Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 79 of 221«127778798081220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Lynk101Date: Thursday, 07.01.2016, 23:28 | Message # 1171
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
well i got patch 08 to work, sorry for pestering you guys about it.
 
parameciumkidDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 00:21 | Message # 1172
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
Quote Destructor1701 ()
You're lucky patch 8 works at all on Intel HD, Major Tom!

I have an Intel I3 laptop with an Intel HD 4000 card that generally gives my aging desktop a run for its money, but it won't run patch 7 or 8 at all. From my discussions with the good Doctor and Harbinger, I think it's the new depth buffer.


If by "lucky" you mean SpaceEngineer is one of the few developers that bothers to make his game compatible with Intel graphics hardware, then yes, we are lucky and grateful for it. For you I have two tips:
- The Core i3 is probably giving you more grief than the HD Graphics 4000. I have HD Graphics 4000, but with a Core i7, and aside from laggy terrain loading and auroras (which it seems everyone has), SE runs great.
- Intel HD Graphics is indeed incompatible with the new depth buffer, but you can switch it back to a standard depth buffer using DepthBufferMode 0 in main.cfg.





Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
Destructor1701Date: Friday, 08.01.2016, 02:43 | Message # 1173
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Thanks - I knew about the main.cfg trick, but I hadn't bothered, since patch 7 auto-overrides any such change, and patch 8, well, I figured that would break the new accretion disks - though it might be interesting to see how they break!

As for the I3, it's performed admirably on every iteration up to patch 7 - and quite smoothly, too, once I applied a few tweaks from the troubleshooting threads.







Edited by Destructor1701 - Friday, 08.01.2016, 02:44
 
Alpha_LyraeDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 04:31 | Message # 1174
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
Hello,

I seem to be having trouble with the latest patch. It crashes immediately upon attempting to exit the menu (clicking Planetarium) and simply displays "A problem has caused SpaceEngine to stop working. Please close the program." Notably, the surface of whatever planet the default starting place disappears after around two or three seconds, before the program fails. I can run 9.7.2 without issue (apart from the occasional graphical bug here and there).

Attached is the log; skimming it I saw no major errors, but maybe there's something there I'm not seeing. I thought it was perhaps a problem with the processor not being able to handle the graphics, but even after lowering several of the planet detail graphics, the problem persists.

I attached the config file so that perhaps you can see what I've attempted to do.

And yes, I have cleared the cache.

Attachments: 1443064.log(117Kb) · main.cfg(10Kb)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 11:24 | Message # 1175
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Sorry for delay with answers, I was very busy this week. I will answer each important questions in order, so may repeat someone's other answer. Let's go:

Quote isdebesl ()
For some reason there is no texture on Pluto and Charon, how do i fix it?

I simply forgot to include them (as well as Ceres). More precisely, I didn't work on new Pluto, Charon and Ceres textures for SE yet. I just tested few mods made by someone many months ago, and occasionally include Solar system catalog with modded Pluto and Charon in this patch. Just look for mods on this and Russian forum and install them.

Quote ZatSolo ()
First, thank you so much. ^_^
Just tested on my 2 PC (Seven, XP). It runs perfect on "Seven Pro 64" but trying with XP I get this message everytime I try to start the .EXE
Hope this may help you to find a solution for the XP users (China ? )

This looks like broken installation. SE even didn't find texture for that loading window. Check your installation.





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 11:41 | Message # 1176
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote huishb ()
Spaceengineer, I have a question regarding the accretion disks. I've noticed that the accretion disks look different in the development pictures. The ones in the pictures look more cloudy and get more wispy at the center...but in the patch release they look stretched like rings around a planet. Why is this? Or maybe it's just the ones I saw, maybe there are different textures? Also, are they animated? When I was studying Sagittarius *A, I think I saw the accretion disk change. Am I wrong? Or are they animated?

They are very different at different black holes. For screenshots in this thread, I used custom made one (Sgr A*), and tweak it's parameters to make them "Interstellar-style". But disk shown in Interstallar movie is actually extremely weak, normal black holes have much, much more big, dense and hot disks. So extremely hot, so it would blind you at any exposure setting in SE (can you even imagine temperature or 100 million degrees?)
Regarding rotation speed, it has been explained here many times. Look at the black hole radius and keep in mind what matter in the inner parts of the disk moves at ~0.6c speed. Now you must be able to estimate rotation period and so pattern change speed. In short: use SE time flow controls.

Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Is it possible to disable/enable the shipwarp effect with a console command?

No.

Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Earlier in this thread, I posted about a long-standing "jump" bug. I mention it because during my travels, I decided to investigate one of them, and I noticed it seems to be due to extremely thin, invisible wals, of varying heights it seems, at the edges of some procedural tiles. Does anyone know what causes these "invisible walls"?

I know. Bug in collision detection algorithm. You can't fix it.

Quote hyp_cos ()
The new gravitational lensing in 0.9.7.4 patch-08 disappointing. When I go close to a black hole, I see a very large area of "black". As I get closer, the black area get larger. Finally at the horizon the scene is full of black.

However, the scene is not true.

In fact, when you fall into a Schwarzschild black hole or a Reissner-Nordström black hole, you never meet the scene full of black - what's more, you never meet the scene with more than a half of black!

This one shows a more realistic scene when you fall into a R-N black hole - you'll be vaporized at the inner horizon, but you feel nothing special at the outer horizon.

Most real black holes are Kerr black hole, and they also have outer horizon and inner horizon. So the scene when you fall into them is similar to the R-N one - you feel nothing special at the outer horizon but be vaporized at the inner horizon.

I noticed earlier what SE now models only a Schwarzschild black hole and only for a stationary observer. If I were to implement moving observer, the effects shown on that videos will be visible, but I also must limit camera speed to speed of light. This simply have no sense in planetarium, because camera is free and can be moved at any speed. The issue probably can be solved by consider camera movement by user as instant teleportation, instead of physical movement.

Quote Canleskis ()
I guess that's a but so I will put it here...
What's this weird green thing?

Lol it looked like a tiny planetary nebula around giant black hole. Can you share a location of that place?





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 11:51 | Message # 1177
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
Some of my Black holes look weird when I approach them. This one does not have accretion disks, so that's not the issue:
Not all BH's have this issue. I can approach others and they look normal. The issue persists with Hi-quality black holes turned on AND off.

What is your computer specs? I saw this issue on Intel graphics card, and fixed it. Probably not completely.





 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 12:25 | Message # 1178
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
That belongs maybe not here, but I found out in connection with this discovery of Donatelo200.
Quote Donatelo200 ()
Some moons will generate in hyperbolic orbits

What does the parameter 'GravParam' and what is its range of values?





Don't forget to look here.

 
second-ichDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 13:36 | Message # 1179
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 87
Status: Offline
Little bug report. I found this crazy star, it's more like a disk.



Place "Star DA0.3"
{
Ver 974
Body "RS 0-7-1610652-901-63-8-12032949-783 AA"
Parent "RS 0-7-1610652-901-63-8-12032949-783 A"
Date "2016.04.26 10:15:51.58"
Pos (-0000000017FF94B91722028BB57AB13B -000000001FAF6FC5275CA228D010F68F +00000000180E66763007D4391C8FE72D)
Rot (-0.6170306788000876 -0.3639631530414942 0.6007763929858122 0.3547840051052952)
Vel 1.8013374e-08
Mode 1
}

Attachments: 4963928.jpg(88Kb)


Edited by second-ich - Friday, 08.01.2016, 13:38
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 13:52 | Message # 1180
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote second-ich ()
I found this crazy star, it's more like a disk.

This is not a bug but a white dwarf with a 2,163 million Kelvin hot accretion disk.

If you go up close, you can see a gap between the disc and star.





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Friday, 08.01.2016, 13:54
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 14:33 | Message # 1181
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Something is wrong with the orbit of Neptune.
This picture is made with SE 0.974.7:



and this with SE 0.974.8 without addons:



There are no differences in the SolarSys.sc files in the Neptune section.



Added

I solved the problem. In Neptune Orbit section was missing the term RefPlane "Ecliptic". That was probably so far no problem, but now with the new parameters for RefPlane, SE has the parameter set to Extrasolar.

Attachments: 6789836.jpg(107Kb) · 9799130.jpg(110Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Friday, 08.01.2016, 15:30
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Friday, 08.01.2016, 20:48 | Message # 1182
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 474
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
What is your computer specs? I saw this issue on Intel graphics card, and fixed it. Probably not completely.


My specs are as follows: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP 1; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400

Quote SpaceEngineer ()
I know. Bug in collision detection algorithm. You can't fix it.

Understandable. Thank you for the heads up. smile





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Friday, 08.01.2016, 20:50
 
Lynk101Date: Friday, 08.01.2016, 21:30 | Message # 1183
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 26
Status: Offline
so i noticed a bug with patch 8, all brown dwarves dissapaered!
Attachments: 3244285.log(74Kb)
 
quarior14Date: Friday, 08.01.2016, 21:30 | Message # 1184
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 643
Status: Offline
@JackDole
Ah yes, I had no notes, I just correct in my SolarSys.sc (a copy), speaking of which, I saw a mod for Neptune, it would be nice to put default to the next patch as well as other mod cloud of the gas giants, if I remember well, it is Voekoevaka who made it.

Attachments: 7276649.jpg(65Kb)





Quarior
 
VilfateDate: Saturday, 09.01.2016, 01:32 | Message # 1185
Astronaut
Group: Users
China
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
Quote Donatelo200 ()
hyperbolic orbits

to infinity and beyond biggrin





 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 79 of 221«127778798081220221»
Search: