systems.

The Orange Dwarfs seem okay, although the K9 V star that I used seems to be an outlier.








Attachments: 7834965.jpg(157Kb) · 5574495.jpg(219Kb) · 7585333.jpg(237Kb) · 0544041.jpg(181Kb) · 1441167.jpg(123Kb) · 2248088.jpg(207Kb) · 9156101.jpg(193Kb)







Edited by smjjames - Thursday, 18.10.2012, 20:21
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 18.10.2012, 22:49 | Message # 476
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Just out of curiosity, nebulae like this type of procedural nebula are supposed to be dark, right?

Yes, that is supposed to be dark. That nebula model was made by Solaris and was one of the best additions to 0.9.6.2 in my opinion.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 19.10.2012, 13:10 | Message # 477
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Hot blue stars probably have no planets at all, because their powerful UV radiation and solar wind destroys dust particles and ionizes gas in the protoplanetary disk and would quickly blow it out of the system. They have another limit - the lifetime. Planets must have 10 or more million years to be formed around Sun-like stars, and even more time in the very wide system of blue stars. But blue star becomes a supernovae before its planets gets formed.

Quote (smjjames)
I agree that switching to star radius+ planet radius (or vice versa) might work better because the diamond planet (55 Cancri e) that was discovered has a surface temperature of 3,900 Fahrenheight, which is 2422 Kelvin. So, maybe the 2000K limit doesn't really make much sense anymore?

No, this is bad idea. If using this method, SE will generate planets with surface temperature of 6000K or 10000K. Does this make sense? 3000K is probably the higher limit for a planet's temperature, only a massive gas giant may survive in such heat. At 3000K even most high-melting minerals becomes a vapor and may be lost as planet's atmosphere.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 19.10.2012, 14:20 | Message # 478
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
No, this is bad idea. If using this method, SE will generate planets with surface temperature of 6000K or 10000K. Does this make sense?

Is there a way to combine the method? To generate a planet and then have the engine check whether its PericenDist > Rp + Rs ?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
smjjamesDate: Friday, 19.10.2012, 14:41 | Message # 479
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Hot blue stars probably have no planets at all, because their powerful UV radiation and solar wind destroys dust particles and ionizes gas in the protoplanetary disk and quickly blow it out of the system. They have another limit - the lifetime. Planets must have 10 or more million years to be formed around Sun-like stars, and even more time in the very wide system of blue stars. But blue star becomes a supernovae before its planets gets formed.


Along that line of thought, maybe we can make planet formation a minimum of 10 million years of age for the star system?

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Quote (smjjames)
I agree that switching to star radius+ planet radius (or vice versa) might work better because the diamond planet (55 Cancri e) that was discovered has a surface temperature of 3,900 Fahrenheight, which is 2422 Kelvin. So, maybe the 2000K limit doesn't really make much sense anymore?

No, this is bad idea. If using this method, SE will generate planets with surface temperature of 6000K or 10000K. Does this make sense? 3000K is probably the higher limit for planet's temperature, only massive gas giant may survive in such heat. At 3000K even most high-melting minerals becomes a vapor and may be lost as planet's atmosphere.


Point taken. While the diamond planet might be a bit of an outlier, maybe increase the limit to 2500K to reflect what we have seen in real life?

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
No, this is bad idea. If using this method, SE will generate planets with surface temperature of 6000K or 10000K. Does this have sence?

Is there a way to combine the method? To generate a planet and then have the engine check whether its PericenDist > Rp + Rs ?


^As Harb said, maybe combine the two methods?





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 19.10.2012, 15:30 | Message # 480
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
maybe we can make planet formation a minimum of 10 million years of age for the star system?

Better to make it around 100 million years. The formation of planetesimals/early protoplanets is complete after around 10 million years, but it could take up to 100 million for those to consolidate into a final set of planets.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Bug Reports for Version 0.96 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
Page 32 of 44«1230313233344344»
Search: