RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 7 of 10«125678910»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.96
Work progress 0.96
ogggrezDate: Sunday, 24.06.2012, 11:25 | Message # 91
Astronaut
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 60
Status: Offline
Wow!, Those pics look awesome, i especially like the look of the Canyons, they look epic! Can't wait for this! smile




"You can't take the skies from me"
 
PhysXDate: Thursday, 28.06.2012, 16:20 | Message # 92
Observer
Group: Newbies
Netherlands
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
please,please,please and for the last time PLEASE make a mac version of this really awesome game! i do't want to install parallel desktops so please make a mac version for the people here! this game is tons and tons better than celestia! make all mac users happy and PLEASE make a mac version!
 
miros_0571Date: Thursday, 28.06.2012, 17:40 | Message # 93
Astronaut
Group: Banned
Ukraine
Messages: 54
Status: Offline
Quote (PhysX)
please,please,please and for the last time PLEASE make a mac version of this really awesome game! i do't want to install parallel desktops so please make a mac version for the people here! this game is tons and tons better than celestia! make all mac users happy and PLEASE make a mac version!

Err.... No. Please, get a PC and buy NVIDIA GeForce GT 440. dry





MS Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit SP1
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.20GHz, 2,0GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 28.06.2012, 17:46 | Message # 94
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (miros_0571)
GT 440

Or a GTX 690 biggrin

And miros, since we're now telling people what to put in their computers I would like to point out that it might not hurt you to get a 64-bit version of Windows and at least 4GB of ram...





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 29.06.2012, 01:00 | Message # 95
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Today update:

  • Automatic procedural generation of atmosphere, clouds, water and rings for catalog planets, if these paremeters are missing in the catalog
  • Dynamic star coronas
  • Probabilities of double and multiple stars, stellar remnants, brown dwarfs, gas giants, etc. in the config




  •  
    werdnaforeverDate: Friday, 29.06.2012, 01:57 | Message # 96
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Pirate
    Messages: 897
    Status: Offline
    Dynamic coronas sounds wonderful... any screenshots?

    As for those asking for a mac version... as someone who was a really, really big Apple enthusiast before switching back to the PC- let me say a couple things. I don't want to get too off topic here, but...

    1: Windows really isn't that bad, and Windows 7 is really nice (my favorite OS ever). Too many Mac users suffer from a prejudice against Microsoft rather than viewing them objectively. Trust me, I've been there. What brought me back to the PC was the fact that it is more open and has much more software available.

    2: You don't need to buy or install a program like parallel desktops. You are probably better off using Boot Camp (run Windows directly on another partition)- it's cheaper and faster since you're running one OS and not two- you need all the power you can get for Space Engine.

    3: The most important point is that developing and maintaining a program for two separate platforms isn't always easy. I don't know how SpaceEngineer develops S.E. (what software he uses), so I can't say how difficult it would be. Also, he's not going to port it to the Mac platform unless he has a Mac. (Do you have one, SpaceEngineer?) Celestia is open source- it was developed by lots of people at once- people using Windows, OS X, and Linux. Space Engine is not, so it's up to the developer. I think the general consensus is that we would rather see a well developed program than a multi-platform one, which takes longer to develop.
     
    SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 29.06.2012, 03:23 | Message # 97
    Author of Space Engine
    Group: Administrators
    Russian Federation
    Messages: 4799
    Status: Offline
    Quote (werdnaforever)
    Dynamic coronas sounds wonderful... any screenshots?

    It can be seen only on a timelapse video, or just in game.

    Quote (werdnaforever)
    Do you have one, SpaceEngineer?

    No. So I obviously can't make a Mac version (unless installing hacked Mac OS on PC?).





     
    miros_0571Date: Friday, 29.06.2012, 08:30 | Message # 98
    Astronaut
    Group: Banned
    Ukraine
    Messages: 54
    Status: Offline
    werdnaforever SpaceEngine does not support for OS X and Linux.
    SpaceEngine supports only for Windows. mad





    MS Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit SP1
    Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.20GHz, 2,0GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260


    Edited by miros_0571 - Friday, 29.06.2012, 08:44
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 29.06.2012, 09:41 | Message # 99
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    Quote (miros_0571)
    werdnaforever SpaceEngine does not support for OS X and Linux.
    SpaceEngine supports only for Windows.

    He knows that. If you read closely he talks about why it does not exist for Mac OS and Linux, and what the best possible way would be for someone who owns a Mac-based computer to play SpaceEngine. He also talks about his own personal story concerning different operating systems. Nowhere in there does he say that SE runs on anything other than Windows.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    PhysXDate: Friday, 29.06.2012, 13:39 | Message # 100
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Netherlands
    Messages: 7
    Status: Offline
    I'm sad now sad Spaceengineer makes mac users really sad....
    now I can forget this awesome game!!!
    I think I need to say this about spaceengineer: HATERS GONNA HATE
     
    Elbarto84Date: Friday, 29.06.2012, 14:36 | Message # 101
    Space Tourist
    Group: Users
    Brazil
    Messages: 37
    Status: Offline
    lol PhysX. I have an Imac and installed Bootcamp with Windows 7 and run Space Engine there. It was essential for me since i play a lot of games. If you have enough hard disk space it shouldn't be a problem.
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 29.06.2012, 15:06 | Message # 102
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    Quote (PhysX)
    I think I need to say this about spaceengineer: HATERS GONNA HATE

    SpaceEngineer isn't hating anything. SpaceEngineer simply stated that he cannot make a Mac version since he doesn't have a Mac. As other members of the community have pointed out, there are ways around your problem. You can certainly play SpaceEngine. It will just require a bit of work since you don't have a compatible OS. Don't give up!





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    TalismanDate: Friday, 29.06.2012, 16:40 | Message # 103
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 409
    Status: Offline
    Quote (PhysX)
    HATERS GONNA HATE


    Just get a PC like everyone else. There's really no point in having a mac and not a PC. cool

    On another unrelated note, I like your Carl Sagan avatar Harb. cool







    Edited by Talisman - Friday, 29.06.2012, 16:41
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 29.06.2012, 16:49 | Message # 104
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8714
    Status: Offline
    Quote (Talisman)
    There's really no point in having a mac and not a PC.

    I agree with this. I just don't like pushing my opinions on fellow forumgoers. wink

    And thanks Talisman, I love it too happy



    Okay guys, any more posts about Macintosh and I'm moving this to a new thread.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
     
    werdnaforeverDate: Friday, 29.06.2012, 23:01 | Message # 105
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Pirate
    Messages: 897
    Status: Offline
    Quote (SpaceEngineer)
    It can be seen only on a timelapse video, or just in game.


    Okay... I guess it makes sense.

    Are we talking about animated textures or something? If so, are the animated textures consistent or slightly different for each star? Either way it sounds really cool. Can't wait.
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress 0.96
    Page 7 of 10«125678910»
    Search: