Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 54 of 221«125253545556220221»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 14.11.2015, 19:05 | Message # 796
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote bzzommbo ()
And when it will be ready for Windows XP? It still doesn't work, mate!

It's supposed to work on XP. Anyway, XP is not supported by Microsoft anymore, this makes it an undesirable operating system since security flaws won't be patched anymore, so your system is very vulnerable. You really should switch to a newer OS.

Quote FaceDeer ()
I have a hard time grasping the notion of a computer that's both old enough to have windows XP and new enough to have the hardware capable of running Space Engine.

They exist, I've used one. It's not about old, it's about RAM in many cases. There are many people who have computers that are newer than Vista and 7 yet run XP because they only have 1 GB or memory or something. I've actually used SE on a computer like this, as long as it has a decent CPU and GPU it will work. Not very well, but it will work.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 14.11.2015, 19:43 | Message # 797
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote bzzommbo ()
And when it will be ready for Windows XP? It still doesn't work, mate!

It works fine for me on XP machine. It's something on your side. Which version do you use?

Quote HarbingerDawn ()
It's supposed to work on XP. Anyway, XP is not supported by Microsoft anymore, this makes it an undesirable operating system since security flaws won't be patched anymore, so your system is very vulnerable. You really should switch to a newer OS.

This is not about me, because I must keep in mind what 90% computers in China still running XP smile





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 14.11.2015, 20:32 | Message # 798
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
This is not about me, because I must keep in mind what 90% computers in China still running XP

I was talking to people still using XP, not you smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 14.11.2015, 22:47 | Message # 799
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
I was talking to people still using XP, not you

I know smile I just mention what I must support SE on XP.





 
RagnarokDate: Sunday, 15.11.2015, 01:32 | Message # 800
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Hello All,

I've noticed that in 0.9.7.4 patch 7, I cannot get my ships to go faster than light. I even tried the "cheat code" UFO, and while that allows me to Accelerate like crazy, I still hit the c speed limit. How do I pass this, so my ship can fly as fast as I choose?

Al


Edited by Ragnarok - Sunday, 15.11.2015, 01:33
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 15.11.2015, 03:22 | Message # 801
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Quote Ragnarok ()
I even tried the "cheat code" UFO


UFO just enables unlimited thruster acceleration. Ships are limited to a max of 1c to be more realistic. You can still go faster than light you just need to use the hyperdrive.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
parameciumkidDate: Sunday, 15.11.2015, 14:47 | Message # 802
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
Huh. Neat. I didn't even know that the universal speed limit was a feature xD




Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
Tac1017Date: Sunday, 15.11.2015, 17:02 | Message # 803
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 167
Status: Offline
I tried to open it again today, and it crashed before even opening up to the starting page, which kind-of is bad, since I'm using it as reference for a project I'm doing.

Edit I just re-downloaded the patch and it's fixed.





The Terra Hunter of the Milky Way!

(By the way, I was born in 2001, NOT 1972 XD)


Edited by Tac1017 - Sunday, 15.11.2015, 17:05
 
RagnarokDate: Sunday, 15.11.2015, 17:24 | Message # 804
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Doc,

Thanks for the heads up. Older versions allowed me to pilot ships at FTL speeds, so stars would drift past (like in Camera mode). I took some great screenshots/videos of this, and I'm a bit disappointed that this is no longer possible. The hyperdrive, while moving me great distances in short periods of time, cannot be "controlled." There is no max speed setting, there is no setting for hyperdrive distortion effect anymore (0.9.7.2 had this), etc. Is there some setting in main.cfg or equivalent that we can use to bypass this limit?

Thanks.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 16.11.2015, 17:31 | Message # 805
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote Ragnarok ()
there is no setting for hyperdrive distortion effect anymore (0.9.7.2 had this)

SE don't have settings to control distortion shader, unless you are using mods.

Quote Ragnarok ()
or equivalent that we can use to bypass this limit?

Increase time speed smile





 
ZatSoloDate: Monday, 16.11.2015, 20:19 | Message # 806
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 111
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
... XP is not supported by Microsoft anymore, this makes it an undesirable operating system since security flaws won't be patched anymore, so your system is very vulnerable ...

Yes, this is true, anyway there is an XP version called "Windows Embedded POSReady 2009" currently supported by Microsoft until spring 2019 ( https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/lifecycle?p1=14086 ).

And ... there is a trick for XP reported in May 2014 by ZDNet: http://www.zdnet.com/article....dows-xp ;)

Quote HarbingerDawn ()
XP ... system is very vulnerable. You really should switch to a newer OS..

Anyway, where possible, it's best to switch to a more modern and secure OS like Win 7/8.x/10, as suggested by HarbingerDawn.


Edited by ZatSolo - Monday, 16.11.2015, 21:00
 
Donatelo200Date: Tuesday, 17.11.2015, 02:52 | Message # 807
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
White dwarfs in 0.974 seem to be bugged. Their temperatures seem to repeat in each class. with 0 white dwarfs always at 100,000k and 9 at 5600k. In previous versions DZ9's were around 3000k with DA0's at 50,000k. Now DA0's are at 100,000k which is probably correct but DZ0's are also 100,000k which is not since they are larger in radius and are dimmer. DZ0's if i remember correctly were around 5,600k in previous versions.


Attachments: 1693326.jpg(146Kb) · 2136711.jpg(151Kb)





CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)


Edited by Donatelo200 - Tuesday, 17.11.2015, 02:55
 
parameciumkidDate: Tuesday, 17.11.2015, 05:44 | Message # 808
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 277
Status: Offline
That actually seems accurate to me. My understanding is that dwarf stars are classified differently than main sequence:
D: for "dwarf"
Z/A/O/ etc.: denotes chemical makeup; little to do with temperature
1-9: temperature/color.
Where main sequence stars have the letter denoting the color and temperature category, and then the number, for white dwarfs it's just the number.





Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 18.11.2015, 21:50 | Message # 809
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
OMG view from the Miller's planet (movie version, in "realistic" Kip Thorne's version it must be almost on Gargantua's event horizon, deep inside its accretion disk).


Attachments: 4578773.jpg(332Kb)





 
Kamil_CaderDate: Wednesday, 18.11.2015, 22:02 | Message # 810
Observer
Group: Users
Poland
Messages: 12
Status: Offline
I understand its another milestone achieved; Accretion discs are sources of light now. Well done, Sir...
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Archive » Work progress and public beta test - 0.9.7.4
Page 54 of 221«125253545556220221»
Search: