Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 30 of 44«1228293031324344»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Bug Reports for Version 0.96 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
Bug Reports for Version 0.96
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 05.07.2012, 19:52 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the "se.log" and is located in the SpaceEngine's directory). Only the log file will help me to understand your problem and find a solution.

*
 
smjjamesDate: Saturday, 06.10.2012, 16:03 | Message # 436
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
You know, I've gotta wonder how a scorched oceania like this one gets procedurally generated, place is hot enough to melt some metals......

The orbit itself is fairly circular, the temperature reading never goes below 840K, so I know it's not due to because it was in a cooler area when it was generated, as can be the case of elliptical orbits and SE.


Attachments: 7860896.jpg(167Kb)





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 06.10.2012, 21:06 | Message # 437
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Hot oceania still can exist. It may migrate close to sun during evolution of planetary system, and still hold water due to its huge gravity. Water will be in critical state, with smooth transition from vapor to liquid, and 100 km deep inside water becomes an ice-VII, like in normal cold water/icy worlds.




 
smjjamesDate: Saturday, 06.10.2012, 21:30 | Message # 438
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Hot oceania still can exist. It may migrate close to sun during evolution of planetary system, and still hold water due to its huge gravity. Water will be in critical state, with smooth transition from vapor to liquid, and 100 km deep inside water becomes an ice-VII, like in normal cold water/icy worlds.


Yeah, I think there may be one exoplanet which is like this. I've heard about the possibility of super earths with lots of water having atmospheres so thick with water vapor that there isn't a clear boundary of transition and more like a zone. However, shouldn't the atmospheric pressure be thicker for that particular scorched oceania?





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 08:58 | Message # 439
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
As I say somewhere yesterday, SE not yet model physical conditions on the planets.




 
NeapolitanBoyDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 13:55 | Message # 440
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 34
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
As I say somewhere yesterday, SE not yet model physical conditions on the planets.


SpaceEngineer, in my opinion, when physical conditions on planets will be implemented, Space Engine will be the absolute best software in the world.

I think it should be one of the first things to implement.

I am a writer, and I would like to write a story which takes place on a tidally locked planet. My desire is a software that teaches me what living on such a planet means: where is it impossible to live? At what longitude does water start to boil?

And we are lucky, because you are an astronomer and a programmer, so we know that everything you'll create will be an occasion for us to really understand what real space is about.

Greetings.
 
FeffoDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 17:33 | Message # 441
Observer
Group: Newbies
Italy
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
Hi everyone! I'm new here biggrin
I've got this problem with the sunflare of every star, maybe it is not only mine but i didn't find anything in the forum.
When i land on the planets and the sun sets behind a mountain, the flare remain visible until the star passes over the horizon of the planet.
Is this a known problem?
 
SolarisDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 17:48 | Message # 442
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Hello Feffo, welcome to the forum! Please take a moment to read the forum rules.

Yes this is a known issue.
I've moved your message, in the future, please post the bugs you found in the Bug Reports for Version 0.96 (this thread)
thanks !
 
smjjamesDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 21:32 | Message # 443
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Is it me or does Pluto's atmosphere appear to be thicker than it is when viewed from space? I don't mean the number given, I mean the graphical representation of the atmospheric shell. It also looks separated from the planet at that angle, which is odd.

Attachments: 4688527.jpg(190Kb)







Edited by smjjames - Sunday, 07.10.2012, 21:33
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 22:05 | Message # 444
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
It also looks separated from the planet at that angle, which is odd.

That is the shadow of the planet being cast on the lower parts of the atmosphere (at least it's supposed to be I think). It does have an odd appearance though, you're right.

The reason it looks so extended is because of Pluto's low gravity. The height of the atmosphere has actually been directly measured, and it is quite high.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Sunday, 07.10.2012, 22:08
 
smjjamesDate: Sunday, 07.10.2012, 22:15 | Message # 445
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
The reason it looks so extended is because of Pluto's low gravity. The height of the atmosphere has actually been directly measured, and it is quite high.


I see, makes sense to me then.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
That is the shadow of the planet being cast on the lower parts of the atmosphere (at least it's supposed to be I think). It does have an odd appearance though, you're right.


Probably is, and I guess it is just more noticeable than it is with other similar size worlds with atmosphere because Pluto's atmosphere is so high.





 
smjjamesDate: Tuesday, 09.10.2012, 02:01 | Message # 446
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Okay, this is beyond odd. When I went to the galaxy 7294 went to a system in it, clicked on a planet and suddendly it's orbit path started blinking red and yellow. I checked out another systemn in the galaxy, same thing, went back to sol to make sure that the graphics weren't wierding out, okay, Sol is fine, checked out another galaxy or two, fine there. I exited the program just to make sure, even cleared out the cache to see if that would help, but it's apparently confined to this galaxy.

This particular galaxy also seems a bit odd to me somehow, I can't quite place it, not to mention that it's strangely laggy, which I haven't had in SE, and I'm still on the outskirts of this galaxy.

For quick travel, you can go to this location posted below. It also has a gas giant in a fast (80 day) and highly eccentric orbit that would clearly have knocked the other planets out long ago, but that's a different issue entirely and not related to the one I'm talking about

Once there, click on any planet. Also, if you go to the fifth planet in the system, you'll notice that the rings blink, which is even odder O.o
Place "Star K5 V"
{
Body "RS 8257-6198-9-14807584-1"
Parent ""
Pos (-1.454324848569871e-005, 3.806094505142283e-005, 1.833000796609685e-005)
Rot (-0.8111291090684925, 0.5401222530570914, 0.05597955416609538, -0.2172643774060768)
Date "2012.10.09 00:31:25.33"
Vel 4.8481368e-005
Mode 1
}

Edit: If I have nothing selected, the rings still blink O.o , there is definetly something not normal with this galaxy.

Edit2: Some stars have the strangeness, some don't, and when you go to the universe map and zoom out to galaxy level, you'll see that there are two names on top of each other. Maybe somehow two galaxies got put on the same spot or it got duplicated?







Edited by smjjames - Tuesday, 09.10.2012, 02:10
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 09.10.2012, 13:08 | Message # 447
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Maybe somehow two galaxies got put on the same spot or it got duplicated?


You're right, there is two identical galaxies at the same place. SE generates identical stars and planets for them. If you quickly click on the star, you will see how its name changed: "RS 8257-..." / "RS 8258-...". If you open galaxy10k.sc script, you may find there two galaxies "IC 5225". Remove one of them to fix this bug.





 
smjjamesDate: Tuesday, 09.10.2012, 15:50 | Message # 448
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)

You're right, there is two identical galaxies at the same place. SE generates identical stars and planets for them. If you quickly click on the star, you will see how its name changed: "RS 8257-..." / "RS 8258-...". If you open galaxy10k.sc script, you may find there two galaxies "IC 5225". Remove one of them to fix this bug.


Got it fixed now, thanks. Now I guess the only real bug that I can report now from there is that highly elliptical gas giant which SE somehow failed to do a collision check for.

Edit: I found a spot where it comes very close to the terran with life on it, but the gas giants orbit goes below the terrans orbit, so it can't actually collide, but it IS gravitationally unstable.







Edited by smjjames - Tuesday, 09.10.2012, 15:56
 
smjjamesDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 22:00 | Message # 449
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
What is this, a procedural dark matter galaxy? I found it randomly, seriously. I checked a few other procedural galaxies and it's just that one which is missing a model for it.

Edit: I went to another SBd type spiral and that too has the model missing, went and checked my cache folder and I don't have that model, so I don't know whether its because I don't have the model or SE doesn't. Going to try and find an SBd type galaxy in the catalog and see what happens.

Edit2: In doing a google (and a quick wiki) search does find various SBd galaxies, but the ones in SE are either SBc or something else.

Edit: I did a quick forum search and it looks like it was mentioned last year, maybe it's a known issue that was forgotten about?



Place "Dark Matter galaxy???"
{
Body "RG 0-8-10883284-730"
Parent ""
Pos (7066.066333855048, -10219.25405120818, -17224.52675771809)
Rot (0.1865010253723874, 0.9050912497294289, -0.2938102248318925, 0.2443414598108586)
Date "2012.10.10 20:53:59.91"
Vel 10000
Mode 1
}

Attachments: 0997516.jpg(275Kb)







Edited by smjjames - Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 22:17
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 22:21 | Message # 450
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
SE has no SBd models, I should remove this type, because it is not in Hubble calssification. 'd' means dwarf galaxy.




 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Bug Reports for Version 0.96 (Please post here any bugs you find in SpaceEngine)
Page 30 of 44«1228293031324344»
Search: